We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The emerald jewel of Udaipur”
Review of Devra Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devra Udaipur
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The emerald jewel of Udaipur”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We visited with family for three days in August 2011 and had a wonderful and restful experience. The place is situated in a green valley surrounded by guava orchards. It has spectacular views of the Lake Palace, the Monsoon Palace, and the surrounding Aravalli hills, and is a bird lovers paradise. Major Durga Das and his lovely wife Jyoti are very gracious hosts and made us feel welcome. The staff were polite, helpful and exceedingly attentive and made our stay very comfortable. The interspersed and inviting lounges and the terrace seating makes one feel at home. This experience was the best combination of staying in a good hotel but feeling right at home in beautiful surroundings. The ecologically-minded Major is committed to preserving the natural beauty of the area, and is working to educate the locals and restrict encroaching urban development. Thus, his efforts should be supported in every way. He and his daughter have identified approximately 80 species of birds thus far around their property. The site is also home to an ancient temple,is which is still in use today. We would enthusiastically recommend the place to anybody visiting the lovely city of Udaipur, the natural beauty of the Devra is unparalleled.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs in the main house and had specatcular views from the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanishkaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    61
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
119
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Will be an awesome experience to the comers who are planing to trip in udaipur, This place will define it self and you will experience the excellent hospitality of Mj. Durga dass and his wife Miss Joyti Jasole who cook's awesome, yami, Indian traditional food, plz don't plan more then 7days who want to remain slim or on a diet because you can't stop your eating desire when joyti cook's ha ha ha ! ok! so when you will come this experience will be beyond from the big 5star hotels."If there is a place in the Lap of Nature : This is the place" ..So for what you are waiting for, go on ....

Room Tip: i like the rocky room it is so calm and best with a bottle of wine and your beloved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhi2725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guragon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I had read that rajasthan is known for its hospitality but out of the 8 state cities i visited on my this 3rd trip to india, I only found three cities that really gave me glimpses of that. Devra hotel was one of the place. The hosts are extremely gracious people, and very very kind. They are a like a one stop shop for all your travel needs without expecting anything for their own. They even helped me pick some great souvenirs. the place was not in the best shape but i am told that they are working on it. On hearing that I am a writer, the hosts shared some amazing stories of their childhood with me. Some good enough to make the book - lol. anyways, i won't spoil the surprise, visit the place and have a good evening with the hosts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked here for our two night stay in Udaipur. We were initially disappointed as our rooms were a bit run down and not quite what we expected. However, the hospitality of the hosts, and the kind and helpful staff (Rupu was really great!) more than made up for the rooms. We were also given a tour of the local school and village (which was great). On our last morning we were shown the newer (and nicer) rooms that had recently been added, along with the cooking school. The property is some distance from Udaipur, but the rural setting is really lovely with lots of bird life. Overall we enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ_Family721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

A delightful homestay set in the countryside close to Udaipur. Very nice rooms, 6 rooms have been recently built with high quality interiors and beautifully landscaped into the grounds. Worth staying here for very peaceful surroundings only let down by rather unimaginitive food. A pool is being installed in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly built rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife and I first came to Udaipur by road from Delhi when we were dating, back in August 2008 and then stopped a night in December 2009 on a road-trip from Delhi to Goa. The hosts have always been very accomodating of any requests, the staff is the best and the food... awesome! We have seen the place mature from a 3-room home stay to the artistic "boutique" hotel it is today but the best thing is the charm isn't lost...

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth experiencing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

They advertise themselves as a hotel on their website but they really are a true homestay. Where your hosts, erstwhile royalty Major Durga Das and Jyoti Jasol, treat you royally. And for once, you can take what they say on their website to be true.

If you are in the romantic city of Udaipur, this is the place to stay. Far from the crowds, located atop a hill, you get a panoramic view of the city below. Mornings and evenings here are to be cherished - go to the highest of the multiple terraced building and enjoy the changing colours and moods with the rising and setting sun.

Devra is named after a 800 year old temple dedicated to the snake God located on this site; Devra literally means ‘where God resides’ or a ‘tribal temple’ by locals. Took years to cut away rocky hill and build the homestay. A visit and a silent homage is recommended - do check out the centuries old statuettes here.

And here is more about the place:

* Service: As mentioned earlier, you feel like royalty. The host family and their staff make that extra effort - from their heart - to make you comfortable and happy.
* Rooms: Very clean and well fitted. Sheets and towels are spotless, and furniture and mattresses designed for comfort. Bathrooms have hot and cold showers, with the usual toiletries.
* Location: On a hill, does not get better. Within the city, yet away from any noise. The air here is clean and fresh at all times, and you are never too far from any place.
* Amenities: You can walk around the place, refer to a library of interesting books, go bird watching (even feed them in the morning in the lawns), go horse riding, book a yoga class or go for a village walk. Or just sit back and enjoy life.
* Food Quality: You must have the meals here. Traditional fare cooked to your taste. Feel free to discuss preferences in the kitchen. Finger licking taste, made with mostly organic ingredients, served formally.
* Extras: Major Das is a keen environmentalist, and knows the estate and surrounding hills and forests very well. He is always ready to play guide and take you around - and regale you with stories of leopards who cross the property sometimes (worry not, they usually consume only poultry - and the Major’s fine Labrador two years back), birds and other flora and fauna. Get your hands dirty in the fields - the owners grow their own wheat, vegetables and lentils and have cows for milk. All organic!
* Liked Best: The location, the interiors, the food and the hospitality.
* Liked Least: Was not there for a longer trip - but will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.3 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,054 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#39 of 161 in Udaipur
214 reviews
2.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devra Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devra Udaipur

Property: Devra Udaipur
Address: Sisarma - Bujra Road | Kalarohi, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devra Udaipur 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Devra Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devra Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Devra Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Devra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing