We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb hotel wth wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fateh Prakash Palace
Ranked #32 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A superb hotel wth wonderful views”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel. We were warmly greeted and told that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was excellent with superb views over the lake. The hotel is part of the palace complex and full of history. We ate in the sunset terrace restauarant 1 night and for breakfast-the food and service were very good. The town is safe and offers alternate dining arrangements but for the views and service the Fateh Prakash could not be beaten.
We would recommend this hotel in the beautiful city of Udaipur

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sutsuttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear sutsuttravel,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace.

We are glad to know that you had a comfortable and pleasurable stay at our historic Palace. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time for writing the review.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Regards
Team HRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    121
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
124
156
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The best hotel of our trip. First of all the manager gave us an upgrade to 2 suites as our car journey in Rajastan had a few problems due to the people demonstrating and blocking highways. So a very good start as our suites were located in the actual Raja residence. The view of the lake was amazing as well as the rooms - huge with fantastic furniture, bathrooms and amenities. We only ate breakfast in the hotel that was fantastic on a terrace overlooking the lake. In Udaipur there are many options to eat out (check out Lonely Planet) and the hotel is perfectly located to go around town on foot. The town is safe and people very friendly.
Fantastic experience in the most beautiful city of Rajastan.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear robaki,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

In our endeavor to provide the best of hospitality as in the royal era, we are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us at our palace hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
932 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Arrived here on honeymoon after the overnight sleeper from Jaipur - the train journey was the low part of the entire trip and I was sick after getting off the train and then as soon as I arrived at the hotel. Once I had recovered I could really appreciate the delightful location and staff. The room was superb, a restored suite in the Maharana's palace with views over Lake Pichola. The service at all levels was exceptional and the sunset terrace was a beautifully romantic place to dine on. Guests can explore areas of the palace too and there are incredible artifacts on display. There was an immense sense of pride that they were conserving an important part of their heritage and it truly was a spectacular end to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear MarcusHurley,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

Thank you so much for taking out the time and writing these wonderful words about our palace hotel and sharing your pictures. We are honored and very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

December, 28th-31st 2010
Fateh Prakash Palace hotel
A dream palace yet within our budget. Excellent suite, well maintained... excellent furniture ornate yet comfortable. The hotel is situated within the City Palace complex, yet it is not in the way of the visiting tourists. We were welcomed with traditional Rajasthani hospitality- garland, tilak and cool drinks. The hotel lounge was tastefully done up , we spent some time there as our room was being readied.
We were accompanied to our room in a true royal style and welcomed there with yummy chocolates and fruits.
The room was awesome--- facing the Pichhola lake and over looking the Taj Palace hotel. Infact, so breathtaking was the view that we did not feel lke stirring out. The comfort in the rooms was also of the highest degree- large soft beds, comfortable settes, hot water in a large well equipped bathroom and of course breath taking view. The writing table also had personalised stationery, maps and tourist guide to the city.What more can one want?
The buffet breakfast served on an open air deck over looking the lake was enormous and delicious..... both Indian and western delicasies were on the menu. The dinner served a-la-carte was also very good.
The staff were the epitome of hospitality, warm and caring and very courteous!! They would come in twice- once to clean, and at night to ready the room for the night, They brought along their hallmark chocolates and kept fresh fruit in the room every morning ina ddition to the complimentary water.
All in all a very memorable holiday...one I wish to repeat some time soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbaiVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear MumbaiVisitor,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

Thank you so much for the wonderful words about our palace hotel, staff and the hospitality. We are honored and very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rajasthan abounds with royal hotels. What sets apart fateh Prakash, Udaipur is that it was indeed the King's home 200 years ago. The room in which i stayed was one where the princesses stayed at one point. The alcove, window seating, beds were reminiscent of it.

The food at the palace hotel was fabulous. In fact long after the lunch hour had passed, i was given the meals. It was a lovely gesture of the royal staff. I also got my own stationary for the one week I stayed there.

The light and sound show was fabulous too. The crystal palace which houses the lovely crystal pieces, furniture and bed was breathtaking.

The staff's hospitality goes beyond professional duties. With personal care, it made me feel like a queen. The Mewar history is rich with lovely stories. Lsten to them from the local staff.

Room Tip: ask if the room has any historical relevance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nivedita29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Nivedita29,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

Thank you so much for the wonderful words about our palace hotel, staff and the regal visits. We are honored and very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Culture ,colour and Royal legacy of Rajasthan has always been attracted to me. my dream come true to experience the same when I stayed at Hotel Fateh prakash Palace. We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones but This was unique experience right from entering the hotel. I felt like a Maharaja.. Its a Royal treat right from the hotel lobby, rooms decor, food, service, musiums, light show swimming pool etc.

We have wonderfull experience which we going to cherish for ever. If you want to feel like a king go and stay at Ftaeh Prakash palace, Udaipur.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMSANJEEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear RCMSANJEEV,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

In our endeavor to provide the best of hospitality as in the royal era, we are very pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us at our palace hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Fateh Prakash is part of the maharana's palace, and is furnished accordingly in very spacious rooms with superb views. Breakfast involved a long but enjoyable walk through the palace grounds. The food is absolutely excellent though not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear The_Old_Birds,

Greetings from the Fateh Prakash Palace.

We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our palace Hotel. Its words like these from our Honorable guests like you that ensure us we are doing the right things in bringing to you the best in royal hospitality. We look forward to host you soon again at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 157 in Udaipur
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#14 of 157 in Udaipur
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fateh Prakash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fateh Prakash Palace

Property: Fateh Prakash Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fateh Prakash Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where once the Maharanas of Mewar held court, today you can hold forthLocated on the eastern shores of the picturesque Lake Pichola, the palace seems to have floated straight out of a fairytale.The history-soaked interiors, dotted with miniature paintings, portraits, royal artefacts and the armoury of the Mewar dynasty transport you to legendary times.The suites and rooms decorated with original paintings and period furniture from the toshakhanas or royal storerooms, cocoon you in velvety luxury as you soak in the ever-changing hues of the lake from large arched windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fateh Prakash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fateh Prakash Palace Udaipur
Fateh Prakash Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing