We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit and miss.”
Review of Shilpgram

Shilpgram
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit and miss.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've been staying in Udaipur for a few months now and have been to Shilpgram a couple of times - every time I go, it's more or less deserted of artists (except at the festival, I'll get there in a bit). I know plenty of other people who've been and come back laden down with stuff, but for some reason nobody wants to sell me anything! What is there is lovely, but there's not much choice. I guess it just depends on how many artisans are there on any given day.

The festival, on the other hand, was phenomenal. Hundreds and hundreds of stalls from all over the country, more food than even I can eat and incredible performances in the evening. Definitely check this out if your in Udaipur in December 2014!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linguaphile_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    173
    89
    38
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Epcot Center of India”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Florida's Epcot Center is great for those who don't have the chance to travel outside the US. It could be said that this place might be good for those who don't have a chance to travel around India....and maybe that is true. However, we found this to be a tourist trap that gave only artificial insights into the regions of India...and most of the handicrafts here can be found throughout Udaipur. This was a total waste of time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sftravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I like this place as it was a collection of whole india. You can see the different tradition/culture of India. It is so beautifully organized by Indian govt. There is lot of things which you can purchase.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vikasvimal0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
193 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting - For Handicrafts”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

lucky to be part of a 10 day extensive Mela - managed getting great bargains in products depicting the cultural heritage of rajasthan.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Manas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went on 26th Dec, there was a fair going on there from 22-31 dec, so besides the stalls of different states , there was a cultural show of different dances from different states of India.Excellent show, much better than Bagore ki Haveli show. The food stalls are also good as u get variety of food of different states. I do not know if this was due to the fair or it is there throughout the year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAttMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shilpgram also viewed

Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 
Udaipur, Udaipur District
Udaipur, Udaipur District
 

Been to Shilpgram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing