We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #24 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'd read really bad reviews about this hotel and was preparing myself for the worst but, as it turned out, it was an absolutely gorgeous place to stay in Udaipur. Sure, it's not the most up-market hotel but it's well located on a fabulous street - Hanuman Ghat on Pichola Lake - with stunning city and lake views from the rooftop. It's exotic in its fabulously Udaipur-style architecture, facilities and it's interior decor. The open rooftop is like a fantasy playground that is stunning by day and magically transforms at night under a trillion stars. There's a large and beautiful pool which has sunken alcoves as well as an outdoor restaurant, bar and exotic domed seating areas. There seems to be variability with rooms. My room was large, spacious with beautiful bay windows and a great bathroom. Some days, it wasn't made up until fairly late in the day but this was the only slip. Breakfast was good and featured delicious authentic local cuisine as well as western fare. The staff were wonderful and went out of their way to make our three-night stay with our large group of 35, memorable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odysseyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    371
    132
    61
    71
See reviews for
232
448
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After traveling 14 days in Rajasthan from Delhi to finish up in this lovely Hotel (seems like 5*) in Udaipur for only 2 nights before going home. Service so friendly: the doorman coming with sun umbrella when arriving home on TukTuk. Nice large rooms, beautiful pool, nice breakfast. Too bad we could not stay longer this time. I am going to put this hotel on my stopover from Europe back to Australia. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clasina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved the building although we got off to a bed start when shown to a room upstairs in the new block. The wardrobe had no hanging space, was unstable on the floor threatening to fall forwards on top of us with the door open and the inside door lock was coming off the frame. We were relocated to a darker room on the ground floor. The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional Indian style with every facility. The beds are hard but comfortable.
There is some information in the rooms but non of practical value like meal times or room service number.
We also loved the roof top restaurant (except the pigeons!) with it's lovely candlelight tables overlooking the town and lake. The food was excellent. Breakfast was very good except for being served in too small a room which made it very awkward.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
No computer for those without devices but lots of internet shops close by.
We stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Upper floor for light. Ground floor in new block if stairs a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. It is visually beautiful from both the outside and the inside, decorated very tastefully with Indian sculptures, antique photos, sumptuous textiles and pots of fresh marigolds everywhere. You could spend hours just walking the lobby, halls and gardens taking in the décor and discovering little treasures. I found my single deluxe room to be simple but very comfortable and clean. The rooftop restaurant has an amazing view of the palace and the lake and is romantically lit up at night with candles. This ambiance is only heightened with the live sitar and tabla musicians who play while you dine. I found the food to be delicious and the service, especially in the restaurant, to be excellent.

Udaipur is one of the prettiest cities in India, and this hotel is the perfect place to stay to feel like you are on top of and in the center of it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaWatDeeKah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is based on a three night stay we booked for January 2013. We only stayed for two of the nights as the noise and lack of comfort of the room in the evenings made the stay less than the treat we were expecting. We had been very much looking forward to the stay in the suite which has its own roof terrace with stunning views over the lake, a jaccuzi and plentiful seating. The day times were idyllic, sitting outside with the views and having so much space to ourselves. The evenings and night times were less idyllic.

As we were staying in January, once the sun went down, it was too cold to sit out comfortably, however there was nowhere to be comfortable inside the suite. Most of the suite inside is taken up with a tiny, freezing plunge pool that we had to have the pump turned off from in order to sleep. The room is right next to the lift shaft which was very noisy. Adding to the noise was the kitchen / restaurant phone right outside and the washing up area by the restaurant. It was not relaxing in the evenings, and the noise continued into the night.

We ate in the restaurant several times. The food was not good - particularly the western options. There are much better options nearby.

We loved the location and found it easy to walk around from the hotel as it was near all the main sites, but I could never recommend the hotel. The service was poor. Reception were uninterested, and the service in the restaurant was extremely slow. When we checked out a day early, no one asked us why, and by that time we were just glad to get out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenbarnesOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had booked our stay at “Hotel Udai Kothi” near Hanuman ghat in mid march 2013 fro a 4 days holiday. We believe a central destination for a hotel is convenient in a small city and Udai Kothi was well situated. Dont mind the small lanes that lead you to the hotel, they are worth exploring.

We also got some great discount as we had done an online booking for our stay. We practically did our bookings a few hrs before and we were satisfied with our stay here. This place had a old world charm in décor but the taste was well balanced with modern facilities. We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe suite in their new wing. The new wing has no elevators currently as the wing is under construction. But this did not hamper our stay.

The room decor has beautiful block printed upholstery and amazing antique furniture. A real maharaja feeling with big pillows and spacious rooms. The room is well equipped with all facilities and large bathrooms. Every room had a colour theme and ours was fresh green and white. A clean and spacious courtyard for an evening tea with garden furniture and colourful flowers was a perfect setting to relax after a long walk around town. There are small fountains that are also beautifully decorated in the garden and makes your walk to the room more mesmerizing with birds chirping around them.

The restaurant on the rooftop has a good view in the night. The breakfast platter though limited serves very good fruits and sausages. The Indian breakfast is also good -poha and upma. Expect a candle light Dinner, the food was very good with a wide variety of non-veg and veg gravies to taste from and a good range of rotis / parathas. The swimming pool area on the roof top is also enjoyable for the evening or an early morning dip.

Some other facilities are free wi-fi, a massage centre, a souvenir shop. The front desk staff is not very well versed with many languages and we didnt find him too accommodating at times. Travel desk was helpful. The convenient place of the hotel slightly away from the hussle bustle of the street life also convenient for a rickshaw stand incase required. Overall a good stay to be on your own.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paymach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Beautiful Maharadjah-style hotel with interesting architecture, very helpful staff (not at reception though), beautiful gardens, swimming pool and restaurant on roof of hotel with beautiful view on the lake. Suites are spacious & decorated with taste and are locted in the new building. However, no elevators and very unhandy locker system to close the doors. Very noisy at night as well. Deluxe rooms (not deluxe at all) are located in the older building, much more old fashioned furniture and very noisy. Smelly water in the bathroom, but clean and comfortable. Staff at reception is lazy and seems bothered when needing to work. Free wifi at hotel. Hard to find and not close to the lake. I reckon once can find a better place for the same price; I was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: book a suite in new building on lower floor, as no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#20 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing