We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage experience”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #33 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“Heritage experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Shiv Niwas

That was the type of experience i was looking

I was expecting luxury in a tradionnal and authentic style, means old way, just enough to make me
feeling in the past and dream about the past

Location is beautiful, peaceful

swimming pool pleasant

In Udaipur itself... experience was not so good... lots of people cheating and being quite agressive and rude when i came to bargain... they were just treating tourists like pigeons

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Veronique P,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    136
    55
    32
    28
See reviews for
139
183
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had booked a regular room and and I didn't expect anything palatial because we found during previous trips that in hotels like this one the public areas seem to get all the attention whereas the guest rooms themselves are average at best. The same here. Now, I get it that a real palace is an old building and the layout of the room is what it is. I can live with it. BUT: the rooms at the Shiv Niwas need a renovation urgently. Everything is worn down, they need new beds, the old TV sets are past their time etc. The blinds and the fan were dirty beyond description.
I still give it an average rating because of the location. And we did enjoy being able to walk through the palace grounds by ourselves at night, that was special. As another reviewer mentioned, the lounge was spectacular, both the interior design as well as the views to the lake.
Breakfast can be a la carte if they are not busy. If they have enough guests they set up a buffet. We experienced both and they were quite good either way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALien89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ALien89,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for your review on our hotel at TripAdvisor. Guest comfort is our up most priority but from your review we feel we didn’t match your expectations. We respect your concerns as a traveler and your review will make us strive harder in working towards ensuring faultless hospitality and zero-defect service all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled and stayed in the hotel for three days from 1st feb to 4th feb 2014,It is a highly overrated hotel with extremely poor maintenance of the property and very poor service. The staff is still living in the pre 1940 era thinking that only royals are to be served rest of the people are just hoi polloi. Food is quite expensive though tasty. Staff takes a very long time to serve you and in case u ask for something to be delivered to your room then you have to wait quite some time or follow up as if we are there to serve the hotel and not vice versa. Breakfast is very limited and was mostly to be ordered from the menu and that also just the limited stuff. If u ask the staff for something they may do it if they feel like it otherwise they are very unfriendly and discourteous. I would advise people to visit the sun set terrace bar and restaurant and strongly advise people to stay in properties not belonging to HRH group. Only the location is gud.Be careful of all the guides and taxi drivers as everyone is interested in making money through commissions. I would like to recommend our taxi driver and taxi services operator Mr kulwant singh for his services (mob no +91-9352503392) but remember that everyone is into making commissions by taking tourists to their selected shops and hotels so choose your hotel and purchase local stuff from the market and not from the shops advised by guides etc.

Room Tip: In case of suits choose a room facing pichola lake and in case of other deluxe rooms choose from 28...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muddit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Muddit,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We thank you for choosing our hotel during our stay. We would also like to thank you for taking out time and writing a detailed review your visit at our hotel. The flaws mentioned by you will help us improve services and ensure comfortable hospitality to our guests. Thank you once again .

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating a memorable visit for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

According to the pictures aviable online about this hotel I expected that my stay was about to be just great, I mean, great service, great rooms, etc.., but it was not!
The location is great just on the lake Pichola shore and walking distance to all the little stores and restaurants in town; the hotel also has little golf carts which may be are use to transport hotel guests from one side to other, but nobody ever told me if I could used them.. at the price a room is (about 300USD/night) I defintly expected a great room, may be not that modern but definitly not the kind of room I got, I mean it was way old, with old furniture, with a really old tv and a big bath room that really needs many improvements.

Room Tip: ask to see the room before just simply get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Gustavo R,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We thank you for choosing our hotel during our stay. Guest comfort is our up most priority but from your review we feel we didn’t match your expectations. We respect your concerns as a traveler and your review will make us strive harder in working towards ensuring faultless hospitality and zero-defect service all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating a memorable visit for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. This was the one occasion I decided to splurge had booked into the suite. The views from the balcony were breathtaking. Great view of Jag Mandir and Lake Palace. Great view of the sunset from the balcony - a perfect time for a glass of wine or a cup of tea. The service from the restaurant (Paantya) was excellent. The folks there packed some fruits, water, etc for my day trip to Kumbalgarh and Ranakpur. The service at the front desk was an another matter. I was not sure when I would return from day trip and requested the front desk to procure tickets to the sound and light show at the palace. Typically at most hotels this would be taken care of immediately. Not this time. Overall a great experience largely on account of the location. The service is good but falls short for a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Room. 14 has good views of Jag Mandir & Lake Palace. Great sunsets. The balcony is a great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderingTyphoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ThunderingTyphoons,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

Also, thank you for sharing your travel pictures with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.
Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating a memorable visit for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Another destination wedding experience at a royal palace. Brilliant view of the Udaipur lake from the Banquets. Beautifully retained old architecture in rooms. The food during the ceremonies was yummy! Definitely one to to visit again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reemzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Reemzie,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at our time. We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel was awful. The reception staff were rude, disinterested and unhelpful. We left our passports here and despite asking for help forwarding them they really couldn't care less but thankfully staff at the Taj Lake Palace where we were staying were good enough to pick them up for us.
Everything seemed to be an effort for them so we checked out early and went to Sri Lanka but all the management cared about was that we paid for the whole stay which of course we did. In fact I would have paid extra just to get out of there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear TD4E,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. Guest comfort is our up most priority but from your review we feel we didn’t match your expectations. We respect your concerns as a traveler and your review will make us strive harder in working towards ensuring faultless hospitality and zero-defect service all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#37 of 161 in Udaipur
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,004 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing