We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Excellent comfortable rooms. The restaurant is a bit overpriced, especially the beer. I have to hand it to them for getting someone to fix my aircon within 30 mins at 9 pm. Unheard of in India.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dav_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    497
    105
    30
    20
See reviews for
243
657
75
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

In terms of value for money, considering that you are in Udaipur for the view of the lake and the Palace, this hotel is the best option. The hotel is not as cheap as other hotels in the same 'star' category in India, which is understandble considering the central location right on the lake, the tasteful Indian interior decoration of the hotel, and the good level cleanliness. Our only drawbacks would have to be the food, slightly greasy und not the attention to detail one would expect from a hotel that offers such a wonderful setting and set-up. Service was also average, quite possibly because it seems like one of the main options in town with quite a few rooms where many people come and go. As a result service was a bit lackluster but with no major complaints, they just did not seem to want to smile or go the extra mile. The store just beside the hotel offers Internet at a cheap rate and many other travel services including books and travel necessities. There is also a travel bureau which offers competitive rates. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend staying in Udaipur but would recommend trying some of the restaurants in town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleLievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

This was a great place to spend a few days, a fabulous building with beautiful views across the lake from both the bedrooms (you need to specify a lakeside room) and from the rooftop restaurant. The super deluxe room was great, but the deluxe room was a bit small and damp. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the evening puppet shows a great hit with the kids. If you want to buy the puppets, bargain hard as you can find the same ones everywhere for less than he is asking. Staff all very friendly and helpful and the shops down the alley leading to the hotel are good too. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

This hotel is just great. The building is beautiful and very well maintained - I loved the use of coloured glass, the paintings, the white washed walls. The service is great (we arrived hours before check in time, they let us use a bathroom to have a shower and checked us in early, all free of charge). The location is fabulous - you can' t tear your eyes off the views - and the food is lovely. And you don't need to pay for the more expensive rooms to have a great stay - we got one of the lower priced, non-lake view rooms and it was still large and luxurious (lovely decor, day beds for relaxing etc). Go to udaipur, and stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

I spent a lot of time researching hotels in Udaipur before my wife and I travelled out and was not disappointed by my choice of Jagat Niwas and, in particular, room 116. The view from our jakhora (window seat) was amazing - see my photo - and the hotel itself is central and well maintained. Service was good and food adequate, though not amazing.

We stayed for 4 nights which gave us more than enough time to wander around and do a bit of shopping as well as visit the City Palace, Jagmandir Island, Bakore-Ki-Haveli, the Monsoon Palace, Mandi Market, the Classic Car Museum and a couple of Udaipur's parks. Of these our personal favourites were Bakore-Ki-Haveli - both the museum and the evening dance/puppet show - and Mandi vegetable market (but note there are two clock towers in Udaipur and Lonely Planet has the market marked at the wrong one on their map).

We ate at Jagat Niwas a couple of times and also at Ambrai and Udai Kothi. I'd recommend all three.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

A hotel for the Romantics! Beautiful rooms, efficient staff, centrally located, has a good business centre and nice little market. Icing on the cake was the restaurant with beautiful views of Lake Pichola. Dreamy hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layli U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krak
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

good hotel ,cheap ....rooms lovely but simple

  • Liked — location by lake pichola
  • Disliked — difficult to book
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank currypata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing