We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in a marvellous setting, and with a great restaurant on the roof. I had one of the lakeside rooms and it is well worth paying for the spectacular view. It is in a great location in terms of the sights, and has the most charming staff working there. although it is quite large, it feels very personal. There is an excellent wifi place just next door which doubles as a money exchange too- good rate. There are a number of fabric shops nearby where one can have favourite garments copied at reasonable price .

Room Tip: Not suitable for the physically disabled. There would be no way of getting up to the restaurant. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had two nights here and it was delightful. The service was excellent - very helpful and very friendly. We stayed in beautiful rooms with wide, lounging balconies and lovely views across the lake. The restaurant was served delicious food at reasonable prices. We had some laundry done - the service was fast and our clothes came back spotless.This definitely is the place to stay in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

As the first place we stayed after Delhi my initial reaction was "wow". It's in a great location and very clean and friendly. I especially liked the porter with the giant moustache! The rooms are full of character and I would highly recommend this hotel. Also there is a travel agent just outside the entrance who arranged a fabulous driver, Anand, who looked after us for the next 14 days, driving us all round Rajasthan and then on to Shimla. He wasn't just a driver but a fixer too, sorting out hotel bookings, and offering a wealth of useful information. Anand is truly a great ambassador for his country.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aloledro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Udaipur is a beautiful place, and this hotel with its lakeside setting must be one of the nicest ways to experience the place. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are the most friendly we encountered anywhere in India. We were there for Holi and this made our stay extra special, as the staff had the day off to enjoy the celebrations and the fun was infectious, they enticed myself and my husband out and we got well and truly covered in paint to their great amusement. the rooftop restaurant has to have one of the most magical settings in India, and we ate there every evening because of that; we found the food to be very good, especially the breakfasts. Free WiFi is available in the lobby, and the hotel is right in the old town so is convenient for all the sights. Don't stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall our stay at Jagat Niwas was excellent. We had 2 nights in a lake view room (before moving to our 'treat night' at the Lake Palace).

The staff are friendly and very helpful, the layout of the hotel (open walkways around courtyards) was cool and very attractive - plants and murals everywhere. The food was nothing special, but eating on the roof top in the cool evening breeze watching the lights play on the water of the lake was. The only downside was the lack of pool (but I don't think many hotels in Udaipur have one) for my daughter to amuse herself in when it hit 44C (110F) and it was too hot to do anything else.

The location couldn't be better and I'd certainly come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexDBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Even though me & my sister were booked into one of the lower end rooms (we were on a budget) we had a great time at this hotel. The staff were lovely & very helpful. Our room was a little noisy from the outside traffic & security night staff chatting until late at the bottom of the stairs but that's probably because we were in a cheaper room at the back. One of the best things about this hotel is its location right on the lake with superb views from the roof terrace & the restaurant, It would be perfect for a romantic vacation. It is also minutes walk from the shops, the ghats the palace & temple. Virtually next door to the Bagore-Ki-Haveli which has nightly traditional dance & music shows, One of the stops for the lake cruises is also 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Good breakfast & excellent restaurant. Highly recommended

Room Tip: if possible pay for a higher grade room to avoid the early morning & late night noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetheunexpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good clean central hotel with helpful staff and an easy to walk to most places, but cars / taxi's cannot get to the last 200 yds. Rooftop restaurant gives good views of the lake and palaces.
with the number of steps up to the restaurant and the short walk to a taxi it is probably not a good hotel for anyone with walking problems.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 175 in Udaipur
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $51 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing