We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic and mystical” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“romantic and mystical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

You get the feeling you are staying in a white palace, it's in a narrow road nearby the lake with bowls of floating flowers and candles to invoke your senses. Easy walk across the bridge to the town centre, shops and temples. I had a spacious corner room overlooking the garden with a seated, cushioned area in the bay window with a low table where you could lounge and relax. There is a wonderful jewellery store in the hotel with good prices. We walked around the corner to the Ambrai restaurant, which is on the edge of the lake under big trees overlooking the palace, at night it is magical with everything lit up and the food was excellent. Lovely views of Udaipur and the lake from the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    359
    129
    59
    69
See reviews for
225
436
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We found Udaipur so relaxing - Udai Kothi has a beautiful rooftop pool (only 5 sun loungers so don't expect one!) On booking the hotel, at the same time we booked the 45min boat trip round the lake - well worth it especially at sunset
Nice room with turret (extra seating area), but more of a basic bathroom - not a powerful shower head which we'd been used to! Watched the James Bond classic which was filmed there called Octopu**y (filmed in Udaipur) one night overlooking the lake. Building works were starting (not noisy for us) - they are building a new block to increase the number of room and to add another rooftop pool. Breakfast is included - beautiful view on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the mirrored mosaics at the huge entrance door, to the reception area with the bright pink chairs and the amazing memorabilia on every wall and surface, this place makes you go 'Wow!'
Step out into the pretty little garden or ride the box like lift to the top floor where you can swim, dine and enjoy views of the beautiful hills, old city and water ways of Udaipur. It is situated a five minute walk from the Palace and the waterside restaurants. We loved it.
Because it was the end of season we were upgraded to the top suite, an amazing concoction of impractical luxury - a plunge pool in the bedroom! Another spa pool on the top terrace higher than surrounding buildings and overlooking the lake, the old town and the mountains. We had our own private dining room and ate from the hotel's menu on our terrace.
Having said that, you could not live here - there was no storage and not many places to put things. But for a couple of nights it was an amazing journey into fantasy land. Fantasic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at many hotels in India but this was the most lovely. Our room was fantastic we had a marble bath. Even the door to get into our room was full of character and a unique design. It is a very narrow road leading to the hotel, I would not like to drive up it. There is a roof top swimming pool and restaurant. We went as a family with our teenage daughter. There are many examples of tiles with mirrors as decorations on the walls of the hotel which are very pretty.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was large for a family. It was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xcrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
99 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was one of my favorite hotels likely because I loved loved loved Udaipur the most (although my foot was run over by a truck). The hotel is a bit off the main street which is great and means its quiet and there are less cars to run you over. I had room #10 (I think) the first two nights. It was so so. Bathroom smelled but it was a very unique layout with the mattress on the floor. I don't think it is a great room because they called me and offered to put me in another room partly through my stay and the room they moved me to was amazing. It was in the wing of the building (I'm guessing newer) versus #10 being in the main building. In any event I liked the hotel very much. The roof top is amazing. Breakfast ok but the breakfast room a tad crowded sometimes. Who cares though about that....it was a great hotel and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for the separate single floor wing of the hotel versus the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This palace hotel is stunning outside and in, I loved the pictures and memorabilia of the maharajas family displayed in the hallways. We were met in the reception area with a drink and garland, showed to a lovely room on the 3rd floor. Beautifully decorated, it held a 4 poster bed, and seating area with cushions on the floor, the room was air conditioned and comfortable. The rooftop pool is cool, refreshing and very clean considering the number of pigeons that come to drink from it, the surrounding seating area is lovely and relaxing. The Indian food in the restaurant was very good although we found both the outdoor restaurant and the breakfast room much too crowded. There is not enough room in either place for adequate seating. The location of the hotel is excellent, the little alley ways around the hotel are great for exploring and shopping. It is only minutes from the palace gates once you know how to get there. Enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent two nights at Udai Kothi beginning of April and wished we could have stayed another day. We had a lovely room on the ground floor overlooking the garden, beautifully decorated in traditional style with an amazingly huge bathroom - the marble bath was certainly not for one person!! good shower too. It was very hot during our visit and the pool was a great place to cool off and relax. Our evening meal in the restaurant was authentic Indian food which we enjoyed. The hotel is well located for walking and exploring in the little lanes, with shops and other eateries nearby. As a matter of interest, we did a cooking course at Shashi's across the river and it was certainly a highlight of our trip - traditional food and a scrumptious meal to enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muggins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing