We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a lake view room and enjoyed everything about the hotel. Sitting in the window bay looking out over the lake and the lake palace was great. The hotel is also in a great location for walking around the town. The rooftop restaurant is great and the food very enjoyable. Yes, the rooms are a bit small but the window bay helped.

Room Tip: We thought the lake view room was well worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
There are newer reviews for Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were disappointed. I think the hotel probably trades on its location, on the lake, so you get a view from your room and the restaurant. I would recommend staying on the other side of the lake, which is quieter. This is right in tourist central, albeit down a very narrow alley so slightly quieter. The service was poor by the standards of Rajasthan - the front desk staff would be sitting down watching TV when we came back at night and hardly look up. The room was OK, but very small. The plus sides were a very new bathroom with excellent shower and lots of nice plants on the various terrace and stairways. It is charming in that respect but I would not go back I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This really is a lovely hotel on it's own term. The terms are important here because the Jagat Niwas is NOT a palace and this can lead to some misunderstanding, especially if people somehow confuse it with the Lake Palace. This hotel is a converted haveli and on those terms it is a wonderful places, whatever its faults. It has a view to die for and those lovely spaces on the second floor overlooking the lake are unforgettable. The breeze of the lake, the sunset, the sound of birds in the evening carrying across the lake. Marvellous.
I sat there and read and wrote up my travel diary and it was really wonderful. The thought struck me that it is an ideal writer's place, finish a book or starting one. This is the place to do it.
The staff were very nice, the restaurant is really made by the view and the tranquillity but the food is more than adequate.
I had a lake view bedroom and it was lovely. Again a marvellous reading space by the window.
There is no swimming pool as one reviewer complained, but them where would they put it in this very restricted space and without seriously compromising, even destroying, the aesthetic of the original building which is very lovely indeed and maximised in its present state.
Wifi very patchy.
The bathrooms could certainly be improved.
Beside the hotel, right at the front door there is a small tailor shop called the Jagat Thikar where I had two very nice Indian style linen shirts (Rs1200 each) and a very nice linen pants (RS3200) made. They also very helpfully arranged for me to send a DHL parcel back to Europe with books, textiles and shirts. They make excellent business suits and European style shirts all at very good prices. The staff here are very helpful.
All in all a very unusual and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although not guests at this hotel, we decided to call in for lunch and ended up staying for most of the afternoon. The food was very nice and the views over the lake even better! It is well worth a visit even to sit and soak up the relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank roblund3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Palace, a definite no no ....It is a glorified lodge with good view of the pichola lake ..period .

I stayed here for two nights, in a "standard room", which is as big as a the cot!!! The room was more like a dungeon , the height of front and the bathroom door is about 5 1/2 ft. It is extremely difficult to get in and out of the room.
The hotel is located at the end of Lal ghat road, which is about 20ft wide, Yes 20 feet, which makes it very difficult for any taxi to reach the end of the road without having to negotiate vehicles coming in the opposite direction.

Hospitality is very poor, at the time of checkout the folks at front desk did not have the courtesy to book an auto/taxi to the bus station. They expect the guests to look out for a taxi at the end of the stay !!!
The entrance to the hotel is not accessible to the taxis/hotels. One has to walk a considerable distance to hire any means of transportation.

The hotel does have a rudimentary wifi at the reception, the guests are expected to sign in a register before they give you access to the password!!!

The food at the restaurant is very expensive ( Ex:a bottle of water costs 65 rs , a cup of coffee 135rs ). It is just not worth the money for the quality of food offered.

In short a very disappointing stay at this hotel. Other than the view of lake pichola , the hotel has nothing much to offer

Room Tip: Aviod this hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sachin_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent three nights here in early August. I loved the setting and the room. It is in a great location for walking around the centre. Ate dinner once in the rooftop restaurant and had breakfast out - coffee shop options nearby. Our registration upon arrival was swift and without difficulty. We had little reason for interaction with staff after that so cannot comment on other postings which criticise staff. Of our nine accommodations on our trip, we reckon this was our favourite.

Room Tip: Facing the water.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My friend and I went there to have dinner. The terrace and the view are really nice. But that is all. The food is average and the service terrible. The waiters don't seem to treat foreigners (which I am) and Indian people the same way.
Just have a drink there and try to find a better place where you feel welcomed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#9 of 163 in Udaipur
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 163 in Udaipur
3,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $25 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing