We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay - Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #12 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at Mahendra Prakash from 9 June - 11 June 2013 and I had a wonderful time. Airport pickup was waiting with a sign, check-in was a breeze - even early in the morning. We had a small issue with the first room and the hotel staff moved us to a new room without hesitation. The pool area was clean, the AC kept us cool all night, and the staff recommendations were always perfect. Walking distance to major attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone based on our stay.
I would *highly* recommend this hotel to anyone based on my post-stay interactions with the staff. I was traveling partially for work and I needed bills emailed and sent to my office and the staff, especially Kailash, promptly and politely complied. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryMcBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 835 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was amazing especially Bim-ji and Boxu-ji (sp?) and the staff at the reception is impeccable. They all are a prime example of above and beyond service. The food was delicious, the location is near all the shopping (clothes and food), the zoo, and anything else. Whenever i needed anything, the staff was there to help. I stayed there about two weeks and felt at home. Definitely would come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nODISHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at Mahendra Prakash for 2 weeks on a study abroad trip. I ate almost every meal there, the restaurant is fantastic! The rooms are gorgeous, and very comfortable. There is a beautiful pool, and is in a prime location at the heart of the city. It is family owned and operated, the staff is incredible! They really make you feel like part of the family, they took such good care of the entire group attending to our every need, and seemed to genuinely care about us all. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After a week and a half of slumming it up in budget hotels with shoddy AC, this hotel was a breath of the freshest air we had breathed since arriving in India. Beautiful design, gorgeous backyard, friendly staff, amazing pool, spotless rooms -- cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Awesome place, not very big hotel but provides all the basic amenities. We booked a superior room for 2200=00 (Inclusive of taxes and breakfast) and it was totally worth, A very clean and decent size swimming pool, courteous staff, neat and clean rooms, nice garden and decent food,
Situated in a perfect location, in the center of the city but in a very serene and peaceful location.
City palace,old market, Lake pichola is very near by yet you live in a very peaceful atmosphere.
Overall experience was very satisfying. Things that need improvement are Room service and housekeeping. They are very slow. The Hotel also provides free Wi Fi in all the common areas (In pool side rooms you get connectivity in rooms also) which is a good feature.

Room Tip: Room No. 17,18 & 19 are best located. They have garden and Swimming pool in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankur_RubyJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of travellers. My room was quite dark but comfortable. The dining area was lovely and served a nice breakfast. The pool was good and it had a nice area to sit outside. It was centrally located to see Udaipur. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3-4 days during last Dec'12. Due to the last minute finalization of the trip and after searching & missing some of the deals, just on the reviews of trip advisor we booked the economical room thinking that if it won't meet the expectations will drop it at a loss.Surprisingly this small looking property is toooo good and very cheap.Though the parking for a hatchback car is a bit difficult inside the premises, staff gave us this difficult service without fail. Even the most economical room will let you feel like a royal guest with spacious bathrooms and carvings.Pool side restaurant ambience, its food , clean blue water and caring service will make you feel completely relaxed. Whatever we have seen in the photos the hotel is exactly like that only. All the places are very near to this hotel and thank god we have dropped the idea of all the hotels with lakeview. Please Please if you are with family never book any hotel in the narrow steep lane where lakeview is there, especially if you are with a vehicle. This hotel is complete - staying, food, nearby transport, shopping, tourist place and more importantly with royal service.I completely enjoyed it. Somewhere in the reviews it is given that it is not fit for indians as it is always flooded with foreigners. This is totally baseless and on the contrary not just hotel staff but also foreigners will let you feel the royalness of this property.

Room Tip: Poolview rooms are good. Prefer to go for ground floor though you will enjoy more of the hotel sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHEH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 177 in Udaipur
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 177 in Udaipur
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
406 reviews
2 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#6 of 177 in Udaipur
999 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#13 of 177 in Udaipur
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $43 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing