We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devra Udaipur: A charming and unique experience.”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Devra Udaipur: A charming and unique experience.”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The excellent service is only surpassed by the generosity and warmth of its hosts. Devra offers a calm, quiet and relaxed stay, contrasting the narrow, bustling palace and lake areas just a few kilometers away. In addition, 'Devra Haveli' is painstakingly built, integrating local shrines, vegetation and even ancient rock-strata carefully into its layout. Try sitting at the lawn for breakfast, overlooking the beautiful rural-landscape, breathing cool valley-air into your lungs, in the company your loved-ones, squirrels and birds. Put simply, when in Udaipur, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishik64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Though responding very late with due apologies, please accept our heart felt gratitude for giving us an excellent review.
We warmly reciprocate your kindness and look forward to your visit again.
Devra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Devra is a fantastic place to stay in. We has a great time at Devra in Feb 2014. Place is located at 15 mins drive from city and offers a great view of sunrise and sun set. It is surrounded by hills. Rooms are very comfortable. Awesome food...great hospitality. Host, servers and everyone made every effort to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We the staff at Devra Udaipur are grateful to the guests to decide to stay with us and be so happy and satisfied. Such reviews are warm and encouraging for all of us. It gives us a sense of fulfillment. Once again thank you for visiting Devra Udaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent location on hilltop in the midst of lush green fields far away from the air and noise pollution in the city. The Hotel (rather a "Homestay" with just 8 rooms) is situated on the outskirts of Udaipur but not too far from the city center. From the breakfast terrace there is a clear view of the Mahrana´s Palace which is in the heart of the city. The host Family ( Mrs.Jyoti Jasol and Maj. Durga Das) is extremely friendly,very hospitable and in every way helpful in organizing the visits to the places of interest in and out of Udaipur.The pleasantly decorated rooms are extremely large, with big windows allowing passage for lots of daylight. The attached bathrooms are absolutely clean and the guest are daily provided with fresh crisp white towels. Access is provided to personal sitting rooms and terraces of the host family, with many books and magazines to read.

The team of seven staff members is very attentive and friendly - always there to make ones stay as comfortable as possible. Food is prepared to the individual taste of the guests. We stayed for a fortnight in Devra and there was not a minute where we felt it was too long. We wish to visit Devra again and stay there for even a longer period - literally it was a home far away from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located but we preferred the room in the Annex behind the fire place for baking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutuBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dr Raman & Lady Revrei were wonderful guests Devra had in the near past. More than us these guests took our care and with meaningful conversations. As it is we believe in continuous evolving and such guests contribute a lot with grace when they share their knowledge.
We all at Devra Udaipur are very grateful to them for staying with us.
Warm regards from all of us at Devra Udaipur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was an uncluttered place. Our 2 year old loved it. The service excellent. Assistance and guidance for the tours personalised. Rooms were clean and cosy. The food hygienic and healthy. The toilets were clean. It was away from the city in the farms away from the bustle. Great for both short and long stays. The hosts were courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuganis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and encouraging with your review.
Our staff is grateful and will always look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My family and I visited Devra from January 18-20th and were pleasantly surprised by the serene setting of this homestay/hotel. The rooms are large and clean with modern furniture. The staff is top-notch in their service and taking care of any and every special request. My daughter loved the two Indian Star Tortoises that lazily sit around the lawn during breakfast. From this property you have great views and can clearly see the monsoon palace and the sunset over the Rajasthani hills and the stars at night. The one thing you won't hear at this property are the honking horns of the city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr Grant,
Thank you for your kind words and appreciating Devra Udaipur. You too had been very graceful in tolerating our movement in and out of the house due to our involvement in the Royal wedding at Udaipur.
We look forward to your visit again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here in last week of December 2013, beautifully made and managed. Food is excellent. Staff is courteous. Having breakfast in bright winter sun in the lawns was an experience to cherish. I recommend this place for Birders too as you get to see good number and variety of birds here. Owners are humble and warm. Also a great place to stay for readers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malayanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It was a great interaction and a very helpful tips we got from you about the travel industry.
Your stay and expertise added a value to our place.
Thank you for the kind words.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We had been looking forward to staying here as had read good reviews in a few places particularly remarking on the friendly welcome.

How wrong we were! We arrived and had to wait which eventually someone arrived to check us in. We were shown to our room which was great and had a fabulous view across fields into the hills. We asked for some coffee sachets and a hairdryer for the room neither of which appeared during our 2 day stay. We were asked if we would like to dine with them and asked a time. As one of us was feeling unwell we were 10 mins later than we said and we got a phone call hassling us to come up for dinner. We thought they must be really busy but in fact there was only one other couple there.
Another issue was that it was advertised as WiFi in communal area but this seemed to be turned off unless asked for meaning more hassle. In fact if the welcome had been better it wouldn't have felt like hassle but we seemed as if we were a great inconvenience to them not paying guests!

So overall I would say avoid. Its got great views at the back but just ordinary suburbia at the front. Its miles out of town meaning you are obliged to eat there but heaven forbid you're late!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christinedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevraUdaipur, Owner at Devra Udaipur, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest, we were sorry to read your review and inconvenience you had at Devra. Just a humble request to our future guests PLEASE do give a polite reminder to our staff if they forget to deliver what you asked for rather than waiting for your entire stay and going unhappy. It does happen that some boy may have forgotten and got involved in some work. Please do have this much of tolerance. Regarding request to come in time for dinner is also a courtesy expected from the guests to join the owners for a meal and have informal talks which is most relaxing,educative and a learning experience for both the guests and the owners. I assure you this experience is what the guests enjoy most and go connected to Devra Udaipur.
Please do give us a chance to be with us again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,054 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#39 of 161 in Udaipur
214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing