We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Ranked #14 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. My room was incredibly spacious (with the bathroom recently remodeled) and quiet. The hotel grounds were beautiful, with a nice pool and outdoor garden. The food in the restaurant was inexpensive, of good quality and served in a timely matter. The hotel location is also great: just a few steps away from shops/markets and about a 5 minute walk to the palace/

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 824 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We selected this hotel based on its trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotels gardens are beautiful and a great place to relax away from the busy streets. Our room was spotless and the staff were incredibly helpful. We opted for a suite room which had its own balcony and views of the city palace. It cost 3,300 rps per night including taxes. My only two criticisms of the hotel where that the pool was very cold (although I understand that pools in India usually don't have heaters) and that the onsite massages are a little pricey. Other than these two points the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just spent six nights in this lovely hotel. What a joy. I upgraded our room once we got there as I felt we needed a bit more room. We moved to room 21 which is fit for a maharajah!
There was nothing that we could fault. The location was perfect, just a short walk or tuk tuk ride away from the centre of Udaipur, and away from the noise of the traffic in the centre of town.

The staff are so polite and caring. They really mind that you are happy and having a good time. The restaurant is manned by three delightful waiters, who again, rush around looking after you. We ate here for three nights and the food was delicious. Thank you everyone. You deserve all the good reviews you get, the hotel is a dream.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 18-26. They are massive and very light and overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shropshirelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a lovely tme in this hotel with a warming atmosphere, we stayed longer than we thought as we couldn't leave this charming place and welcoming host.Moreover my 7 years old son was sick for a few days ans all the staff took care of him with special food and care.
The whole team is so kind and friendly
If you go to Udaipur, you definately have to stay there !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dufresne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Mahendra Prakash recently and were very happy with the cleanliness and decor of the rooms. The staff at the restaurant were really good. The food was tasty and well priced. We booked our car through the hotel for all 3 days we were there. One of the day's we got a driver called Lokesh who was rude and very inconsiderate of the fact that my daughter was unwell. Better avoid him. Else other drivers were very friendly and helpful. The hotel outsources their drivers so I would suggest if you get a good driver, better ask the hotel to book the same driver for all the days.

Room Tip: The bed was actually two single beds pushed together....not sure if all the rooms have those kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niftymegha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The best hotel in that price category I ever stayed in India. A beautiful room with an alkoven and coloured windows, great swimming pool and garden and a very helpful staff, fluent in English and not after tips. They are very helpful in organizing trips and excursions. And Udaipur anyway is one of the best places in India.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADG483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem with understated luxury and became a favourite hotel of those I visited in India. Extremely comfortable & welcoming inside. I really enjoyed having breakfast in the garden and my room was gorgeous. There is a pool and they even have 2 tortoises who live there and hang out in the garden. I loved the way this hotel was decorated, an Indian oasis. The service provided by the staff was impeccable and friendly. I had to remind myself to get outside and see Udaipur!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47kelly47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 175 in Udaipur
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
2 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 175 in Udaipur
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#18 of 175 in Udaipur
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mahendra Prakash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mahendra Prakash

Address: Lake Palace Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#16 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $44 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mahendra Prakash 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the popular Udaipur Hotels, Mahendra Prakash is a family-run haveli-style hotel with 26 rooms, situated on Lake Palace Road overlooking the Sajan Niwas Gardens. This green oasis of tall trees, guava orchards and the famous Gulab Bagh means the temperature is always two or three degrees cooler in this part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mahendra Prakash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahendra Prakash Hotel Udaipur
Mahendra Prakash Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing