We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kankarwa has a sublime view of lake from rooftop restaurant”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #46 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Kankarwa has a sublime view of lake from rooftop restaurant”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This haveli specifically likes to offer a window into a past way of life in India. If you expect creature comforts, don't come here. To western sensibilities, there are a few missed opportunities at this hotel - the opening hours of the rooftop restaurant are very limited, for instance. But you will see amazing architecture, be inspired by the views froom the roof and the beautiful window seats and looked after well by the owner and his son and staff. Laundry service was good. Wifi is provided, free. They even let us borrow the office computer to upload our photos and found us alternative accommodation for the evening they were already fully booked. This accommodation came recommended to us (but it was suggested we eat out) and I recommend it also. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    108
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
53
157
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice old haveli, with beautiful rooms and a great roof-top terrace from which the view is simply AMAZING: view over the lake and the palace. The breakfast is very tasty and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location of the hotel is ideal: in the middle of the old town and hence walking distance to the palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oudtshoorn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice hotel but could be cleaner. Needs more attention to detail. Dirty toilet and bathroom needs a good scrub. Lovely owners. Good breakfast, do not buy anything in the shops next to it, you will be cheated. Do go to Mary for cooking lessons.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olga075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night in January 2013 with family in two rooms, disappointed relative to TA reviews and LP write-up, good lake-side location but spoilt by very poor resturant service, unclean tables in rooftop resturant (breakfast served on tables not cleaned from the night before) and moderate / small rooms, clean but small. We asked for two rooms together - not possible in the end. Were going to stay 2 nights, but cut it back to one, man at reception had the nerve to shout I was a bad customer, needless - I was not impressed.

Anyway, it is a good location, let down by a dirty restaurant on the roof, slow service, and although one receptionist was great, not good overall. This is a busy tout-seedy tourist area and you are not made to feel special in any way. Good luck if you go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synnefoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We did not stay at this Hotel but came mainly to have dinner at their Vegetarian Restaurant on the Terrace. We had a very delicious Thali which we enjoyed very much. We would have come back the next day if we had stayed longer in Udaipur. The view of Pichola Lake with the Palaces all lit up at night was an amazing sight. The candlelight on the table was very romantic. The service was excellent and speedy as well. It was not advertised but we decided to investigate this Hotel. We would recommend this Restaurant anyone wishing a vegetarian meal while visiting Udaipur.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

There are so many good things about this hotel:
- Great roof terrace where you can relax, enjoy meals with stunning views all around
- Our room overlooked the lake, was very comfortable, bright with a very clean and spacious bathroom
- Centrally located so you could easily walk to the makets, temples and museums.
The hotel was fully booked and had to turn people away so do book early.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of the cleanest and friendliest cities in Rajasthan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent two nights in this small family palace, built on the heights of the old town of Udaipur.
We had a spacious room with a private terrace looking out onto the Pichola lake. Wonderful view! The restaurant on the terrace proposes a home cooking. Possibility of having the meals in a room closed (in December, the temperature can be a little bit cool for a dînner outside!).
Rooms are clean and the staff friendly. 5 minutes on foot of the city palace.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g71590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#55 of 156 in Udaipur
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#27 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#47 of 156 in Udaipur
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Property: Kankarwa Haveli
Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing