We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ahh Udaipur” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ahh Udaipur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a lovely city. The Hotel was a very nice place to stay. My room was small, but for one person just fine. My friends in 'doubles' had much bigger rooms. The garden is an oasis in a busy city. The rooms had nice touches - flowers in the room, coffee/tea maker, cookies, mini-bar, free wifi! The bathroom was fine, though the tub for the shower was a bit high to easily climb in and out of (for old people anyway). It had a hair dryer, magnifying mirror, toothbrush/paste, as well as usual soap/shampoo gels. Now the rooftop restaurant - the views were spectacular. The service in the enclosed part was very slow. Took us an hour to get our food. If you are there when Tour groups are there, they take over the outside eating area, so if you want to eat there, reserve a table way in advance, just in case. Breakfast is good but got off to a late start, 7:15 am, and the egg chef didn't start til 7:30 am.

Room Tip: The rooms right under the rooftop restaurant are noisy - can hear people walking.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for staying at Udai Kothi and giving us your valuable feedback. Apologizes for the delay at the restaurant, shall certainly look into the matter.
I assure you on the next visit we shall certainly meet up to your expectations.

Looking forward on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Neelam Khandale
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    362
    130
    61
    69
See reviews for
225
438
44
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Guest welcoming was nice. Room and espcialy the bathroom were impressive. Dinners at the terrace were above-average. so me and my friedns, we loved Udai Kothi. if i go to Udaipur once more, i can stay Udai Kothi again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elcingurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable time in sending us the feedback. It was our pleasure to have lovely guest like you visit our property.

We are glad we could meet your expectations.

Looking forward on your next visit .

Warm Regards,

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you want to have fun on the lake side, wanna experience the royal feeling of Prince- Princess & enjoy the comforts of a hotel at

the same time then Udai Kothi,Udaipur is the best place to stay.
I must say that the entrance to the property is one-of-a-kind!The Royal Palace look,extended interior & huge beautiful painting in

reception area with glooming lanterns and lamps.The small tumblers filled with Marigold flowers & lighted beautiful U-shaped candles

are well placed in and around the Hotel. Oh my god! What a wonderful way to welcome its guests? You are quickly welcomed by the front

desk personnel with a welcome drink & a marigold mala as you check in.
The hotel has a very lush green foliage & the front street takes you to the Lake side restaurent! What more can one want? Most of the

rooms overlook the lush mini garden at the centre of the property. The rooms from inside are well built and are spacious enough for a

comfortable stay with separate dinning space.The Bathrooms are clean & well maintained.The maintenance staff serves with Smile &

warmth of Udaipur's tradition.
The swimming pool on the 3 floor roof top is a great place to hang out & make new friends because of the extended "Dining Area" which

is an open terrace restaurent – yeah you heard it right! The multi-cuisine restaurant is located on the third floor just above the

rooms. It has a very warm decor inside & also serves its guests in the open air. I preferred the open air option because it gave a

very good bird's eye view of the Udaipur with the view extending to "Pichola Lake". The unique thing i liked about this hotel was

"Museum"- yes you read it correct, the hotel is a museum in itself. Pictures of Maharaja Udai singh & his family, Posters and Painting

extended on the walls of Staircases gives u a feeling of Museum also.
The stay in Udai Kothi,Udaipur was full of fun, joy for me & it will be fun for any other traveller as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the central block gives u the look for central mini garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiranHeena25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you very much for your valuable time in sending us the feedback. It was our pleasure to have lovely guest like you visit our property.

We are glad we could meet your expectations.

Looking forward on your next visit .

Warm Regards,

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was our wedding anniversary and this was a trip planned just at the last moment. From the time we landed up on the reception till I left the premises highly disappointed, we were treated with blank,cold,hostile and ' we care a damn' kind of faces and gestures.. So here's a detailed account :

We booked a Room through Hotels.com which as per description, was supposed to have a King-size bed + single bed + LCD TV & DVD Player. On arrival, we were guided to a dinghy room (room no 103) which had two single beds (Forget King-size) and a TV of 1970's (older than me). After calling up the receptionist at least 4 times asking him to change the room and provide us a room with a double bed, a stern verdict finally came by and it was that we were asking for moon and Udai Kothi wont do the honours ! Fair enough. Isn't it ?
Disappointed, me and my partner walked up to the reception to argue our case and a "tooth and nail" fight with their GM - Ms Neelam ensued for good about 15-20 minutes !!! Anyway, my persistence finally paid and she conceded to offer me a free upgrade to a suite. As a gesture,she also sent two pieces of cake & tart for us in our room to make up for all the misdemeanor and inconvenience. But I must say it was all done like a big favour is being done on us whereas it actually was a result of 20 minutes pitched battle and at the culmination of ~ 1.5 hours of harassment !! Lolz .. :D

This so called suite given to us (no. 4) had no ventilation, forget sit out - not even chairs to sit and filthy upholstery and stench in the bathroom. The bed was a 6'x5' queens bed with dirty linens hanging around its frame. But I decided not to raise this observation with them as I did not want anymore arguments/brawls.

This was not the end, we went upstairs to the rooftop restaurant ,booked a place for two and told the restaurant manager that we would come at 8 pm. I even told him that if I have to pay a premium for reserving a place, I am willing to do that. When we reached there sharp at 8 pm, we found the place was already occupied by another couple ! He then started making up stories and trying to offer us a different place on the sides of a table which was occupied by a group !!! Ridiculous is an understatement.. We had to just leave the restaurant and go out looking for alternate dining options as that was the only choice.

Even this is not the end !! There are some more issues I faced during my short stay of <24h and "IF AT ALL" the hotel owners care to know them and resolve them, they are welcome to call me on my mobile.. but I assume you don't care.. :D

Udai Kothi - I am seldom in the blaming mode but let me say it today- You did all that you could to spoil my anniversary. I did have a great time that evening but that was by exercising my own ingenuity .. As far as you are concerned, well ... Never again !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARVIND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for the feedback and apologize as we were unable to meet up to your expectations, however i would like to bring it to your notice, you'll were booked for a deluxe room and we did give an upgrade to a suite room. The Deluxe room allocated initially is a very good room as there is a large window which opens towards the garden overlooking the Buddha statue and our little pond. It is not a dingy room. Also the suite room are the best rooms in our hotel, We have in house laundry and all our linen is maintained well taken care.
Our staff is very friendly and warm, we take pride to serve all our guest.

Request you to give us an opportunity to so that we can meet your expectations on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a week in other parts of Rajasthan staying in opulent, smart, almost sterile hotels, I arrived here. Whow !!! First impression quirky, different and brilliant. Lovely roof top pool, restaurant, bar, views and location with views of Lake Pichola. Wonderful stay, food and the staff were very friendly and helpful as is usual with the Indian charm that I have become accustomed too. Brilliant!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominiquegale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope we met your expectations and shall continue the same in future.

Looking forward on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited Udaipur for our second year anniversary and stayed in udaipur kothi for a night. It's a nice looking hotel with an amazing rooftop. The rooms are nice. I thought the linen design for the bed was a lil garrish. But apart from that the room was quite nice. The staff seemed a little lost.mthe rooftop has a nice pagoda kinda thing for dinner. We didn't get a spot there so reserve in advance if you are couple looking for a romantic dinner. Chekin.in gave us a great rate and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for the valuable feedback. It was our pleasure. Hope we met your expectations on your this visit. On your next visit we shall certainly reserve the canopy at roof top terrace.

Looking forward on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a driver who kept pestering us to change our booking to another hotel, I am so glad we didn't take his advice. What a charming hotel.

One drives through narrow streets, with so much character to the hotel. We arrived on the eve of diwali to a wonderful welcome. The hotel is beautifully decorated keeping to the region. the hotel has so much character compared to other 5 star establishments. The views from the roof top is stunning. The staff were very polite, obliging and always service with a smile. I fell ill during my stay and the manageress was so kind and checking up on me, even sent me muffins to pep me up. I am surprised that it's not in the top ten rating for hotels in udaipur. A very memorable stay.

My camera was ready always to click pictures of the interesting streets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasmine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for your valuable time and positive feedback. It was lovely to have you'll choose Udai Kothi. We are glad your stay was comfortable and wonderful with us. Hope we met your expectations and shall continue the same in future.

We appreciate for choosing Udai Kothi.

Looking forward on your next visit.


Warm Regards

Neelam Khandale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#19 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#34 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing