We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enthralling!!”

City Palace of Udaipur
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Private Tour: City Palace and Jagdish Temple in Udaipur
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Private Jaipur City Highlights Tour with a visit to The Amber Fort and The City...
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Private Udaipur City Tour Including Monsoon Palace
Ranked #2 of 100 things to do in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“enthralling!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Majestic palace. Hiring a guide is advisable as they tell a tale with lot of humor. must go. There is also light n sound show in the palace in the evenings. An experience

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank monicaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,286
    2,263
    706
    193
    76
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur IL (USA)
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consider the audio guide”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited today with a guide, and felt like we were really rushing through everything. I like to take photos, so didn't pay much attention to what the guide was saying anyway.

There are audio tours available, but I'm not sure of the cost. Stations are well marked and our guide certainly followed the exact same route. With the self audio tour you can go at your own pace.

It was interesting - nice architecture and reasonably clean unlike other places we've been this trip in India.

Entrance fee was 100 rupees each with a 200 rupee fee for a still camera (video cameras may have a higher fee.

Helpful?
2 Thank NorskeDecaturIL_USA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A grand tour in Indian History”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The city palace of Udaipur build in the mid 1500's by Maharaja Uadai Singh is definately a must visit spot at Udaipur. Though the appraoch road might not exude pomp and grand the entrance to the the palace itself is grand. The palace comprises of various wings that were later on added over the years by its various inhabitants. A part of the palace also plays host for a number of marraiges, rest assured the place itself exudes a royal aura.

The view of Lake pichola is simply a must watch. Ideally a guide can add a lot of value however if you are there for the feel and not much into details guides are not required. Its a wonderful blend of the not so modern and the modern. There is a restuarant in the premises (and yes it serves liquor as well) and there are audio guides avaialabe- devices containing audio feeds about various points in the palace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TuhinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and rich in stories from past!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

City palace is one amazingly beautiful place. Its grandeur can be seen from its entry gate itself! :) But visiting this palace will be fun only if you hire a guide to explain all the wonderful stories related to various things and areas in palace. It definitely deserves a visit on a trip to Udaipur.

Helpful?
Thank NikhitaGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding season!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We didn't realize we'd booked in the busiest wedding season but really enjoyed seeing the various brides and grooms in addition to the wonderful Palace, lake and old city. People were very friendly, super helpful when we were lost and it was the cleanest city we visited in India.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Drea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Palace of Udaipur also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to City Palace of Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing