We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks and feels like an African game lodge”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a setting! A private airport, polo ground, cricket field, horse stud... oh yes, it is a great hotel too with wonderful grounds and a splendid pool area. The deer, peacocks and monkeys are fed daily at 4.30pm just outside the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which has the deer park in front and the small lake at the rear... all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear Adventurers049,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a great pleasure to read when senior contributors or avid travelers review our hotels.
We are delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our historic hotels. We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

Thank you for appreciating our food and courteous staff. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

I mean... like wow! I visited this place by chance... we had no plans to go there...
I fell in love with it... wanted to get married there.... i remember taking pictures of everything from the bathrooms to the silver ware!
Tucked away,15-20 mins aways from Udaipur City, It's an old Hunting Lodge that the kings used to use in the Summer months...
Its got 4 suite rooms, and 20 others.... perfect for a 50 people gathering... The drive inn is impressive... they have their own cricket ground, polo field, horses, helipad... need I say more?
There is a pond, they are Deer!
The management is Traditional Rajasthani... really splendid... The food was great, a mix of traditional Marwari with the oh so lovely english breakfast in the mornings...
Please Please go there... stay a night. Take Family and Friends... for special occasions, as such a lovely setting demands a celebration!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank greeengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We more than happy to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our historic hotels. We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

Thank you for appreciating our food and courteous staff. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

Even we look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory or a wedding for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had the whole suite. What a paradise. It is a shame that we arrived late and left very early.
The front desk was the best in our tour of 3 weeks in IndiaFeb/March2012. They had organised everything. As we had to leave early to get a flight to Delhi , the kitchen staff made our breakfast around 5.30am and brought to our lodges and also had seperate sandwiches packed to take away . What else one wants . That is service with a smile

During my next Rajastan trip I will request my travel operator arrange to stay at this hotel/lodge

Room Tip: I suppose one near the restruarant and the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aravinth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Aravinth1,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

we are glad to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at out historic hotels. We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

Thank you for appreciating our food and courteous staff. We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and I was very impressed with the staff and service provided! The hotel is a quiet oasis (with fresh air!) a little bit away from the main city which we appreciated after the hustle and bustle of sightseeing and shopping in the main city. Transport to and from the hotel is easily available via taxis. We arrived ealry on the first day and were warmly welcomed by staff with a smile, greetings and fresh juice. We were invited to take breakfast while our rooms were prepared. All staff were friendly and seemed no request was too much for them - they even opened the restaurant kitchen early on our last day to prepare a fresh meal for us before we departed - much appreciated! :-) Over our stay we usually took breakfast and dinner at the hotel and food was fresh, tasty and plentiful. The menus had a large variety to choose from. There is a pool which looked inviting but it was a bit cool to be swimming. The gardens are kept well groomed and tidy. The natural wildlife around the deer park and lakes were great to watch and photograph. The rooms were large and the beds comfortable. Though the decor is a little faded, everything was spotless. We did have a problem with water leaking from somewhere in the bathroom and having to wait in between showers for the hot water to heat up but these were minor inconveniences. Also, the TV was old and had poor reception but we weren't in Udaipur to watch TV. :-) If you're looking for a place to relax and unwind than this hotel is the place to be! I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Udaipur again.

Room Tip: Our rooms faced the front driveways to the hotel. We didn't have a problem as there was very lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaybirdOriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Dear JaybirdOriginal,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. We are thankful to you for taking out time and writing a descriptive feedback for us.

Your review helps us knowing we are in the right direction of preserving our heritage and serving our guests. We are also thankful to you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our palace and creating yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great place, great staff, great food, very quiet place with lake, wildlife, free wifi, 10 min drive to city palace and other location. Only thing was the massage sucks. Atleast it wasn't expensive. I will recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Don't get massage, wifi is free, great place to relax, swim, have a beer and tandoori chicken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viren_10_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Dear viren_10_2002,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. We are thankful to you for taking out time and writing a feedback for us.

We have taken a note of your comment and we will make sure to cover it up in future.

We look forward to have you with us soon and create a memorable and joyful journey this time.

Warm Regards,
Team HRH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Honestly ,I wont be able to comment on how it feels like staying here ,since I did n't get a chance ,being from Udaipur ,but the experience of visiting this place is fabulous.The things I like the most here are : Deer park,plenty of open space with pond view,Lal Maans(Red Meat).It offers you a complete experience ,as a holiday destination to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivendraJadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear ShivendraJadon,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Firstly, we would like to thank for for such an honest and sweet feedback. Secondly, we would like invite you to stay our hotels soon and live the luxury we provide.

Best wishes to you and your family. Hope to welcome you soon at out hotels.

Warm Regards,
Team HRH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed there with some friends about six years ago. The friends called and asked if we remembered the name of "that great hotel" because they were returning to Rajasthan. I'm jealous! We're sure to stay there if we're ever in the Udaipur region again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear WH B,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

This is indeed a very sweet feedback to read. We heartily thank you for sharing your much valuable feedback. We are glad that you liked the hotel, it's services, our courteous staff and that we could a create a memorable trip for you.

We would be happy receiving your friends at Shikarbadi hotel, they can contact us anytime and we will be at our service.

And even we look forward to welcoming you back soon with us.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.6 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#28 of 175 in Udaipur
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 175 in Udaipur
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#17 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $48 - $1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing