We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Madri Haveli is the best hotel experience I had during my trip to India.
The building has been beautifully renovated, combining functional modern decoration with fascinating ancient items. The atmosphere in the deluxe room and in the court is magic.
My room was facing the street so it was a bit noisy, but that was really the only downside.
A note in the room advises you that hot water is available only at a certain times of the day, but it never lacked when I was there in March.
The staff at the reception will always welcome and assist you with a smile on their faces, which I noticed is not always the case elsewhere.
Breakfast on the terrace was a nice start for the day. If you are not given the menu straight away, I suggest to ask for it, because more food is available than what the waiters might tell you.
I highly recommend Madri Haveli for your visit to Udaipur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_D_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    118
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
74
219
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

When we where looking for hotels in Udaipur, we did not expect to find such a a nice place. It was like a pearl amidst the other places. Madri Haveli was recently renovated - and there is put so much love for details in it that you see that the owner just loves this place and has the eye for it.
But it is not only the exterior and the interior which is just beautiful - is is also the staff - super friendlly, super kind looking to make your stay to an unforgettable experience.We stayed in a superior room for the first two nights and then we moved to the suite. The superior room was nice already, the bathrooms very modern, but still everything being in harmony with the Havely style - but the Suite...just incredible - the colored glass stones created a romantic atmosphere, the light was so amazing.....still dreaming......
Breakfast on the roof top was so nice, my requested fruit salad was starting to be loved by all the guests - the staff was very flexible to my specific food needs due to a gluten intolerance. And the afternoons - the sun set on the roof top with a fresh juice....lake view.....Always nice to remember....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful heritage property with the most spectacular view from the rooftop restaurant. Rooms are simple, yet elegant and charming.The food at the rooftop restautant is delicious with great local flavor. The best place in Udaipur to watch the sunset.Great service - very helpful and friendly staff. Centrally located with just five minutes walk from the lake. We stayed there for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. Highly recommended. Definitely going back to Madri Haveli for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and have been done up beatifully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place has just been beautifully redone. It has a lot of character, materials are very qualitative & it's very clean. Staff was lovely, and we had very good lunch & dinner in the rooftop terrasse. Having dinner there is a good option for a second night, as it's very calm, food is great, and it has a real peace feeling (which is not so frequent in India, especially at the heart of a city).
It was really outstanding value for money, probably the best ratio that we had in India, as we paid little money for a refined place, an immaculate bathroom & a very comfy bedroom.

Few downsides: we were there at the beginning of May, when the weather is very hot. I believe an hotel with a swimming pool is a better option (or at least a terrasse with a refreshing space, plants & humidifier.. apparently this is planned together with a swimming pool in the rooftop). We did not have wi-fi in our bedroom & there was from time to time some unpleasant smell coming from the bathrom (nothing too bad tough).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Only good things to say about this place. The location is five minutes walk from the waterfront, the restaurant upstairs has fantastic views over the lake and old city. To top it all off the service was superb - particuarly from Vijay, the restaurant manager upstairs who personally walked us down the road to get some clothes fixed.

Only comments are that internet in the rooms was limited due to stone walls, and that you had to get them to turn on the hot water if you wanted a shower at certain times - though this was done immediately on the call.

Great stay at an amazing haveli. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Udaipur on any future trips. Make sure that you go to the very top floor of the restaurant to the best views.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the first and second floor face into other peoples homes across a courtyard - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is beautiful and I thank my husband for finding it. You can clearly see the detail, love and effort it has taken to make this place so lovely. The rooms all have lovely details and colours, big wooden doors and modern fixtures so elegantly matched. Tradtional with a minimalist modern touch.

I agree with others, it's not ready to take on a full house. I think we are only maybe 1 of 3 other guests there. I joked that they should have upgraded us considering that there were only a few guests, this would have been great PR for them!

Things that can be improved are all around service of the hotel. The TV, to be honest I would have been ok not to have it, but it was there and didn't work and when I asked if would they said no. The hot water times were changed and the information about that was not accurate, they had not updated the winter times to the summer times in our room cards and also the cards said the water went on at 6 (i think), but that was when they turned it on so would take another half hour. In the end we showered with cold water, which was actually very refreshing.

Having traveled my clothes needed ironing and they didn't have an iron, please buy at least one iron and board for the hotel! They would have taken them to a guy, but I couldn't wait that long!

On the other side, the roof top restaurant was perfect. The dinner menu was extensive and the staff were excellent. They went out of there way to make you feel comfortable. Breakfast was fine, It would have been nice to have an Indian option too! The roof top also has great views of a much broader Udaipur.

It's disadvantage is it is not by the ghat, but with a few service improvements that would not matter. I say wait 3/6 months before you go, just so they can sort themselves out a bit.
There is a lot of competition in Udaipur and some amazing places to stay. But check it out, it is really beautiful and worth going for a drink or dinner for a different view of the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are well designed, some do not have back windows so just check that and the lake view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaspalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hotel has a typical haveli look - more than some of the other spots - and I loved the rooms. it is extremely clean.
The staff is friendly and their response was always prompt.
There were minor problems with the TV and hot water - but were promptly addressed with a lot of smiles - wont take away any stars for that.

Food here is great too - at the restaurant on the terrace - with a very good view of the lake on one side and the city on other.
Location of the hotel is perfect with all major attractions and markets walking distance.

It was a great trip and a good place like madri haveli contributed a lot towards it.

Will refer this gladly to anyone visiting udaipur.

Elder people need to note - there is no provision of an elevator.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParagK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Property: Madri Haveli
Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing