We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #21 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at many hotels in India but this was the most lovely. Our room was fantastic we had a marble bath. Even the door to get into our room was full of character and a unique design. It is a very narrow road leading to the hotel, I would not like to drive up it. There is a roof top swimming pool and restaurant. We went as a family with our teenage daughter. There are many examples of tiles with mirrors as decorations on the walls of the hotel which are very pretty.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was large for a family. It was on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was one of my favorite hotels likely because I loved loved loved Udaipur the most (although my foot was run over by a truck). The hotel is a bit off the main street which is great and means its quiet and there are less cars to run you over. I had room #10 (I think) the first two nights. It was so so. Bathroom smelled but it was a very unique layout with the mattress on the floor. I don't think it is a great room because they called me and offered to put me in another room partly through my stay and the room they moved me to was amazing. It was in the wing of the building (I'm guessing newer) versus #10 being in the main building. In any event I liked the hotel very much. The roof top is amazing. Breakfast ok but the breakfast room a tad crowded sometimes. Who cares though about that....it was a great hotel and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Go for the separate single floor wing of the hotel versus the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanilaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This palace hotel is stunning outside and in, I loved the pictures and memorabilia of the maharajas family displayed in the hallways. We were met in the reception area with a drink and garland, showed to a lovely room on the 3rd floor. Beautifully decorated, it held a 4 poster bed, and seating area with cushions on the floor, the room was air conditioned and comfortable. The rooftop pool is cool, refreshing and very clean considering the number of pigeons that come to drink from it, the surrounding seating area is lovely and relaxing. The Indian food in the restaurant was very good although we found both the outdoor restaurant and the breakfast room much too crowded. There is not enough room in either place for adequate seating. The location of the hotel is excellent, the little alley ways around the hotel are great for exploring and shopping. It is only minutes from the palace gates once you know how to get there. Enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent two nights at Udai Kothi beginning of April and wished we could have stayed another day. We had a lovely room on the ground floor overlooking the garden, beautifully decorated in traditional style with an amazingly huge bathroom - the marble bath was certainly not for one person!! good shower too. It was very hot during our visit and the pool was a great place to cool off and relax. Our evening meal in the restaurant was authentic Indian food which we enjoyed. The hotel is well located for walking and exploring in the little lanes, with shops and other eateries nearby. As a matter of interest, we did a cooking course at Shashi's across the river and it was certainly a highlight of our trip - traditional food and a scrumptious meal to enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muggins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and i stayed here for one night in March and it was an amazing experience! we stayed in one of the garden suites which was the most magnificent place i have ever seen! the rooms were so impressive, the staff were super nice and the pool and restaurant area... i do not even know what to say! it was spectacular! i have never seen such a beautiful, relaxing pool area! the food was great and i could not fault anything about this place! the location is great and the view just stunning! such a lovely walk through the windy streets to the town area with lots of shopping and extremely friendly, amazing people! i would like to thank everybody at this amazing establishment for giving us the best experience!!

Room Tip: Garden suites! you will never want to leave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckeanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I visited Udaipur during the Mewar Festival with four of my friends, after checking out a few hotels we stumbled upon Udai Kothi. I must say it is one of the best hotels that will fit into your budget. Great service, lovely view and a swimming pool to die for. Though the hotel is compact yet it caterers to every need of its guests. Food is decent. Standard rooms are good. Hotel staff is cooperative.

If you are going with a group of friends, make sure you spend some time on the terrace at night. A great location for an evening dinner if you are travelling with your loved one.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are comfortable, before you go for a deluxe room do check out the standard rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumandoogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel was just the best in Udaipur!! We were greeted with a nice cooling drink and a garland.

Julie and I met the lovely and enchanting lady owner. We felt very privileged to have the use of the Udai Suite, with it's own jacuzzi, indoor pool, and beautiful rooftop.

The restaurant food and service was unsurpassed. This would have to be the best location for a restaurant in Udaipur; overlooking the beautiful lake.

Udai Kothi is remarkable for it's tranquility and magnificence. Excellent amenities, exceptional service and all beautifully presented.

Thank you for making our holiday memorable.

Alan and Julie

Australia

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelor888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
2,318 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#32 of 165 in Udaipur
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $127 - $934 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing