We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the TA reviews and rating suggested”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Ranked #69 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about staying here as the last hotel on our group tour of Rajasthan because of the previous negative TA reviews but our experience and that of the rest of the group was very good. It is in a very nice location overlooking one of Udaipur’s lakes and the green hills beyond. The view was very nice from the large terrace outside the room. The room was large, the double bed was very comfortable and we had a couple of very good nights’ sleeps. The fridge functioned really well and was very useful. We could not be bothered going out on our first night and many of our group had dinner in the hotel. The curries that we had were very good – amongst the best we had in India, and they were reasonably priced. There was a nice rooftop bar with reasonably priced beer to sit and watch the sun go down and the lovely view. The Indian breakfast the first morning was especially good. Overall, the staff were very friendly and efficient. There were one or two downsides – the free wireless internet could only be effectively received in the lobby. There was a bit of a smell from the drains in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 353 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

As the name suggests, hotel is situated on hilltop overlooking Fatehsagar lake. While the view is fantastic, and hotel is wonderfully decorated with marble inlays, service is however sluggish. During our 4D/3N stay we had to shift room once due to sudden unavailability of water in bathroom for which the staff didnt even care to apologise. Also, we had to have the same the breakfast every other day. The furniture in room was timeworn and needs immediate replacement. Mattresses too werent very confortable.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDesai_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel for couple of times now. Always enjoy the wonderful lake view from the hotel. hotel rooms and cleanliness is good. Food is damn expensive though. Hotel has a wonderful swimming pool (never used). rates are also ok. Overall ok ok experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avdhoot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel with my Family when I visited Udaipur to attend a Wedding in November 2012. The Rooms were quite Comfortable and Spacious. The Staff of the Hotel was quite helpful and friendly. The view from our Rooms was quite beautiful. I loved the Food at the Restaurant, and Night Drinks at the Roof Top Bar.

Overall, A Nice Stay for a couple of days, in a Comfortable Room, Awesome Service, Delicious Meals, and Worth the Price. Surely Recommended to anyone going to Udaipur.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patelrajdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is aptly titled Hill top as it is at THE TOP of the hill, providing an excellent view of Fateh Sagar lake. The location would surely mesmerise anyone. Hotel staff is warm and friendly.This is the good part. But the food is bad (except buffet breakfast) & overpriced too. Our room was well maintained.... but you cant get a quality sleep because the mattress & pillows etc are not comfortable. The bathroom and its contents are dated and need an immediate change. Lastly, for all the TV freaks... please dont expect digital cable tv as you might be disappointed with poor signal local cable quality on a brand new LCD TV.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shravan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel location is just amazing! It provides a nice view of the Fateh Sagar Lake.. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The Hotel Manager was very friendly and he upgraded us to a Lake View room! We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back when visiting Udaipur!

Visited - Dec 2011

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RA_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a good example what happens when you take a nice hotel but leave everything half way. The hotel has nice garden but the pool looks disgusting. The hotel has splendid view from the roof top bar, but the bar itself is just little more than plastic chairs. The rooms are ok, but everything is bit out of date. It looks like that nobody has bothered to maintain the hotel in anyway in past fifteen years. With a bit of effort the hotel could be nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#42 of 175 in Udaipur
564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 175 in Udaipur
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#40 of 175 in Udaipur
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Valley View
Hotel Valley View
#39 of 175 in Udaipur
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kotra Haveli
Kotra Haveli
#27 of 175 in Udaipur
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop Palace

Address: 5 Hotel Hilltop Palace Ambavgarh, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $45 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing