We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel by the lakeside”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel by the lakeside”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a two night stay in the hotel, rooms and the hotel were well decked up in the rajasthani palace style. Swimming pool was excellent in cleanliness and maintenance and at roof top it offers a good city and lake view too. Food was good n fresh, staff was polite and helpful but we had to go through narrow lanes to reach this hotel,though the hotel has parking space. The only let off or the negative experience was the presence of cockroaches in the wardrobe and almirah housing the refrigerator. The hotel should have paid more attention to proper insect and pest control . I did point it out while checking out but their response was a bit casual.

Room Tip: Choose the garden view room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    378
    135
    61
    71
See reviews for
238
457
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here in March having been moved from a terrible hotel down the road. They did not have any room for our first night due to a big wedding in the area so all rooms were reserved.

The entrance drive is not fantastic as there is rather a smelly water run off which runs down the road and under the cattle grid but once you walk over here it get so much better. It is a lovely looking hotel and quite imposing. The entrance hall is nicely decorated in the Indian style. We were shown some very nice rooms on viewing but when we arrived were taken through the lovely gardens to rooms 1 and 2 which were suites, WOW!!! They were lovely. All marble and super comfortable. What a result from the night before. All the staff were lovely and very helpful having heard of our ordeal the night before staying at the Karohi Haveli.

We had late lunch the first day by the lovely swimming pool which has sun loungers and sitting round it. Breakfast was very good and we had our second lunch in the same restaurant and were really looked after. We didn't eat dinner here as we were taken out by the company to compensate for a couple of errors made when booking this leg of our holiday. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can reserve 1 or 2. One of them is inside the brochure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a great place, even if it is a bit hard to find along narrow alleys just wide enough for a car. However, it is worth it with great rooms, working wifi, a rooftop pool and restaurant but near the sights only 100 metres from the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

You get the feeling you are staying in a white palace, it's in a narrow road nearby the lake with bowls of floating flowers and candles to invoke your senses. Easy walk across the bridge to the town centre, shops and temples. I had a spacious corner room overlooking the garden with a seated, cushioned area in the bay window with a low table where you could lounge and relax. There is a wonderful jewellery store in the hotel with good prices. We walked around the corner to the Ambrai restaurant, which is on the edge of the lake under big trees overlooking the palace, at night it is magical with everything lit up and the food was excellent. Lovely views of Udaipur and the lake from the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found Udaipur so relaxing - Udai Kothi has a beautiful rooftop pool (only 5 sun loungers so don't expect one!) On booking the hotel, at the same time we booked the 45min boat trip round the lake - well worth it especially at sunset
Nice room with turret (extra seating area), but more of a basic bathroom - not a powerful shower head which we'd been used to! Watched the James Bond classic which was filmed there called Octopu**y (filmed in Udaipur) one night overlooking the lake. Building works were starting (not noisy for us) - they are building a new block to increase the number of room and to add another rooftop pool. Breakfast is included - beautiful view on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the mirrored mosaics at the huge entrance door, to the reception area with the bright pink chairs and the amazing memorabilia on every wall and surface, this place makes you go 'Wow!'
Step out into the pretty little garden or ride the box like lift to the top floor where you can swim, dine and enjoy views of the beautiful hills, old city and water ways of Udaipur. It is situated a five minute walk from the Palace and the waterside restaurants. We loved it.
Because it was the end of season we were upgraded to the top suite, an amazing concoction of impractical luxury - a plunge pool in the bedroom! Another spa pool on the top terrace higher than surrounding buildings and overlooking the lake, the old town and the mountains. We had our own private dining room and ate from the hotel's menu on our terrace.
Having said that, you could not live here - there was no storage and not many places to put things. But for a couple of nights it was an amazing journey into fantasy land. Fantasic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at many hotels in India but this was the most lovely. Our room was fantastic we had a marble bath. Even the door to get into our room was full of character and a unique design. It is a very narrow road leading to the hotel, I would not like to drive up it. There is a roof top swimming pool and restaurant. We went as a family with our teenage daughter. There are many examples of tiles with mirrors as decorations on the walls of the hotel which are very pretty.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was large for a family. It was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xcrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,287 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 161 in Udaipur
476 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing