We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lake View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hospitality was wonderful. Everyone went out of their way to answer our questions. The view from this hotel is beautiful. The included breakfast had a variety of choices. We had dinner at the hotel the last night and was entertained by traditional dances by the locals. We got to dance with them in the last song :) the food was overpriced but I guess the experience was wonderful. The hotel also puts on bagpiper marching band that has a horse (Roman) as a lead. Watching Roman dance is very beautiful. Small kids can get a horse ride as well. To get around from the hotel, you can jump on a tuk tuk so was convenient. The city palace and the lakes are not far away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYB0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited Lalit Laxmivilas palace on 18th may 2013. We were touched by the service, and the lake view room was amazing.One can really have a quality time and the location is just perfect. As they did not have swimming pool , we we on request given permission to use pool facility in other hotel . The food, service and staff is just amazing. As they saw we are with kids they immediately upgraded us to lake view side rooms

Room Tip: Lake view side rooms are just amazing. Only swimming pool is missing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hi, we were two families stayed in the hotel Lalit for two days. As our expectation for this hotel as it is a LALIT propoerty was high but this hotel could not meet any of our expectations. the hotel doest nat have variety in their food. Rooms are Ok. Hospitality is good but there is always a confusion in the services they provide. It is nore worth the money they ask for as they do not have any facility such as Swimming pool ar any other facilty for children. Only they have pool table and nothing were you con spent time in hotel. Finally not very much satisfied

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumitAggarwal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the Facility, Food quality and customer service has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance, look forward to regaining faith and confidence in the brand and i hope will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm.

Look forward to meet you during your next trip.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace for 2 nites in March 2013.

The property is situated atop a hill, with beautiful views of the lake... mind you this is not the main lake of Udaipur which has all the Palaces and other hotels like Taj / Leela etc.

Nonetheless the views are beautiful, with the lake and small mountains making an awesome backdrop.

The main city is 5-10 mins away and you can very easily take a cab / auto from just outside the hotel gates. The hotel however still wants to charge a bomb for transport arranged by them. This is a disease in all hotels in India and I wish it goes away soon. (The hotel asked us for 2500 for an airport drop whereas i paid 850 for the same A/c Toyota Innova to a local cab)

The hotel itself is spic and span, the rooms comfortable and the staff extremely eager to please. The service was fantastic and overall we had a very good stay.

The only thing which needs to be improved is the food. It wasnt bad... but it wasnt great either. Some things were really good too but overall the food was average.

Another thing, the hotel badly needs a pool.. they are planning some expansions and i really hope a pool is in the mix of things planned. An infinity pool overlooking the lake would be just what the doctor ordered !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ask4gautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

Much as we desire to have an infinity pool, we are still awaiting some permission from the competent authorities. We hope that we will be able to boast soon about an infinity pool.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have been a fan of Lalit properties for long and rate them very high. However, this property and the experience they offer to the clients could have been better.

We had 2 connected lake view rooms. The rooms are large with beautiful view of the lake, but with ordinary bathrooms. The interior of the Hotel and the rooms is of yesteryears standards that is duplicated by most of 3-4 star Hotels in India. Nothing excites you in this Hotel. Nothing/no-one stands out and pleases you.

Room service requires repeated reminders even though they charge 600 Rs. + Taxes for a Veg. Burger which is presented in ordinary crockery. The restaurants are way too expensive for the ambience or service quality. The only bright star is the open air restaurant "Aangan" with live dance performance. Dont miss this one, just for the view and the breeze that comes from the Fateh Sagar Lake. It is romantic and blissful. Do make prior reservation as it has few covers.

It is rather surprising and disappointing that the Hotel does not offer Rajasthani Cuisine. One has to move out to the other fine restaurants to enjoy it. Further, the Hotel is under staffed and only 3-4 people attend to the Buffet Breakfast. The spread is not too fancy and replenishments take ages. When full of guests, it is akin to a government run Hotel experience.

The Hotel offers limited recreation services. There is a shabby and unkept open air badminton court. They have a lousy "out sourced" spa. C'mon, The Lalit-The Palace Hotel, treat your guests with more warmth.

On a positive side there are other things to amuse you. There is a fine pool table, a decent horse show, puppet show and a Bagpiper Band that plays lovely music at sunset. And what a beautiful sunset!

There is no pool in the Hotel but I over-heard that they are coming up with the largest pool in Rajasthan. That will make an offer that cant be refused!

If you are in for a "Holiday like a King in a Palace Hotel" experience and are attracted by the other group Hotels of The Lalit, you will be in for a surprise. Things could have been better.

There are loads of other good Hotels in Udaipur and Laxmi Vilas scores high due to the location and the view it offers. Rest, till they improve, is ordinary.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JatinAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar!

Thank You for your review. On behalf of the entire team at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and your valuable feedback. Your feedback about the Facility, Food quality and customer service has been duly noted and discussed with the entire team for immediate corrective action.

Much as we strive to deliver an exceptional quality of service to all our guests, we regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. I would like to assure you that this is a one off incident and may i urge you to not let this be an indelible perception.

We remain firmly committed to the ethos and values of hospitality and customer centricity and in accordance, look forward to regaining faith and confidence in the brand and i hope will grant us an opportunity to serve you with renewed focus and enthusiasm.

Look forward to meet you during your next trip.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in The Lalit Laxmi Vilas for one night on the way from Ahmedabad to Udaipur. I visited there along with my family and found the place to be very lively with various activities such as horse riding, puppet show etc. The rooms were very well layed out and clean. The view of the Fateh Sagar Lake from the room is very relaxing.

They could have done bit better on the bathroom (shower) layout and the breakfast spread.

Definately would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a decent heritage hotel at an economical price.

Room Tip: A room on the topmost floor would give a good view and less noise from the rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siddharth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff is kind. Check-in and out was pretty fast. The breakfast buffet is great. Did not have any other meals at the hotel. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are clean. The shower is very nice. We would definately stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MN_TravellerMsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhaskaran T, General Manager at The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ratings on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that not only did we live up to your expectations, but exceeded it. Your comments and ratings will help us keep our spirits high and strive harder to provide seamless and intuitive service.

I have discussed your feedback in detail in an appropriate forum. The entire team Joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we look forward to have you staying with us soon.

Warm Regards

Bhaskaran. T

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.4 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 175 in Udaipur
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur

Address: Fateh Sagar Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#9 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#9 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $121 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing