We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel during 6 weeks of India travel--gorgeous and good value”
Review of Kankarwa Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kankarwa Haveli
Ranked #46 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel during 6 weeks of India travel--gorgeous and good value”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Seems like everything has been said about this hotel in other reviews--it is a lovely place to stay and was our favorite during a 6 week trip. We are somewhat budget travels so it is rare to have this nice of a place fall within our price limits. We moved here from a night at another hotel we booked in town that was more expensive and had very cramped rooms. Our room here was roomy to say the least--entrance foyer, bedroom, extra room with desk and twin bed/lounge chair. Wonderful space to get up in the am and do a yoga routine without disturbing my friend in the next room. The rooftop lounge/restaurant was the best--having a covered dining area meant that you could enjoy the views even in the heat of the day (our other hotel had no shade--this is something to ask about). In the morning women are on the waterfront directly below the hotel doing laundry, bathing, etc. You get a really nice group of people on the rooftop and we enjoyed our conversations with fellow travelers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtexan69_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    108
    45
    23
    10
See reviews for
53
157
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My sister and I stayed at Kankarwa last month and had a super stay! The room had the most amazing view over the lake... it was heaven to wake up to every morning! The roof top restaurant was really nice and breakfast good (no fresh fruit juice would be my only complaint). The location is excellent - easy walking distance to everywhere and very central. We were there during wedding season so it was a bit noisy in the evening but the weddings seem to finish early enough (around 11) so it didn't bother us at all.
I would have to say it was one of the best places we stayed in India.
We didn't find the staff rude at all as some of the reviews said..... infact we found the owner and staff most helpful

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This was the first place we stayed in India and I was pleasantly surprised. There were three of us, so we got the penthouse room on the very top of the building - surrounded in windows and offering a full view the beautiful lake. The room was clean, comfortable and large, but most importantly had an amazing view. They offer breakfast and meals on the roofdeck so it was fun to sit out there, relax, and take in the view. It took us two days to figure out that you need to plug the water heater in to get hot water though! Also GREAT location - very easy to walk everywhere you want to go.

The only thing that could be improved is the helpfulness of the staff. They were nice, but when we asked for recommendations about which cooking class to take or where to go to lunch, they were very vague and pretty much told us to figure it out by ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGrl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This haveli comes very recommended. The owners are very nice people, friendly and very "with it" . The rooms are very clean and rajastani. The rooftop restaurant has spectacuar views and is very peaceful. There is a menu of 3 vegetarian choices, which are very very tasty and inexpensive. Night views from the rooftop are spectacular. All-in-all, we recommend it strongly. Stayed 3 nights and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyronius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Perfect location overlooking Lake Pichola! Wonderful rooms (every one is different); an excellent rooftop restaurant (with possibly the best views anywhere in the city over the lake); attentive service and immaculate rooms. Definitely one of the best-kept secrets in Udaipur.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Kankarwa Haveli was the best hotel we stayed at in India. Over a 2 week tour from Delhi (Hotel Kwality, 2*, Park New Delhi, 5*) to Agra (Hotel Sheela, 2*), Jaipur (Hotel Pearl Palace, 4*), Jodhpur (Durag Niwas Guest House, 3*), Udaipur and Jaisalmer (Hotel Jeet Mahal, 3*), Kankarwa was not only the nicest looking and most comfortable, but had a stunning view of Lake Pichola that made waking up each morning to the shimmering water and gleaming palaces well worth the price. Proprietor Janardan Singh has done a great job with the place, from the clean bathrooms and fabrics decorating each unique room, to the home-style service at the rooftop restaurant and Bambi the loyal watchdog greeting you each night as you return from a day in charming Udaipur. They've got wi-fi, stacks of English-language magazines and books, laundry and tour guide services, and much more. If you can, spring for the rooftop suite, with its large bathroom, comfy mattresses and little balcony overlooking the haveli courtyard and the lake. This room is perfect for honeymooners. The double rooms found on the lower levels are equally as satisfying for those on a budget. Sunset over the lake with a Kingfisher in hand will be one of the many unforgettable memories I have of Kankarwa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We booked the night before online before travelling from Delhi and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The satff were kind and even gave us the option of 3 rooms [from which we chose a huge room with lake views] for no extra cost.
The location is superb and breakfast was nice and easy with a stunning rooftop terrace view across the lake and city. The room was enourmous and beautifully decorated with a large open ut window that had the lake beneath. A brilliant place in a stunning setting...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreilly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Raj Niwas Hotel
Raj Niwas Hotel
#55 of 156 in Udaipur
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#27 of 156 in Udaipur
782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karohi Haveli
Karohi Haveli
#47 of 156 in Udaipur
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kankarwa Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kankarwa Haveli

Property: Kankarwa Haveli
Address: 26 Lal Ghat | Eastern Shores of Lake Pichola, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kankarwa Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heritage hotel in 180 years old haveli renovated in 1993 by Kankarwa family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kankarwa Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kankarwa Haveli Udaipur
Kankarwa Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing