We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B nested in a scenic location”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming B&B nested in a scenic location”
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Devra Udaipur is a charming owner managed B&B run by gracious hosts Jyoti and her husband (Major). The people who work there are relatives of the owners. Jyoti cooks breakfast and dinner herself and the food is both delicious and conscientously prepared. The house is located about a 15 minute drive from the city center. Don't forget to go up to the terrace and take in the magical sunsets and the wonderful view of the entire valley.

If you are expecting a TV in your room and other trappings of a "chain hotel" this place isn't for you. Instead, what you will find at Devra are large spacious rooms with attendant clean comfortable bathrooms with hot water, large common rooms and charming porches. If you are looking for a safe, spacious, extremely clean, well managed B&B style lodging that is very tastefully furnished, I wouldn't look further.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_Wanderer_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

MIND BLOWING ! AWESOME ! Excellent Romantic Gateway !
You have to be there to believe it !!!
I have been to many places around the world but experience at Devra stands apart.
I can't remember where I got such an excellent host (Jyoti and Major), such a good attendant (Virender) and our guide cum driver Kallu and their dog Oscar.
All the these people made our Honeymoon so special.
And the food. You must have food here to taste the authentic Rajasthani flavor. All foods are cooked under strict supervision of Jyoti. And it is far better than any 5-Star joint.
I am going back there as soon as possible just to rejuvenate. What a place to be in !
Oh, you must ride with Kallu once. Such a lovely and enjoyable fellow.

  • Liked — Security, Serenity and Friendliness
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SinmoyByCosmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2009

A beautiful quiet home tucked away amidst the Aravalli Hills - away from the hustle and bustle of the city of Udaipur. It was surrounded by green fields and wonderful views all around - especially from the terrace. The owners, Mr. and Mrs. Jasol were helpful and hospitable. Friendly staff was always available to help. The food was delicious - we tasted many new Indian dishes.

We travelled with 2 kids, ages 10 and 7, who were completely delighted by their dog, Oscar and their brood of roosters, geese, cattle et al. Mr. Jasol took the time to show us a colony of beautiful weaver birds and several other birds in the area. The Jasol family was busy planting a field of marigolds and other plants throughout their property - it will be in bloom by October. We spent our last evening enjoying the sunset and the lovely terrace views. We would definitely visit Devra again and recommend it to all those who are looking for a quiet place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunita_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We booked this hotel from Europe and the owner charged me the two nights without even telling me, that was a bit of a surprise ! Then we found the hotel average and dirty, we had to put our own blankets for the first time in India ! And on top of that we had to move the next day to another room ( a twin room ) .
Then something horrible happened we couldn t find some money in our wallet and we went to the ATM right before before arriving at the hotel, and the worst is taht we even checked we had all the money in the car we rented ! So we did not have any doubt, but let me tell you you donnot really feel confortable saying it ! So after the first night, we talked to the owners about it and they freaked at, yelling at us, saying it was not possible taht it was the house of god and bla bla bla, so we were totally amazed as we didn t ask the money back or anything but we did the right thing telling them . ( another great detail : you can t lock your room ! And we happened to be the only costumers in the hotel !) So we just decided to go away they charged us the two nights plus we had money stolen , we even felt unsafe when they started yelling at us like crazy ! We never found the money after !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fabmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, August 6, 2009
"It is truly disheartening for me to see this review given that Devra is a place where all our guests truly feel at home. We take great pride in what we have built and I'm sure that our #2 rank on Tripadvisor is not misplaced but a testament to the quality of experience that we provide. Since we are in the service industry, it is our lot to take the good with the bad but I would like to assure all past and future guests that our quality is that of a 5-star home-stay and we do not compromise on anything either in terms of cleanliness, security or integrity.



This review does however omit certain facts (which I would not like to reiterate here) that would only prove that this incident is not what it seems in this review. I would like to encourage all past and future guests to please contact me personally should you be considering or re-considering Devra for any reason and I will gladly connect you to guests who have had a pleasant experience with us and will vouch for all that I have said here. I would also exhort you, to view past reviews on Devra to truly understand why we are among the top places to stay on a visit to Udaipur."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The Devra is actuallly a farmhouse about 5min drive from Udaipur city centre, but we felt that being away from the hustle and bustle was a good thing, as it allowed us to truly unwind after a hectic trip.

Our hosts, Jyothi and the Major, were extremely friendly. They are nature-lovers and have 2 friendly dogs. Rooms were very pleasant but you have to climb up quite a few steps to get there. Many scenic lounges for you to unwind in. Air-con and internet were a bit difficult to get working, but the staff were always on hand to help. Staff's English is not very good, but our hosts spoke excellent English.

Construction is under way for 6 more rooms with different nature themes and we look forward to seeing them! They should be ready for guests by the end of the year. Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Jyothi @ Durga epitomise the spirit any guest could expect from the hosts of a boutique hotel. What's more, they aim at excellence and lapses are expected to be overcome. The whole concept blends delightfully in a city reminiscent of Kashmir/Fez/Venice. We can only hope that the residents strive to preserve the city's uniqueness and fight against the invasion of too many hotels. Udaipur has the potential to turn itself into a Slow City and Devra a key driver. It is little wonder extension works are under way with an infinity pool...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globocitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Devra Udaipure is really a homestay in the home of a very nice couple, with two very nice bedrooms and a large patio with a connecting sitting room area. The breakfast and dinner we had were very good. It is a little bit out of the way and if I was going to do it again and only stay 1 night, I would probably choose to stay in the City. For a relaxing 2-3 day visit it would be perfect. We hired a car and driver for the day who were very good. There are plans to expand to add more rooms (and a polo field!).

Helpful?
Thank VaryaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,053 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 161 in Udaipur
214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing