We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique hotel de charme in a unique place in Rajasthan”
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #28 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

With a great view both on the Lake Palace and the City Palace and its terrace-restaurant Ambrai bordering the lake Pichola , this hotel gives you the best accommodation in Udaipur if you put charme and tradition before modernity. No Jacuzzis no hotel shops no frills but a sober elegance and all what you need. Food in the restaurant Ambrai pretty good quality an reasonably priced. Service still open to improvement. We had a three courses meal for two for 30 US $

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marconiada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dearest Guest
Thanks for boosting up our confidence and hitting a straight six with your fantastic write-up on our Heritage Hotel Amet Haveli.It is our earnest hope and effort that every guest has an outstanding exprience of the legendry bygone era of royal Mewar. We generouslly appllaud your strong liking of our , out of this world, restaurant Ambrai . We will certainally improve on our deficancies regarding the service . We will be forunate enough to have a audience with you again.
With warm regards from bright and sunny Udaipur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Amet Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 468 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was the first Hotel that we stayed at during our Rajasthan trip. We are still trying to find a hotel that match this beautiful place. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We loved it! The staff, food and room were fantastic. We have already referred our friends to you, will be referring many more and will definitely return ourselves for another stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank zurita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dearest Guest
Thanks a lot for posting a unmatched review of our hotel on T.A. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your dream holidays at Amet Haveli. We apperciate with great relief your kind attention and liking of out staff,food and room. Team Amet extends there heartily gratitude for recongising and mentioning there hard work and team spirit so unselfishly.
It will be a honour for us to be in your company in near future as well.Wishing you all the best and have a great time in wild South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The fifth and final hotel in our trip around Delhi and Rajasthan, this was a great note on which to finish. The hotel is perfectly located, though you can't quite believe it as you drive through a maze of tiny roads full of shops and people. You tip up, however, at a beautifully manicured and presented hotel, and it felt like a real oasis of calm after a very busy couple of weeks.

We had a great double aspect room (number 17) that faced both the palace and the island palace (hotel). We could see the restaurant from our room, but there was no noise or intrusion during our stay. There was a wonderful window seat as well as separate chairs that meant it was as tempting to sit indoors as to venture out. The room was recently built or refurbished and everything was to a high standard, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. My favourite hotel of our visit, though all were great so it was a tough choice!

The restaurant was very good, we ate well as vegetarians. It was easy to sit here too for hours over a coffee or a beer. The reception staff were very helpful in sorting out one or two issues in relation to our return flights home, thank you.

We drove out to see one or two sights, but it was also perfectly easy to walk in to the heart of Udaipur (10 to 15 mins), which seemed super busy of course, in comparison with the calm of our hotel. A magical end to a wonderful visit to India.

Room Tip: Room 17, double aspect, newly refurbished
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annastravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

DEAR GUEST

Thank you for choosing Amet Haveli for your trip to udaipur. Team Amet was overwhelemed to know that you had a very relaxing and reviving time at our peaceful ,picture-perfect hotel. Our hotel is positioned on the one of the best location on lake Pichola surrounded by tranquil hills of Aravali hills and has a jaw-dropping view of rich heritage palaces,havelis,temples and buildings of royal Mewar .
We wil look forward to have a more pleasurable meeting with yourself in not too distant future as well.
With kindest regards all the warmth to you always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at amet haveli for the 3rd time and was impressed as usual. This time though we had an added attraction.

We had the best tour guide in the form of a Driver called Deva who showed us Udaipur like you have never seen it.

He spoke good English and his knowledge about the place , culture, history and city was impressive. You can reach Deva via Amet Haveli or his cell phone if you visit 94142 -29957. Great guy.

The hotel and the tour guide made udaipur an unforgettable experience and I am sorry to leave.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank popvulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dearest Guest
Congrulations ! for posting your first review on T.A. We wish you all the best for many more to come in future as well . It was your third stay at Hotel Amet Haveli which itself is self explainatory that why guest prefer our property. The unbrakeable patronage given by guest like you is backbone of our service and Team Amet will always be proud to welcome you with open arms. Your appreciation of our travel desk and tour guide "Deva" is also very well received and we thank you for highlighting this aspect of our hospitality.
I will not write any formal words to invite you back as you are now part of our Amet family so hoping for a joyous reunion again. All the best in life and have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We choose this hotel as our travel companion had eaten here during his previous visit to Udaipur & had a great experience. We arrived to an indifferent welcome, certainly not the level of friendliness we had experienced at other hotels in India. We felt like we were a minor irritation & not valued guests! We had booked for 3 nights, only one of which was in a superior room as it was fully booked. However we did know this to be case before arrival. Our room was fabulous with fantastic views onto the lake. However our friend had a room overlooking the restaurant/bar area and the level of noise was unbearable late into the night & then early in the morning. He complained & was moved to a room at the back of the hotel which was fine. Our standard room was also very nice. We ate in the restaurant a few times & although the food was good, we didn't think it was outstanding as some other reviews have suggested. Unfortunately the staff in the restaurant were just as surly as the staff on the reception desk. Although in the end we did find one waiter who was pleasant and attentive. Another issue was that there was no water in the pool! We did not know this would be the case until we arrived. The location of the hotel is magical overlooking the lake & the grounds & rooms were good. However the attitude of the staff really let the place down.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

DEAREST GUEST


Thank you very much for sharing your exprience with all .I am pleased to note that you loved and liked our property and restaurant Ambrai.Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt with respect to the staff not being as friendly as desired with a few exceptions. We regret the inconvience caused due to the pool not functional.
Rest assured your feedback has been shared with the entire Team Amet and i will fallow up this matter with the management of Amet Haveli to improve upon rude and unprofessional behaviour of staff. This is certainly not indicative of the service level that we pride ourselves .We hope you will forgive us for our shortcomings.
With kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived in the evening after a long day's drive from Jodphur, only to be greeted with the "statement of fact" that our reservation was only for one night. (Actually we had reserved a suite for two nights.) It seems that the hotel owner's guru had arrived and we would be giving him our suite in the morning when we left... We were shocked, and showing a print out of our reservation made no difference.

After much discussion, we were told the hotel would, do their level best to find us alternate accomodation. More discussion between Hubby and the management, and a visit with the guru, managed to get us a room at the hotel for the second night. Exhausting procedure and not at all pleasant!

The visit did not really improve. Our "suite" was smallish and a bit run-down looking, although the view of the Lake Palace Hotel from our lakeside window was lovely. The bathroom was 1960's-modern style with a large 2-person bathtub.

The hotel's restaurant lakeside serves nice Indian cuisine. The view is pleasant.

But, and it's a big one, the entire style of of the hotel's management left much to be desired. The manager was rude on every occasion we had to make contact with him. The best part of our stay was being picked up by our driver and brought to the private dock of the Lake Palace Hotel for the rest of our stay in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

DEAREST GUEST


Thanks a lot for giving your valuable time to post a review. We were distressed to note that you were totally unsatisfied with services provided and value for money. Your views caution us to introspect ourself professionally. Nobody has any right to spoil anybodys most treasured holidays. No reason is worth than a fully satisfied guest . I sincerely tender my apology for uncalled attitude of our staff. We will definately improve our staff in this regard .We will make our weaknesses as our strenght in future. Your exprience will guide us to improve our services in future.I request you to visit us to see the change for yourself.
With best regards always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The lunch terrasse on the water has an amazing charm. View is the best. Prices are reasonable around 400 rpes for a main. Food is good. The building is a really beautiful traditional haveli. the garden is also really charming. The location is central but on the side so much calmer.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank willsolgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

DEAREST GUEST
We thank from deep of our heart for a awesome memoir of your lovely stay with us. For Team Amet a satisfied guest is more precious than gold. We also liked your full attention given to our Restaurant Ambari,the most visited restaurant of udaipur. It was really our fortune to host you and we will be very forunate to have you as our guest once again. With kind regards .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 163 in Udaipur
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Address: | Outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $88 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing