We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words - STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two words - STAY HERE”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I'm late in getting my India reviews done - but this was one of the most memorable places we stayed. Absolutely stunning hotel with wonderful views of the lake. You feel like you are in a palace & the rates are quite good. I actually have nothing bad to say about this place - the staff, food & place were wonderful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    508
    110
    32
    24
See reviews for
255
676
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Amazing view from this Hotel, we stayed one night at The deluxe room, and it was all perfekt, i recommended to stayed here at least one night if you can afford it and feel like a princess, after you can change to a less expensive room, quality is very high anyway ,,, The food at The restaurant is the best and The views you can Get amazing.... Having breakfast and dinner here has been one of my favourites in my trip to India..... Totally recommended, if there is a place to use money in India, it will be here, you will not regret it .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonita0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Jagat Niwas Hotel is a perfect location, within walking distance to the City Palace and shopping. The restaurant has stunning views and the service was very good. We had a standard rooms the first night (which were built for hobbits). The Lake View Heritage rooms are stunning and bear no resemblance to the standard rooms. After a fantastic day of exploring Udaipur, I sunned and napped stretched out on my window seat with a view of the lake...it was luxurious!
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The best option by far is a lake facing heritage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia55570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 marvelous nights in this beautiful property. The view from the lakeview rooms is spectacular. The staff are incredibly helpful and kind. The attention to customer service is very important and it shows. It has to be the best spot for breakfast and dinner in the city. At breakfast, sitting in one of the window nooks you can watch the reflection of the sun rising from behind on the lake. During drinks or dinner on the rooftop terrace it's time for the spectacular sunset show. I loved every minute of my trip to India, however the Jagat Niwas Palace hotel is one place I would return to for a relaxing longer stay. I hated leaving the view. Don't go anywhere else in Udaipur.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carefree66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here in the Lake Facing Heritage room on the first night and then in the awesome Pichola Suite for the next 3 nights. Great Hotel right on the Lake with views to die for.By all means go for the lake facing rooms if you can afford. The basic lake facing room i.e. the Heritage Rooms are not so expensive and good enough though we found it a tad small mainly because the bed and the Jharokha took up a lot of space and there was not much room to move around. However, it is adequate for a couple. The Pichola Suite is, however, huge and magnificent and though a little pricey worth every rupee. Watch the sun going down over the lake from your Jharokha(sit in window) of your suite and you will be stunned by the beauty.The Hotel itself is a beautiful heritage property and maintained very well. Location is excellent and walking distance to the City Palace and Jagdish Temple.Be sure to book and have dinner at the Rooftop Restaurant with awesome views of the lake and the twinkling lights all around. It is magical and to top it all the food is delicious. The food is so good that we had dinner there every night. The Indian food is top class(don't miss the Lal Maas). We had Lal Mass on 2/3 ocassions at different places in Udaipur and Mount Abu but the one we had at the Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel was the best.We even tried the Chinese Haka Noodles and Continental Grilled fish and found them to be very well prepared and tasty.We ordered Room service for breakfast and service was prompt They have just introduced a new menu (on the last day of our stay) with lots of new dishes but sadly we did not have the oppurtunity to try them out. You will enjoy the food. No bathtubs in the bathroon but otherwise adequate with hot water( please switch on the geyser switch 15 mins. before to ensure this), good shower pressure, clean and spacious toilet with bath accessories. However, I wish they had installed a soap holder near the shower. I also wish they would arrange to provide tea/coffee maker in the rooms which would be convenient for early risers like us. One other thing that I would want people to know is that the Hotel does not have an elevator and the stairs are narrow and steep. This should not be an issue in the normal course since the Hotel is only upto the 2nd floor with the roof top terrace restaurant on the 3rd Floor but may be a challenge for people with serious mobility issues.Other than the above the Hotel is absolutely perfect for a comfortable stay, lovely views and excellent food

Room Tip: Go for the Lake Facing Rooms. Have food at the Hotel - there is no better place and the food is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hotel remarkably well situated on the edge of the lake with a view of the Lake Palace. The main attractions are within walking distance from the hotel. The service and the rooms were spotless. The architecture of the hotel is also remarkable. A special mention for the restaurant very romantic if you choose to dine in one of the alcoves overlooking the lake. Very good Indian food and especially great Byriani.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sultana_duran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Wonderful place to stay - right on the lake side, our room had a fabulous lake view. Plenty of space in the room, good bathroom, comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant on the top of the hotel overlooking the lake, good breakfasts. can recommend room 102. Very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble to make our stay a good one.

Room Tip: choose room 102, or any lake view room - get some clothes made about four shops down on the left fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 161 in Udaipur
2,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 161 in Udaipur
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#8 of 161 in Udaipur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#15 of 161 in Udaipur
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing