We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax in the past”
Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Right in the midst of small alleys full of traditional craftsmen and merchants is the Madri Haveli, an old Royal Palace now converted to serve everyday tourists. Everything inside will take one back to the past centuries. The rooms are modernised, well appointed and very comfortable, the highlight being the restaurant located on the 4th level with a magnificent view of the entire city and the lake. The service is excellent and the staff very friendly and very helpful. A must place for visitors to Udaipur

Room Tip: Pay a little more and ask for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fjp4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 528 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

By far best stay during our visit of Rajasthan. Professional service and exquisitely decorated rooms of a high standard. Great location for major tourist hotspots. Taxi to Ranakphur was vert well arranged and fairly priced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fenh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent 2 day stay at this place in the wonderfull small suite. The room is maybe a bit dark but so beautifully inside. Thr biger suite looks the same but much brighter. The restaurant was good, for breakfast and for dinner. The rooftop view is one of the best we ever had in similar places. Hotel staff and manager are very friendly and helpfull

Stayed: May 2014
Thank dave303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Imagine a 4* boutique hotel and this places ticks the boxes. While located off a narrow street, this shouldn't put you off because if you've spent enough time in India, that's what 99% of the streets are like.

This place is a real gem. Perfect, simple design, a very classy renovation of a very old Haveli! This place looks as good as the photos on their website.

What we really loved here:
- Great functioning shower with good water pressure (in this price range of hotel, quite rare!)
- Really comfortable beds
- Great decor/simple design
- Roof terrace with awesome view
- Simple but tasty breakfast

While we really loved our stay, a few small tips based on our experience:

- Parasols on the rooftop would be helpful (in April it is very very hot and the sun is a little unbearable through breakfast)
- They have a great little cafe/chill area on the ground floor, which they could make good use of if they offered drinks/snacks. Reception were reluctant to have drinks served to us there, (suggesting I go to the rooftop myself/to a shop outside) and this is a real shame. Luckily the manager offered us drinks at the ground floor, but reception should be trained to offer drinks here as it will add to the charm of this place.
- Potentially offering upgrades to guests if rooms are empty? Just a thought? The large suite room was empty while we were here, and we were only staying 1 night so they could have easily upgraded us without fear of missing out on a last minute reservation... they lose nothing from small gestures like this, and we would have been incredibly grateful/written even more amazing reviews. It would have been win win ;)

Overall, really recommend this hotel. Peaceful retreat in the heart of Udaipur, walking distance to everything. No complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub, these almost feel like in a spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank commecicommeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Madri Haveli is a place that can easily use a slogan"Home away from home" Rooms are spacious and clean, beautiful designed with a minimalistic taste. Great staff and delicious food. It is the best place in Udaipur to start a day with a tasty breakfast on the rooftop restaurant and finish the day heaving a dinner in the same place :) Free WiFi and great travel desk. It all works on the top level.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulawypych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner decided to take a last minute 12 day visit to India to get a flavour of the country.

Udiapur was highly recommended by friends as the quintessential image of romantic India.

We stayed two nights in the area, the first at the Leela Palace Hotel and the second at the Madri Haveli.

On arrival at the Madri we were met with a cheerful, if not slightly sarcastic, front desk clerk, who efficiently took our details and showed us to our room.

The quality, size, historical value and cleanliness of the hotel's big suite was remarkable, and far grander than the crica £220 a night Leela Palace rooms.
The hotel staff were incredibly thorough, helpful and considerate throughout our stay and allowed us to stay in their lounge area after check out whilst we waited for our late night sleeper train to Agra.

Their assistance could not be faulted, and their restaurant staff were amazing, preparing food on request!

Highly recommended and at one third of the price of the 'palace hotels' wins hands down.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very very beautiful designed boutique hotel with roofterrace.
Excellent staff, clean rooms, great shower and a perfect bed......................................location is just superbe citycentre Udiapur
Food, breakfast and dinner are great, good atmosphere, laidback.
And WiFi :-)

Love it a lot

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#11 of 175 in Udaipur
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amantra Comfort Hotel
Amantra Comfort Hotel
#5 of 175 in Udaipur
972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Udaipur
1,419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amantra Shilpi Resort
Amantra Shilpi Resort
#4 of 175 in Udaipur
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $61 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing