We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere for lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere for lunch”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although not guests at this hotel, we decided to call in for lunch and ended up staying for most of the afternoon. The food was very nice and the views over the lake even better! It is well worth a visit even to sit and soak up the relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roblund3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    508
    110
    32
    24
See reviews for
255
676
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Palace, a definite no no ....It is a glorified lodge with good view of the pichola lake ..period .

I stayed here for two nights, in a "standard room", which is as big as a the cot!!! The room was more like a dungeon , the height of front and the bathroom door is about 5 1/2 ft. It is extremely difficult to get in and out of the room.
The hotel is located at the end of Lal ghat road, which is about 20ft wide, Yes 20 feet, which makes it very difficult for any taxi to reach the end of the road without having to negotiate vehicles coming in the opposite direction.

Hospitality is very poor, at the time of checkout the folks at front desk did not have the courtesy to book an auto/taxi to the bus station. They expect the guests to look out for a taxi at the end of the stay !!!
The entrance to the hotel is not accessible to the taxis/hotels. One has to walk a considerable distance to hire any means of transportation.

The hotel does have a rudimentary wifi at the reception, the guests are expected to sign in a register before they give you access to the password!!!

The food at the restaurant is very expensive ( Ex:a bottle of water costs 65 rs , a cup of coffee 135rs ). It is just not worth the money for the quality of food offered.

In short a very disappointing stay at this hotel. Other than the view of lake pichola , the hotel has nothing much to offer

Room Tip: Aviod this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachin_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent three nights here in early August. I loved the setting and the room. It is in a great location for walking around the centre. Ate dinner once in the rooftop restaurant and had breakfast out - coffee shop options nearby. Our registration upon arrival was swift and without difficulty. We had little reason for interaction with staff after that so cannot comment on other postings which criticise staff. Of our nine accommodations on our trip, we reckon this was our favourite.

Room Tip: Facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tms2indub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My friend and I went there to have dinner. The terrace and the view are really nice. But that is all. The food is average and the service terrible. The waiters don't seem to treat foreigners (which I am) and Indian people the same way.
Just have a drink there and try to find a better place where you feel welcomed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on 7 & 8th of Aug in Raj room (room no 109).

Pros:
Clean and neat rooms
Excellent view of lake pichola, taj lake palace from the rooms
Prompt service

Cons:

They don’t know the term hospitality I guess, when we arrived at the hotel, forget about the grand welcome with drink, the person at the reception ( I think ALI Hussian) is looking at me and just nodded his head with an expression why are you here? Same was repeated for all the two days. The service is prompt but missing the much needed personnel touch. I think we are the only Indians in the hotel and the behavior by the staff made me think that they least expected darker skin.

Though the room offers great views, it’s from the closed windows sitting on jharookas. I felt like I was missing something with the very experience of enjoying the lake watching. if it’s an open/balcony types and if the cool breeze from the lake touches it’s a different feeling, which I missed I guess.

They got a roof top restaurant but they said its closed because of rain, but I could notice few whites are served there, Not sure what’s their problem. After all, we too pay so much money for the room and tips for service.

Food is damn expensive for the variety & quality.

For those traveling with kids, there are few mosquitoes due to the property adjacent to the lake. So please bring along mosquito repellent cream such as odomous.

Overall not so great experience for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srini76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location of this heritage hotel with a nice patio and a lovely decoration.

Rooms are not big but they are clean and new.

The restaurant offers a good view but when you say 'non spicy, no hot' meal they say ok but they bring it anyway. We took thedishes back and we had no poblem.

Is a nice place to stay very close to the city palace!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzetpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during my visit last year and was very pleased with it.It is a heritage style hotel showing the old world charm.The rooms are different sizes, mine was big and clean.It was elegantly decorated with hand paintings on the wall . The beds were clean and comfortable.The bathroom was also clean .The location of the hotel is great with magnificient views. Sitting at the bay window you can truely enjoy the beauty of the "city of lakes". The roof top restaurant is par excellence,it also provided many menu choices. The food was awesome and resonably priced.I had all my meals at the roof top watching the spectacular views. The service was excellent and the staff was friendly and prompt. The hotel is centrally located providing the convenience for walking around to shop and explore. I would highly recommend the hotel. If you want to get value for the money book ahead to get a lake facing room.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing