We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to lake with couple of disadvantages”
Review of Anjani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anjani Hotel
Ranked #65 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to lake with couple of disadvantages”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were here from 15th to 17th Dec. Room is fine, hospitality is good and general a good budget hotel to stay.

Couple of things which one should be aware of - 1) Entrance to the hotel is a verynarrow lane 3-4 feet wide which gives you an impression that you are entering into a dingy place, though once you reach lobby, it's ok 2) it's a complete no for people travelling with own car. Absolutely no scope for parking and very narrow lanes leading you to hotel, virtually impossible to drive. To be fair, hotel guys tried to help me with a public parking place some distance away but fact remains that good intentions cannot make up for simple lack of facilities.

Otherwise, a reasonable hotel for a comfortable stay near lake

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pardha Saradhi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    230
    69
    21
    27
See reviews for
121
175
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel should definitely deserves a better place than tripadvisor rankings suggest. The hotel location is pretty good with city palace, jagadish temple and lake pichhola at walking distances.

The management and the staff at the hotel is just wonderful and try every bit to make your stay pleasant. They assisted us with local sight-seeing and helped arrange a vehicle for that. I also wanted to go to Ranakpur one of the days and they were helpful in getting the cab arranged as well.

I stayed in deluxe room for 2 days and classic room for 1 day. Both the rooms were fantastic and interiors really give you the feel of a palace. Rooms were quite spacious, had good furntiure and nice beds.

The staff at the hotel were always on their toes and ready to help anytime. I regularly had meals at the restaurant and the Indian food was awesome. Did not try the continental/chinese stuff.

Rooftop view of the pichhola lake and lake palace is just brilliant. To have your meals on the rooftop at night is a wonderful experience.

I got a free pickup at the railway station when I arrived. Check-in and check-out was very smooth as well.

All in all, it was superb experience and value for money.

The only setback is that none of rooms give you a view of the lake. They have a small swimming pool but weather was too cold in Udaipur for me to give it a try. Did not find any other recreational activities within the hotel though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sid2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanniassa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We both stayed in this hotel for a couple of days, rooms were decent size, views from top of terrace were excellent, service excellent, food well prepared, people courteous willing to help, provided free transport from train station, walking distance to nearby attractions, Will recommend to anybody without hassle.Since it is heritage listed alterations are not done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gopal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I looked up on this hotel on the internet and tried to book it thru various sites. All of them said that the rooms were booked. So I called up the hotel personally and was surprised when they said that they have rooms available. I was asked to make a payment to the hotels account to confirm my booking, but due to some problems could not get the transaction done. Mr. Vijay who I think is the owner/manager was very kind enough to hold our rooms for 4 days without any pre payment. He also sent us a pick up vehicle from the bus stop.
The room where we stayed we large and roomy. It had a seating place and a place by the window to enjoy the views in the evening. The beds were large and very comfortable( I was travelling with two little kids) with very clean and crisp linen. The pillows were of the (zero headache ) quality.
Rooms were cleaned very promptly and they did a very thorough job of it.
They also offer a very quick and efficient laundry service that is returned to you on the same day- a wow factor considering that we were travelling with kids.
The hotel has a very good roof top restaurant, where they offer chilled beer along with snacks. If you like alcohol you have to procure it from outside. They levy no corkage. The menu is very limited. Please don't order fancy food. We used to tell the chef in advance what we would like to eat and he would oblige us in the evening.The "Laal Maas" they serve here is just amazing. I had it all the three nights that we had dinner here.
We were served by "Gautam and Laxman" two very courteous and helpful gentlemen. They saw to it that we returned to the restaurant every evening by giving us very personalised but unobstrusive service.
All in all I recommend this hotel very strongly to eveyrone especially families and couples. It offers excellent VFM.
Hope all who stay here get the same service that I got and wish Mr. Vijay the very best in his endevours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imperialorchid_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

hotel is at good location, rooms were small in size but well maintained, hotel has lift facility but lift is old fashioned sometimes feel dangerous, use it very carefully, hotel has good roof top restaurant, quality was good what at cost of long wait for placed order as hotel has very less kitchan helpers, I stayed in room 404 which has small relaxing area at back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Parthdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

we stayed here for three nights, this was during our nearly one month tour of Rajasthan. We found the description quite close to what our travel book described. it's good quality establishment, in very convenient location in Udaipur, close to city palace, close to the lake and this was the best rooftop terrace and restaurant we had in all India (if you're fan on sunsets - go there as its one of tallest buildings around and nothing spoils the breathtaking view). Breakfasts not included, but reasonably priced and tasty, like all other meals we had there (plus very nice and efficient service, always smiley and professional, great approachability and easy to communicate with). Perfect place to have a beer during the sunset, with mountains and the lake in the scenery, looks just awesome and so unbelievably un-natural, almost like an impressionist painting!! Guys at the check in desk downstairs very helpful but need desperately a deodorant and work their personal hygiene and customer service - quite spooky sometimes but after all nice folks. Internet wifi free of charge. We used their laundry service - inexpensive and efficient. Swimming pool looks nice on the pictures, when you come close to it- looks like a soup and you definitely don't want to swim in there - and actually during our stay we saw nobody use this facility.... rooms are of decent size, very nicely decorated, equipped with tv and all you need to have a nice stay, some of them have nice views. Downside: people are very noisy (Indian tourists) and walls are very thin.... And the hotel looks like a maze, with loads of different buildings put in one so if you are travelling with a group ask them to give you rooms next to each other, otherwise you'll end up spending lots of time in the staircase or elevator. Nice neighbourhood, where you can find everything you need - restaurants, water, souvenir shops, tailors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben16ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I loved our stay here at Anjani hotel. This was the second time we stayed here, and loved our large room (which included a living space). We also had a great time with their driver Kalu, who spoke excellent English, and took us on an informative tour of Udaipur for a few hours for a reasonable price. We definitely recommend the hotel, and Kalu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nayee Haveli
Hotel Nayee Haveli
#38 of 161 in Udaipur
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 161 in Udaipur
787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#93 of 161 in Udaipur
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
Hotel Sarovar on Pichola
#46 of 161 in Udaipur
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 161 in Udaipur
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjani Hotel

Property: Anjani Hotel
Address: 77 Gangaur Ghat Marg, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place from where you can see sunrise, sunset and full moon with the beauty of Aravalli Mountains. A minute walk from City Palace, Lake Pichola and Bagore Ki Haveli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anjani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjani Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing