We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking and Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I had stayed once during my business trip and was in love with this hotel. I had planned to come back.

I was there to celebrate my 1st wedding anniversary. The best was, we got the Fatehsagar lake facing room. The views were beautiful. The roof top of the hotel has more amazing views.
Must try during full moon night for a dinner.

People of tight budget with good rooms should definitely go for this hotel. The views are more amazing when the lake is full.

Breakfast is ok. Not so good. Try other hotels in the town.

Room Tip: Take the room on top floor with lake facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Read59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

I was given a room with a small window that literally needed a stool (to stand on) so that I could look out. The room was run down too. I requested a room change and they willingly complied with a pool facing room. This was a better maintained and a more spacious room. The property has some spectacular views but I suspect the best rooms are set aside for the international tourists. The open air garden restaurant was lovely but the buffet dinner sucked big time. Of the 6 dishes that I sampled, I found 4 inedible and 2 mediocre.

All in all impressive packaging but really really poor content. What a pity!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sujitsumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel overlooks Lake Fatesagar and the views from our balcony were just amazing. That was my only plus point. The rooms were okay, they were clean but very worn. You don't normally see shower curtains any more but we had two in the bathroom. There was not even any complimentary mineral water provided and the no mini bar and the fridge did not work. The service was okay but a bit patchy. The whole place needs a revamp big time.
On the plus side the food was nice and of good quality. The pool was also a big disappointment...... it was so unclean I would not let my daughter go in. The ambience around the pool is not at all relaxing.... I would rather sit at the balcony in the room even with its old tired furniture.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safari98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Rooms have excellent views. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, but a little worn, and the pool is great. The walls are a little paper thin but once we had the air conditioning on we didn't hear any noise. Reasonably priced, however, a little far from the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmv72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel was our favourite of 4 wks travel, mainly because of the beautiful views from our balcony or roof top. Restaurant at roof top served the best chicken tikka ever, and all of our differing group of 11 loved the place AND the food - quite a miracle! Prices were standard mid-range tourist hotel (approx $15 per couple for dinner inc local beer). A little way out of town, UP hill (we looked down on water tower from roof top restaurant!), but an easy 50 rupee ($1) auto ricksaw ride home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2funtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Great lake view from the rooms, plus the rooftop bar, are the main attractions for this otherwise pretty ordinary hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean enough, the AC and hot water worked, but wifi only works in the lounge. The food is below average and the breakfast very pathetic. Service was ok. I thought it was a little expensive for what is being offered.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor, 5th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hotel Hilltop is located on the top of the highest point in Udaipur. The hotel infrasctructure is ok, the food is ok, not great. it has limited choices but the most amazing fact about of the hotel is the location. It is located on the highest point in udaipur. one gets an awesome view of both fatehsagar lake and lake pichola from the hotel...

if u r staying here..stay here for the view..watching the sunset over the lake is an awesome feleing

Room Tip: Take the lake view room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maverick1783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Rampratap Palace
Rampratap Palace
#35 of 165 in Udaipur
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#38 of 165 in Udaipur
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
Hotel Swaroop Vilas
#43 of 165 in Udaipur
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Udaipur
Golden Tulip Udaipur
#87 of 165 in Udaipur
366 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#20 of 165 in Udaipur
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop Palace

Address: 5 Hotel Hilltop Palace Ambavgarh, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range: $52 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hilltop Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing