We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oriental Palace Resorts
Ranked #121 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very Poor,,,. The rooms too big with very shabby interiors. It's scary to stay alone. Services are slow, stale food served, not much option to eat ...Horrible stay. There were cockroaches in the toilet, no power back up, location is off the city and cannot be traced easily at night.

Room Tip: Nothing good about this resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sayantani0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
17
3
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I had travelled to Udaipur on a business trip and was looking for a 'no-frills' but clean accomodation. The hotel photos I saw on some travel websites showed lush green lawns, stately architecture and regal room interiors. In reality, I did not find the property living up to it's name or it's pictures.
The property is a bit off the road. Finding it in the night can be a bit difficult.
The day I checked in, they had rented out the lawn for some party. The party had live music going on till 11:30 in the night, which was extremely frustrating. To add to the din, the window A/C was humming all night !

Thumbs UP:
> Rooms are clean
> Rooms are spacious and well layed out.
> Food quality is decent

Thumbs DOWN:
> Accessibility is poor.
> The property is not well maintained
> Reception staff and the service staff are just average
> The lawns(which are not well maintained) have a peculiar stench.
> The overall feel of the property is not at all cozy. It does not feel welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aniket J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Udaipur hotels

Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Location seemed a bit difficult for us to find, but the tuk-tuk drivers had no difficulty in completing the Rs60 ride from town. Reception was warm, reservations were properly entered, instructions for laundry were clear. Rooms were quite cozy, dimly lit, and the washroom/toilet area was clean and acceptable. No screens on the windows to keep out the mosquitoes, so we ran the A/C fan all night for fresh air. Dining room was disorganised for breakfast, better for supper, but you get the feeling that they don’t know how to deal with more than one food order at a time – everything comes as it’s cooked, regardless of when it’s appropriate.

Room Tip: Room numbers don't indicate/suggest whether they're on the first or second level, so mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Local Indians would call it a guest house. It is not like a hotel. It is clean and has a decent bed to sleep on but don't expect to see a hotel like Motel 6 or a Days Inn. Staff was courteous.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Nothing special, little pricey for the location, Negotiate and you get better deals.
Food is very good. Property is aging and is kind of falling apart in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I booked three rooms through Travel agent Excurssions India in this so called resort for my family stay during Rajesthan trip in Dec.
This place is no where close to any resort where you can visit and relax. Pictures on the website do not give the real situation of the resort.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel as this is too old , in the middle of nowhere, not worth the money you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 536Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had organised our office annual trip at Udaipur & we had booked the entire Oriental Palace Resort. It is a good property with nice food. They had arranged a lawn party for us & that was superb. Also they had arranged very nice Rajasthani food & folk dance for us. Hotel Head Mr. MB Singh was really very co-operative & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitTakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vishnupriya
Hotel Vishnupriya
#83 of 156 in Udaipur
228 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Hotel Hilltop Palace
#66 of 156 in Udaipur
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cambay Resort Udaipur
Cambay Resort Udaipur
#138 of 156 in Udaipur
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#10 of 156 in Udaipur
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
Kurabar Kothi & ZO Rooms
#110 of 156 in Udaipur
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Palace Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Palace Resorts

Property: Oriental Palace Resorts
Address: Main Road, Subhash Nagar, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oriental Palace Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriental Palace Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing