We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property in Stellar location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amet Haveli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amet Haveli
Ranked #18 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great property in Stellar location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel in suite #7. The hotel is very lovely, well manicured landscape with lots of character. The views from the room and the restaurant are stellar overlooking the lake over to the palace across from the lake. The location is opposite side of the palace which was actually really great as you get the better views, especially in the evening when the city lights up, as well as it's quieter and a bit more laid back than across the bridge to the other side. Yet it's still an easy walk to the other side to see the attractions as well as have access to plenty of restaurants ( 10 mins to the palace itself). The pool however is not swim-worthy and almost a murky color and dirty, but still adds to the ambience regardless. They do have a laundry service which we used and prices were acceptable.

Our room itself was spacious and comfortable, lots of character, with lots of windows and magnificent views. Bed was firm but comfortable.

Breakfast was not included and is expensive, especially by Indian standards. We did have supper at their restaurant one night and it was quite good, though again, on the more pricey side. This was also one of the most expensive properties we stayed at in India, I wouldn't say it is great value, however if you want to have a splurge or a nice treat, then this would definately qualify.

I don't know what their regular rooms are like, but our suite was brilliant and on that basis, I can definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest
We thank you from deep of our heart for a great review posted on T . A. It is our constant endevour to improve on guest expecations and service . Your valuable comments on pool ,prices at restaurant have been noted and passed for further action .
Your points will be inspiration for Team Amet to satisfy guest needs for future . We await to give you warm welcome again . Sincerely thankimg you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    108
    27
    8
    25
See reviews for
68
245
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had a glorious few days staying in a charming and comfortable suite overlooking the lake. The rising sun reflected on the lake and then danced on the ceiling above my bed each morning. The service was very good; the ambiance very aristocratic Indian; the notable old building and its gardens all very beautifully maintained. Loved the naughty dog and the friendliness of the resident owners. I couldn't recognise the Havelli of the hypercritical comments of some previous visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaharajahMadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks a lot for your feedback .It was our privelage to host you as our guest at Hotel Amet Haveli . You are our frequent vistior so we thank you again for showing your deep faith in us .
We are eagarely awaiting for your pleasurable visit to your home away from your home .
Kindest Regards . A Very Merry XMAS .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel with splendid views overlooking a tranquil lake. We had a corner room looking out at the lake in all directions. It was spacious and well maintained and very quaint. The restaurant produced magnificent food which was heavily booked from outside the hotel so book early. The staff were most helpful with great sense of humour allowing me to use the office pc with free Internet access. Visitors should book early into Shashi's cooking class within walking distance of the hotel a marvellous experience (go hungry)lasts 4 -5 hours but worth every minute.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Acland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
DEAR GUEST
Greetings for a delightful Diwali . Extemely thankful to you for posting a fantastic review on T.A. Your postive words are a great encouragement for TEAM AMET to exale for more in service to guest comforts & needs .
We extend are utmost gratitude for showering your blessings for the services & hospitality .
with humble regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had some reservations due to previous reviews but on a three week trip to India staying at Amet Haveli was on of the highlights of the trip. We had a beautiful corner room with two different views of the lake. The room was in no way shabby as some reviewers have commentated - it was spotless - if not the most modern facilities they were certainly functioning and maintained well. The gardens and the restaurant are beautiful. The staff are efficient but not obtrusive. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner has an outstanding lakeside view and both breakfast and dinner did not disappoint. Highly recommend. Within walking distance of both the Jagdish temple and the Royal Palace (10-15 mins). Visit Udaipur it is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Corner suites with two views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
DEAR GUEST
A very happy diwali to you .Many thanks for the awesome feedback written by you on T.A. We appericate your postive views & faith on Hotel Amet Haveli .It adds another feather in the success & spirit of TEAM AMET .It is our motto to exceed beyond guest expecatations & service . I am glad that we were able to do so & give you value for your money .
We extend our sincere gratitude for apparaising the good effort done .We look forward for your memorable visit again .
with deepest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climping
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in a suite overlooking the lake. We were on the side of the proporty next to an unfinished building which looked hideuos but couldn't be seen once in our room.
Also there was the cutist little Begal type dog runnig around the secure courtyard!
The rooms were spacious, albeit thebeds a little firm and we had to ask for some bed sheets!!
The views from our room and the hotel itself are stunnig either during the day or night.
A great place from which to weatch Udaipur life go on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Many thanks for posting & sharing your wonderful time spend at Hotel Amet Haveli on T. A. .It is a big motivation for Team Amet to exceed for more in service to guest needs .We extend our deep gratitude for apprasing the effort done . Your point has been noted & we will definately improve on it . Hope to see you back in near future .
Warm regards . Happy Xmas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last Easter in a large room overlooking the lake - very atmospheric. Our table in the restaurant at night was at the front looking directly up at the Palace which is beautifully lit, and in the morning to the side, watching people amble to and from the lakeside, for a swim or to wash clothing. Udaipur is small and friendly so it was easy to walk over to the palace side. The hotel staff were very helpful, including arranging a private boat trip around the lake for us at minimal expense. This hotel was the cheapest we stayed in, with the most basic facilities, in 2 weeks touring around Rajasthan, but despite this it was our favourite. A truly beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake - I think ours may have been the corner suite. Also I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
DEAR GUEST
Many thanks for a great review posted by you .We sincerely apprericate your effort & time given to Hotel Amet Haveli .It will do wonders to the spirit of Team Amet . We look forward for more pleasurable revisit in future .
Thanking you with kindest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I am wtiting this review from my hotel room .i have a suite looking over lake Pichola and its fantastic.five windows all looking out on this fantastic view. The staff are good and people come from other hotels for there food and the views
If you come to this hotel you want room 11 witch is a suite and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzybee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tikkuJaipur, Public Relations Manager at Amet Haveli, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
DEAR GUEST
Many thanks for your postive feedback .We appricate you for giving us your time & sharing your wonderful exprirnce with all .It is our duty to provide our guest the legendary Mewari service & hospitality at Amet Haveli .Your feedback will be passed to team Amet .
Thank you wit kindest regards & wishing you a merry Xmas .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amet Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amet Haveli

Property: Amet Haveli
Address: Lake Palace Road | Outside Chandpole, Naga Nagri,, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amet Haveli 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 250 year old haveli refelecting the legendary golden era of Mewar . A royal residence site of erstwhile Thikana Amet . Rate-7500INR-Dbl for Dlx and 8700 INR FOR Suite Dbl occupancy.Non lake view room 4000INR Dbl 0ccupancy Tax -19% Room only basis.Double occupancy.Now boat ride in lake Pichola is also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amet Haveli Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing