We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madri Haveli
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
371
135
33
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
135
33
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantbig suiteold citycoloured glass windowsdeluxe roomhot waterlounge areacity palacegreat showerhaveli stylelovely hotelwalking distancenon acentire citynarrow lanesgreat rooftopno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 556 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my family. In total, a very good stay and would recommend others.

Positives:
- courteous and very helpful staff including management
- rooms were spacious
- magnificent view from roof top
- good restaurant service
- centrally located in hustle and bustle of the town within walking distance of main tourist sites

Suggestions for improvement:
- complimentary water bottles (atleast 1 per person per day) in each room will be appreciated
- tea/coffee making facilities in each room will be great addition
- the sewage shafts (in one of our room) stunk heavily sometime - something need to be sorted.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Excaliburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful 5 night stay at madri. All staff were delightful and eager to please. Rooms were sparse but comfortable, and the rooftop restaurant had an amazing view over the city and lake (including lake palace). Food was great value and tasty. And in house massage service is worth a try. It's not 5 star, but it's great value, fabulous location, and an all round excellent experience. Hope to go back again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

4 days in Udaipur was our first stop and stepping into our room at the Madri, bejewled refractions from the stained-glass window dancing across a clean spacious bed, my wife and I high-fived --we had chosen wisely and knew we were starting on the right foot. Madri is a perfect example of balanced renovation: quality modern accouterments blended into the original 300 year old stone and wood structure, so you feel the history without feeling the age -- nothing is crumbling or in disrepair. Yes, unlike the Sheraton there are no elevators, as the only "1 star" reviewer pointed out, but why would there be? -- the Madri is made for a different set of discerning and appreciative crowd. There is the Taj hotel isolated in the heart of the lake, or the Mardi Haveli blended into the heart of the old city, depends your reason for coming to Udaipur.

This boutique screams labor of love, this was someone's personal and passionate project. Our room was large, as was the bathroom (which had a great rain shower head and hot water with 5- 10 min notice to front desk). The decor is chic and minimalistic so it doesn't over power the architecture. But, my wife notes, a closet or chest of drawers would be a good addition. For me, the only issue was the wifi signal which struggled to penetrate the stone walls.

The staff is kind and helpful. Keep an eye out for the "artist in residence" Rajesh whose work adorns some of the walls and is featured in several of the coffee table books. Photographer, sketcher, jeweler, Rajesh is a great guy to know for some true cultural insight into the city he loves so much.

Breakfast on the rooftop was great --many choices Indian or Western. Try the upma. Nice view of the lake, Aravali hills and old city. We did not have dinner there but we heard very good things.

Finally, the location: perfect. Live on the old city side and dine on the opposite side facing the city palace when views are best as the evening sun hits the walls. From Madri, everything of major tourist interest is 5-10 min away. Even better, the backstreets are a simple left turn and then an alley or two away, taking you far far away from tourists, motor cycles and noise. It is amazing how quiet it becomes when you enter the labyrinth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a fantastic hotel to stay at in Udaipur.
Excellent service, excellent rooms, great location, and the best value for money around.
I would highly recommend this Haveli to anyone.
Give this hotel a go, you will not regret it. Infact you will be thankful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digiroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Location just perfect, service just perfect, rooms are amazing, new decorative small hotel. Roof amazing for breakfast.
Very good velue for money; if not gooing to taj lack palace then this is the best

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzahilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews