We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience of living in a Haveli”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience of living in a Haveli”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had stayed here for 4 nights during new years a while ago...it was a unique experience of living in a haveli( private mansion of the wealthy about a century ago ) now converted to a heritage hotel( 3 star ). The location is amazing with the views of lake pichola & the lake palace hotel looks like a floating palace. It is also central within walking distance of udaipur palace, shopping etc etc. The entire property is well maintained and decorated. The rooms are very nice and spacious though of average standard. Service was prompt. The best part was the food..it was exotic and delicious...authentic Marwari/ Mewar cuisine only to be found in Rajasthan. A great experience in exotic Udaipur..

Room Tip: You need to book early to get lake facing rooms. We had booked 3 months before and they were full. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulrupesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    504
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
250
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel with my partner and a couple of friends and we had a great time. We have been living in India for a year and Udaipur is one of the nicest cities we have visited. The location of the hotel is perfect: 5 minutes walking and you are in the town centre whether you want visit the magnificent palace or just do some articraft shopping in one of the shops at the side of the tiny roads. The hotel is very well maintained, very clean and the staff extremely friendly. The atmosphere is excellent and the historical and heritage image is very well preserved.
The open terraces at the bar offer a magnificent view over the lake which is awesome especially at sunset. I would have given a 5 star if the food at the restaurant was better. Dinner is ok but breakfast could be better (especially don't go for the English breakfast). All in all highly recommended. Prices are reasonable and the quality of service and the atmosphere is worth every single rupee.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank UomoCheSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is very well located, it has rooms facing the lake which is a must. Kaushal the guy at the reception is superb, very helpful an friendly and helped us out with late check-out. The disappointing bits are: wifi in the courtyard only and no minibar. For hotel of this standard we expected to find these facilities

Room Tip: Ask for the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel is located on Lake Pichola and gives good views, so make sure you get a lake facing room. They also have rooms to suit different budgets. The rooms are clean, the service is polite and the food is very good! The hotel could use a stronger wifi network as it only works in and around the lobby area. Also, would like the hotel to put in a tea/coffee make in every room like other hotels. There is also a roof top restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Jagat Niwas is a one of those gems that looks rough on the outside, but is beautiful on the inside.

The two best things about this place are its location and its decor, considering the price point it sits at.

Location-wise, it is on the banks of the Pichola Lake, offering a beautiful view of the water from its restaurant and roof top (and some of the rooms). It's right next to the famous Udaipur palace, and if you're up for shopping, it's smack bang in the middle of multiple lanes lined with shops selling Rajasthani ware.

As for its decor, Jagat Niwas manages to strike a great balance between being authentic and tasteful at the same time. You step into the courtyard and feel like you've been transported into another era. This was a very reasonably priced option, and I was surprised to see on arrival that it feels a lot more expensive than it is. But at the same time, it doesn't overawe you, and feels very welcoming.

The rooms are again tasteful and pretty, and the bathroom was very clean. My only complaint was that a double bedroom can be a little cramped (there's not much space around the bed to walk). But the personal diwan in the corner was a great place to rest and read. And the stained glass with sunshine streaming in brought beautiful colours into the space in the morning.

The food at the restaurant is excellent Indian fare, made all the more lovely by the fantastic backdrop you get of Lake Pichola. The staff are efficient and polite, but a little more used to foreigners than to Indians - so expect some amount of accented English. Also, the restaurant is small and can get full very fast, so it's better to book a table for dinner beforehand.

The only drawback and caution of visiting this place is that owing to its location, in the heart of Udaipur, you can only access it by rickshaw. It is almost impossible to drive to its entry (the lanes are simply too narrow) and there is no parking whatsoever. So if you're going with a car, you'll have to make arrangements to park at least twenty minutes away (and safety here can be an issue) and take a rickshaw back. So great for foreign backpackers, perhaps less convenient for an Indian road tripper.

Overall, it's well worth the money you pay and is a comfortable, safe and beautifully done up little place, with easy access to most of the tourist spots in Udaipur city. I'd happily visit it again and recommend it to anyone going.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are said to be the best, but are in short supply. We stayed in an AC Non-Lake-Faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShahineArdeshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel in Udaipur was one of the best places I stayed in while spending a month traveling around India. Not the most modern or opulent of hotels, especially compared to what I found in Agra and Mumbai, but the chance to gaze out at Lake Pichola while savoring an excellent Indian breakfast of coffee, poori, and aloo bhaji was just incomparable! Nowhere else in India did I feel so surrounded by beauty and at such peace. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, and also had a nice view of the lake, but nothing like what I could see from a window seat in the dining room while sitting cross-legged on a cushion at a low table. Dinners at the hotel restaurant were very nice, as were the views from the rooftop dining area. I appreciated how the staff kept the bowls of water and flower petals fresh, and how candles were beautifully lit all around the courtyard at dusk. My only very minor complaint was that the WiFi signal in the rooms was very weak, so one had to sit in the courtyard in order to get online. The location of the hotel was excellent, so it was easy to walk around and explore the narrow streets and shops in the central part of town, as well as to cross the bridge to the other side of the lake and explore that side, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehk04107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

One of the best places to stay at Udaipur, right by the lake and the restaurant has a fantastic view of pichola lake. The reception and admin staff is very polite and cordial full of helpful information ranging from transport to history to folklore.

Room Tip: Choose the lake facing rooms. There is also a room on the ground floor with a small hidden courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing