We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There would be many better choices over this one”
Review of Mewar Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mewar Haveli
Ranked #27 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Durgapur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There would be many better choices over this one”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Travelers with car - this should not be your pick. The approaching lanes are quite difficult for an SUV. Even if you make it, the hotel welcomes you in a world of negativities. Fight for parking space, room space, or room services, all your calls would be answered sternly with a no. They offer only a mattress in lieu of extra person charges, which means one person of a family has to sleep almost on bare grounds(which is so little space left after placing the bed). Even though we refused to accept that extra mattress, we were charged. Surely you can stare on the lake view available from certain rooms, but that doesn't put you in a comfort zone. On top of that, watch out for the roof top restaurant, it again offers a nice view, but stinks at the same time. Do not order chinese cuisine here as they simply spoil it. Similar budget hotels are available nearby that offer lot more - go for Anjani Hotel/Poonam Haveli etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manjira_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    325
    82
    34
    13
See reviews for
205
335
52
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Located in a very crowded bylane off the City Palace and Jagadish Temple. The Hotel is small,Has a lift. The rooms are clean and small. The linen is fairly clean. The food is average and very highly priced. The proprietors are very helpful and had helped us all through our stay including arranging transport to Jaipur.Real Rajasthani hospitality .Will recommed to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing lake Pichola are at a Premium we were told.The hotel does not have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Mewar Haveli for 6 nights in Oct 2012. We found the stay extremely comfortable because of the efficiency with which the Hotel is run by Mr Kamal /Harish Jain. The room and bathroom are kept spotlessly clean and bed linen changed everyday. I have read comments from many about the small size of the rooms but the cleanliness and comfortable air-conditioning more than makes up for the small size of rooms. The restaurant also serves a variety of good food for Indian and foreign visitors and the price for food is reasonable considering the quality and the ambience provided. I would give it an “Excellent” rating in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank N C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I selected this hotel over Internet seeing some good reviews posted here. Now I doubt those people and their choice who gave a good review about this hotel. How can they give it? They have never stayed in a good hotel. Sorry for being so harsh but such a poor stay has really made me write this review to save other tourists from this pathetic stay. Location worst, narrow alleys, no space for car parking and drivers, no room service, their best rooms (deluxe superior lake facing) are smaller then a bathroom and toilets are pathetic (toiletries include only 2 rs. local made soap) and size smaller even then a dog house, best room devoid of any ward robe or almirah (refrigerator or digital safe a distant dream). Staffs have no dress, no etiquette, restaurant have no no-smoking zone. Horrible stay.Never select it or your stay at Udaipur is spoiled. I again re-iterate I have never seen a hotel with no room service (I ordered some food and they deliberately advised me to go to upstairs to restaurant as food is not served in the room). Have anyone heard of such a stuff ever?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saikatmanjira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssheikh90, Social Media Manager at Mewar Haveli, responded to this review, May 30, 2016
Dear Guest,

I thank you for sparing your valuable time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.
we have taken up with the concerned departments and corrective action have been taken.My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Stratford
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great rooms, very bright and clean. I stayed here in 2006 and again in 2012 and there has been no deterioration at all. The rooftop restaurant is a wonderful place to relax. The location of the hotel on Lal Ghat Road cannot be beaten as you can walk everywhere. Would not hesitate to recomment this hotel. It's amazing value compared to many other places in Udaipur.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStonyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros: Nice Location, walking distance to City Palace, market
Cons: Very small rooms, Towels were very old and not fresh, Bad room service (the mini TV in the room didn't work during our stay, Expensive food.
The hotel was in a very nice location - I guess this was the only best thing with Mewar that we found during our stay. We had to wait for almost 4 hrs before we could check-in (the earliest you could checkin in only after 10 am and no train reaches Udaipur that late). There are other hotels near by which had 24 hrs check-in facility. The roof top restaurant which was to be the best attraction of the hotel was smelling and was not well maintained and the food was very expensive too. There were no wardrobes in the room and hardly any place to walk around the bed (rooms were too small). However, the room looked good and recently painted. Expensive Taxi service. Go for it if you are looking for a budget hotel and are okay with above cons..

Room Tip: Travel and transfers are provided only upon request and it is very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatyaAkkinapragada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel has possibly the best views across the lake in Udaipur from it's rooftop bar/restaurant.
Everything about the hotel is positive. The rooms are clean are very well equipped and decorated, the resaturant is excellent, the staff are very friendly and the location is ideal (just a couple of minutes walk to where most of the action is).
No need to look anywhere else for a hotel in this price range in Udaipur!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#40 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#102 of 156 in Udaipur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mewar Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mewar Haveli

Property: Mewar Haveli
Address: 34-35 Lal Ghat | Behind Jagdish Temple, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mewar Haveli 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Mewar haveli "A Traditional Hotel" welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Mewar Haveli is a 12 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by Elivator (lift) and by stair.All rooms in the hotel are aircondition rooms and offer basic amenities.The hotel is not selling the rooms as a lake view or lake faceing.The hotel have more less all rooms have a standerd size (110 sq.Ft).Our suggestion higher floor rooms need to reserve 2 to 3 months in advance Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel near city palace and jagdish temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mewar Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mewar Haveli Udaipur
Mewar Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing