We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful time with wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful time with wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I loved this old hunting lodge. The rainforest covered hills overlook a lake teaming with wildlife including the striking kingfisher. If you have a cottage your room will look directly over the lake.
Behind the cottages there is a deer park and the best moment of my stay was having the opportunity to feed them. You can do this daily at 4.30pm.
There are also lots of peacocks, langur monkies, wild dogs, foxes....
The stables hold a huge amount of indian and British horses and another highlight of my stay was a member of staff seeing my interest and taking me to see the weeks old foals.
The food is very tasty and is served in huge portions so make sure you have an appetite!
The rooms in the cottages are a good size even with 3 beds in the room. They are clean by Indian standards with a good shower and hot water.
Location-is a few minutes drive from the city palace which is nice if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle.
The staff are friendly and always keen to help.
If I return to udaipur I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautiful-Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Beautiful-Tiger,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are glad to know you liked our hotel's location, ambiance, food, rooms and services. We would also like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    90
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
* Nice surroundings with a lake, deer and peacocks
* Good dinner (a-la-carte). We got hot phulkas on request and enjoyed an outdoor dinner with the coal/fire even though it was cold outside
* Decent rooms even though they are not luxurious.
* Clean sheets and towels

Con's:
* Location is a little away from the city center but not a big problem if you have your own transport
* Stench on the way to the rooms. In the rooms there was no smell, so that was OK.
* Breakfast could be better

Tip: Carry your own water if you want bottled water, or be prepared to pay high prices. There are no shops around there.



Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelBug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear WoldTravelBug,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We would also like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel. We are glad to know you liked our hotel's location, ambiance, food, rooms and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved this hotel. We were upgraded to a suite which was very nice of the receptionist as we had not asked for this. The room was huge and really comfortable and the staff were helpful and polite.

The surroundings are so peaceful which is a nice change from the busy city, we went to feed the deer at 4:30 pm which was a real highlight and enjoyed sitting by the lake during the early evening.

We would strongly recommend people to stay here, it's a little paradise!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Hannah-Louise,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are glad you found the place peaceful and relaxing. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests. We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

Also, thank you for sharing your travel pictures with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Shikarbadi Hotel for 4 nights and were extremely pleased with the hospitality! The staff was very helpful, polite and added great charm to our experience. The property itself was very well maintained and being surrounded by nature was a delight! Our rooms were very comfortable, clean and housekeeping was excellent too. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet getaway, nestled in the lap of nature, yet a stones throw away from the busy city lights!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Smiti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Smiti M,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We thank you for such kind words about our hotel's staff, hospitality, ambiance and services. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

i had gone der when i was in college with family and its really a place to stay at..it was summer time but it had rained that day and the dried lake was full of water and all the animals (it has a mini zoo) i saw turkeys for the first time they r scary..any ways i also saw peacocks dancing in the rain i dint expect oll this from the hotel but it was an amazing experience...it has horses and also an air strip its an amazing property..the rooms wr rustic but with all modern amenities...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyaannshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family at shikarbadi hotel from 5 jan to 8 jan 14. The place is great with beautiful natural surroundings, lovely and big rooms, clean toilets and excellent housekeeping. Strongly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chodha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Chodha,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you like the open air and lots of space,come to this magnificent literally 'royal' resort spread over 250 acres of sheer pleasure ! The hunting lodge of the erstwhile rulers of Mewar, this is an excellent property on the outskirts of the city in the pristine low Aravali hills with lots of greenery. It has as all private airport of the Rajah, lovely stud farm with the best marwari horses, a polo ground and a huge cricket field to boot ! There are birds galore as are there deer and monkeys . The service is 'regal' and polite in the authentic Rajasthani style of the Rajputs and the princes. The restaurant serves a variety of cuisine of good quality. The swimming pool and a small pond and a lake provide the water element. All in all, a brilliant getaway fo those who like nature with peace and quiet, at the same time being very close to the roaring history of bravery and valour of the historical denizens of Mewar !! Magnificent palaces ,lakes and the works.. This is one true glimpse of golden and historic India. A must Do !!

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back, overlooking the lake,or, Room nos : 7 & 8 at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goraroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear goraroy,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We would also like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing