We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly affair....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Costly affair....”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

You can stay at any branded hotel in 3k plus ..but in udaipur you get old havelis turned into hotels at this price...the concept is good but if you think there is any historical aspect associated with the hotel than you will be disappointed.only thing is its close to the city palace and is on the banks of lake pichola. The famous TAJ Lake palace is in the mid of lake pichola and can be seen from here. BTW Taj goes for 30k a day but they have their own ferry to take you and maintaon very high standards. Nothing like that at Jagat nivas. If you look down at lake Pichola from any of the rooms you will find dirt and mosquitoes. To make it worse we were offered a room which was on a very low floor and the water was just 2 ft dowm. Which means you cannot open any windows. So do ask the hotel not to allot this room.
On the plus side you get good old style rooms neat and clean. Hot water. AC , wifi along with a roof top restaurent . The rates in the restaurent may look a bit on the higher side for average Indian but who cares as the clientele is 90% foreigners. The hotel is run professionallly so you will get prompt replies to your mails. Do not expect any hospitality from the hotels besides providing you with rooms. They will not extend check outs or even offer you to be comfortable while you arrange for something. These hotels have learned to offerservices at a price from the 5 stars but they have not learnt the basic principle of hotel business and that is to host the guests with a good smile and making him fully comfortable with a sense of serving and hospitality. So its up to you to decide...location is good but dont expext parking as the lanes are narrow with. packed hotels and shops.
PS: all the hotels on the banks of Lake Pichola should do something for the environment and try to keep the lake clean...its a bigger heritage that requires attention than any of the old havelis.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asheesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    507
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
253
672
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varkala, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A delightful heritage property with wonderful views of the lake. Communal seating areas jut out over the water and the roof top restaurant is very atmospheric. We stayed here during Divali celebrations and the attention to detail was lovely. The main shopping alleyways and tourist attractions are just a couple of minutes walk away. We enjoyed a relaxing couple of days here out of a busy two week site seeing schedule.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with lake view, however all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here in Oct 2010 just prior to Diwali. The room we stayed in was modest but clean and comfortable, and we had no complaints! We had tea just outside our room in a beautiful courtyard, and were able to use internet facilities with minimal issue. The best part of our stay was the restaurant! Stunning views of the lake and a beautifully set out restaurant. We dined on the roof with the fairy lights surrounding us as the lake glistened in the moonlight, and by day in the main restaurant. We had been in India for 3 weeks and I was craving fruit and vegies, and the fruit salad I was served was amazing. I had a couple of servings per day. Served in a large sundae glass and drizzled with pomegranate, it was one of the highlights of my stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcrow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Jagat Niwas Palace hotel really exceeded my expectations in every way. I was looking for a decent budget hotel with lake views, and booked two of the cheapest rooms in the hotel. These rooms don't have any views and are in a separate wing but they're great value for money, super spacious (including the bathrooms), spotlessly clean, attractively decorated and have air conditioning. The staff are very efficient, courteous and friendly. Check in and check out was easy. Room service arrived quickly. And, when we called the staff to clean our room, they arrived within minutes. What's also really appealing about this hotel is that it's right on the banks of Lake Pichola at Lal Ghat (which is next to the City Palace). The restaurant and terrace have fabulous lake views, and there are heaps of seats where you can sit and relax. The hotel is also really beautifully decorated -- whitewashed walls, antiques, Rajasthani paintings on its walls. It has a lovely courtyard that you can sit in as well. Yes, the food in the restaurant is on the expensive side. However, I found the servings to be generous and the quality was excellent. There's a great variety of western and Indian food on offer, and it was really delicious. The restaurant is one of only a few in the area to serve alcohol too. I really can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kismet-and-karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September 2013. Great location and good hotel, no complaints about this place, one thing to rave about, the restaurant. The restaurant overlooked the lake with window cushion seats, the views were amazing even though the weather was bad and the food was stunning. Aside from that, room good, shower good, bed good, wifi only in the restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgcf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

wonderful hotel in a very atmospheric palace/painted Haveli with banks many flowers, Candles, pictures, just beautiful! The view from the restaurant or the roof terrace of the lake with the lake Palace hotel is a dream. The restaurant is luckily not quite frankly, there are partly windows, so you don't have to, as in other hotel-completely January erfriert in the evening/morning. On the roof terrace there is also brazier, this helps... Udaipur offers many sightseeing opportunities and massive city palace complex is surprisingly good and relatively clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpit_Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I will start by saying my friend and I shared the suite featured in th e pictures and it was even lovelier in person. If Udaipur didn't have so much to offer I could have sat in the window seat reading all day long. Instead, other friends joined us for cocktails and watched Lake Pichola shimmer in the pink of evening. At night we ate twice on the rooftop terrace. The City Palace shined brightly on the hill and the islands were alight. Food was delicious and reasonable. Usually, I prefer to eat at different places when traveling, but we all agreed it was too good to go elsewhere. Perhaps my favorite time though was sitting in the open window seat of the restaurant for breakfast, which was included. A waiter served us on a small table set on the seat as we watched parakeets and pigeons swop outside. The staff were friendly and helpful. The waiter who frequently served us even stopped by to say goodbye our last day. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#20 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing