We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaiwana Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaiwana Haveli
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Just upon our arrival, the stay was already a good experience. Harsh, the host, welcomed us with enthusiasm and made sure everything was up to our standard. During our stay he was so nice to talk with and took the time to answer all our questions and give great advice about what to see and where to go in Udaipur. He really cares about Jaiwana Haveli and about making each guests stay the best possible.

Our room was in the older section, and we loved it. We had a ground floor room so the street noise was a little noisy but nothing the fan couldn't drown out. We read that these old rooms were "dank and windowless" but we found it charming. It had an old, castle-like feel and the room was large, clean and the bathroom was newly redone and clean, as well. The rooftop restaurant was our favorite. The view was beautiful, day or night, and the food was legitimately good, not just passable for a hotel restaurant. We ended up eating all but one meal there because we liked it so much!

We would definitely recommend Jaiwana Haveli to stay. Great accommodations, very friendly staff, and great restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkuczmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    693
    118
    25
    11
See reviews for
503
955
162
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Service in India is one of two things - either overly fussy with an army of staff fawning over your every move, or totally indifferent with staff unwilling to admit that they don't know the answer to your most basic of questions. Thus how fantastic to find a place that really knows how to look after it's guests. Yash is a legend, and able to take care of anything you need, whether it's booking a train / bus, organising a cooking course or finding a restaurant.This is truelly an oasis amidst the chaos of Indian travel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossmcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

A smashing hotel, very clean and well priced with a location to die for overlooking Lake Pichola from our corner room. We stayed 3 nights and ate all our meals at the lovely roof top restaurant.
Special mention to Yash and Harsh who made us feel so welcome during our stay - This hotel comes strongly recommended for couples young and old (just like our group lol)
Bri, Lorraine, Steve and Karen - Hull England.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FozzyEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

This lovely havely in the heart of Udaipur is run by two Yash and his brother. They are both very kind, hospital and offer a great service. They are a perfect team when it comes to running their hotel and making your stay carefree and relaxing.
Our room was simple but everything we needed was provided and it was spotless clean. We had a nice view from our room of the lake and the Lake Palace.
The restaurant also has a gorgeous rooftop restaurant with good food. Especially the views upon the lake and the Lake Palace Hotel are awesome.
If I will come back to Udaipur I will stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKartheuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Lovely haveli in a great location on the lake, with great views from the roof top restaurant. Very relaxing and could sit up there for hours (until got too hot - but could also go inside!).

In general, this was a great place, we had a lovely room in the restored part, with great views of the lake. However it was a bit noisy (street noise) and there was no WiFi in our room.

Good location in the old town near the temple and lovely city palace.

Good restaurant. Also went to Jagat Niwas next door and they were on a par, price and quality-wise, jaiwana probably slightly better food. JN was more flash, more formal service, lovely hotel.

There are lots of stairs to the restaurant, 4th or 5th floor.

The main guy, the older brother? Seemed to take a but of a disliking to us and was pretty rude and grumpy. He also pushed us into a much more expensive tour than we wanted. Read on for details, but I'd suggest you either don't book through them, or be very careful and assertive.

Other than that the other brother and the rest of the staff were fantastic.

Could only get WiFi in reception (where grumpy usually was) and sometimes on the roof. Probably in the rooms in the main part too. Not in the restored part.

Definitely recommend (just avoid the grumpy one!). Paid 1990INR (£28), which didn't include breakfast, which I thought was OK for the lake view.

We mentioned an interest in the trip to the Monsoon Palace for sunset, via some gardens and the other lake, for 200INR pp - needed 4 ppl or had to pay double and we already had our own driver. Another couple subsequently said they were interested, and he pushed us into adding a trip to a temple in as well, which more than doubled the price to 845 per couple and meant leaving at 2 instead of 4. He implied that they wanted to go the temple and that was the only choice, so we went along with it not really knowing what was going on. Turns out they didn't request the temple and didn't really want that part either, but felt really pushed into it. And due to having to be at the temple at 5, there was no sunset.
Monsoon Palace is a complete waste of time, except for the view (it's up on the hill). The gardens were also a waste of time. The temples were actually quite good, the 5.00 time frame was for the actual prayers, which we got to join in (just a quick walk through).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

As we were approaching the gate of the Haveli, we could hear a Rajasthani folk song being sung in the background by some performing artists in a museum next door and it felt so soothing, wonderful and if I may add, just like the movies.

Right at that minute I believed I was going to enjoy this trip and the Haveli only made it better. The location in the old city of Udaipur is apt for travelers with everything at a visible distance and nestled in lovely old lanes one enjoys walking.

The view from our room was fantastic, the bathrooms clean with 24 hr hot water and the roof top restaurant very cosy with the delicious 'laal maas', a dish you should not miss when you visit Jaivana Haveli.

The management of the Haveli is taken care by 2 brothers, Yash and Harsh and they are completely hands-on, extremely helpful and savvy.

The staff is not only welcoming but also very honest. We had a first hand experience and it only made me appreciate the place even more. I'll certainly come back & also recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Run by two brothers who have a keen sense of Western needs. We stayed in a newly renovated spacious clean room with beautiful view of the lake and large rooftop terrace. The bed was comfortable, bathroom modern with hot water heater, rooftop restaurant with good food. Friendly staff, location is central and great, you can walk easily to city palace and stores. I really appreciated the help with my Indian cell which wasn't getting reception. Finally, one of the brothers let me use his cell phone! I highly recommend this haveli. Room tariff is very good and owners exude fairness, no one is out to part you unnecessarily of your rupees! I think they didn't even charge me for some internet usage.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiaeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaiwana Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaiwana Haveli

Property: Jaiwana Haveli
Address: 14, Lalghat, Udaipur, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#5 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaiwana Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,Jaiwana Haveli welcomes you to Udaipur. Our endeavor is to make your stay a pleasant one. Jaiwana Haveli is a 24 Room family-run small hotel.The hotel is 4 storied and has a Roof-top Restaurant on the top floor. It is accessible by stairs only.All rooms in the hotel are standard rooms and offer basic amenities. The hotel does not have any room category 'Full Lake View' or 'Lake Facing'. We sell them all as standard rooms. We suggest that you book 3 to 4 months in advance to get rooms on a higher floor.Please be informed that we do not entertain complaints regarding view from the rooms as we do not make any such claims or promises. All rooms are equipped with Air-conditioners, LCD's and attached bathrooms with 24 hours hot water.The hotel is in easy walking distance to all popular monuments,the Pichola lake,bazaars,gardens and restaurants. It's situated in a very popular locality called 'Lalghat' on eastern shore of the Pichola lake.The room size of a standard room is 110 sq.Ft. The hotel does not have Parking. A government run safe Parking is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaiwana Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaiwana Haveli Udaipur
Jaiwana Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing