We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location Great view”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #21 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Situated on the banks of lake Pichola, this hotel has a good location and the view from the balcony is great.
The food and beverages need a lot of improvement though.
The room was small but comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athelete9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 733 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is lovely, great location very central for walking to the sights and the views across the lake are stunning, you can watch the ladies washing their clothes each day opposite in the lake.
Rooms are fine, clean, slightly dated but with a nice balcony to seat two.
Staff were every helpful, roof top restaurant was very nice, busy and the service was great. The pool is a temporary pool, so raised but it is clean and its nice to cool off in the afternoon, or lounge on the surrounding daybeds.
Breakfast - good choice from the menu but one of they days we stayed there they put a mini buffet out. Maybe because they had a few more guests, but the selection and quality was not good - so try and get the menu !
Full body massage at the spa within the grounds wasn't that great - wouldn't recommend.
Only negative I would say is that we asked the hotel to organise us a Tuk Tuk to the pier by the city palace, they called one and we met him outside the hotel. The ride should of been max. 80-100Rps they tried to charge us 600Rps so we walked off and caught one a few metres down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TB-LWandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking out time to review our property. We are glad you found our hotel to be of your standards. During off season we do not find it very feasible to lay a buffet breakfast daily.,hence we request guest to take a la carte from the menu.
As far your experience with the Tuk Tuk we can only guide you in getting the tuk tuk for small distances and taxi for far away tourist spots.It is only your choice to pay what they ask and we cannot control their prises as Udaipur Tu Tuk do not have meter fitted on them and they ask for whatever amount they ask. However our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
With warm regards and good wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I checked-in this hotel last week. Though i was not let down by the staff, rooms or lakeviews, i would still feel the price is a little high. And the road to this hotel is so narrow that if you are going by a car, no other vehicle (I mean not even a bike!!) will be able to come from the opposite side & someone will have to make sacrifice of reversing his vehicle !
One should book the deluxe room if they want to have a lakeview, otherwise don't waste your money. All this hotel is a nice lake view & roof top restaurant. The ambience is too good. You can see the beautifully lit Lake Palace from the top. The serene waters of Lake Pichola just get you out of the usually congested & noisy city. The rooms are kind-of-okay. They need some touch-ups. The plus point being the balcony with Indian sitting where you can sit for hours with the lake view and just do nothing (which i guess everyone from a buzzing city wants!). The staff was good. My advice - Check in here only if you are looking for a Lake view, else there a pretty decent hotels out there.. But if you are going to Udaipur, you surely want to be near the lake & the palace...

Room Tip: Of course the Deluxe Room.. Mine was on 2nd floor. It had a great view. (Though all Deluxe Rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rayrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

An interesting hotel, with an amazing roof top restaurant. The hotel is one of the few budget hotels that has a parking, something my husband and I were really for, when we traveled to Udaipur. The service at the roof top restaurant is a little slack, and the waiters are in a hurry to shut shop as soon as possible in the night. The Lal Maas, a local delicacy of Udaipur served in the hotel, is the best we have ever had. Though its an old haveli converted to a hotel, it has been well maintained, and the staff painstakingly walk you through each and every old photograph hung on the wall. A decent stay with an amazing view

Room Tip: Choose the lake facing room, and wake up to bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aditi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great view of lake and palace. Rooftop restaurant is pretty nice and good food. Very slow or no wifi in our room which we paid for. Service was not great. It took them over an hour to send someone to fix AC after 2-3 request calls. All staff made us very uncomfortable by standing around in our room waiting for more tip even after we gave them tip.. not to mention, after fixing AC, the guy just standing and looking around.. won't leave the room until I told him he can leave now.. Manager ( maybe Owner) was trying to be nice only to get good review. Room was spacious, nice small balcony, bathroom needs some update, overall decent - Looks way nicer on exterior photo. Although rooftop food was good, breakfast by the lobby is not worth of money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Clean rooms, sheets and bathrooms. Courteous staff. Some maintenance issues, curtains not fully hung, pelmets needing a re-fitting.
There was an issue with a terrace dinner booking for us, which was a touch embarrassing purely through staff mis-communication re the table and another private group booking. They compensated by being ultra-courteous and allocating us a table of choice the next day and some discount on the dinner. Food was average, the surroundings made up for it.
The historical/recent pictures of the royal families along the galleries was a perfect touch. The table top books in the lobby were impressive - I enjoyed reading them esp. the links to the House of Gaekwads.
Walking distance to the main market areas, felt safe, fabulous location over the waters.

Room Tip: We did 109 110 - good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ratsyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has a great location. Perhaps the best view to Lake Pichola & the Palace. It has a magnificent view to the lake and palace. The hotel is also very beautiful and very courteous staff. The owner takes a personal interest with each guests. The hotel is also located right at the center of cluster of other hotels making it very easy to get transport i.e autorickshaw. The food is also very good with a great rooftop restaurant. The pool however is very small

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor. no 97 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyindia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,363 reviews
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 167 in Udaipur
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 167 in Udaipur
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $74 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing