We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful Rajastan city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We felt like princesses as we sat in our box window, overlooking the hotel courtyard and lake in the distance. The room was simply lovely. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. And, the hotel restaurant was very good (we ate Indian food). It was also a perfect location from which to walk and explore the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved Jagat Niwas. Was it perfect service? No, although it was very friendly. Was it a perfect location? Yes - I'm not sure it could be bettered. We stayed in three different rooms, as we travelled through the city a couple of times on our tour around Rajasthan. Obviously the lake-facing rooms are the best, but even if they're not available (or you want something cheaper) it's easy to find space on a the roof terrace or a cushioned window to make the most of the views. Don't expect five star luxury - sometimes the power went out, or the shower wasn't as hot as it could have been - but the staff were great and you can forgive almost anything when you're watching at the sun go down over lake with a beer in your hand.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are lovely. But not necessary if you're happy to find a window seat and settle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snottor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Starting with the positive - the location is excellent by the lake. After that is all went down hill. Reception - though speedy at booking us in (the fastest we experienced in India) was unfriendly and we felt as though we were unwanted. The room was OK but made unwelcoming by the sign that said "No washing of clothes in the room - automatic 1,000 r fine". The person showing us to the room made great play of the 2 complimentary bottles of water per day (but on the 2nd day they were nor replaced - nor was there any replacement shampoo).

On the first night we were told to reserve if we wanted a table at the roof top restaurant - which we did - but when we arrived there was only 2 tables available and 3 couples all with a booking for the same time. We were seated but it didn't make a very good impression as 1 couple departed unhappily. The service was a bit eratic but the food was good - so we decieded to eat there on the 2nd night as well, and this was a big mistake! Our order was taken - and then we were were left. When no drinks had arrived after 15 minutes I asked the restaurant manager where they were and he arranged for the 2 beers to be sent across. We then sat and waited and waited - and eventually realised everyone who arrived after us was eating but not us. We called the manager over and he said offhandidly - "the person forgot your order". There was no apology - nothing. Ofcourse mistakes happen - anyone can make an error - it is how problems are handled that makes or breaks a hotel. In this case - the response of the restaurant manager was totally inadequate - especially as he had been in the position of realising something was wrong with our order when we had chased for the beer. In the end we asked to see the hotel manager - and this time there was an apology and an offer of 40% off - which was increased to free food. As we were hungry and it was late to go to find another restaurant we accepted the free meal - but to be honest we didn't go to India or this hotel to have a stand up row resulting in free food. We would happily have paid for adequate service. The food then came quickly and we ate it quickly and departed. It was not somewhere we wanted to stay. In fact - that summed up our view of this hotel - not somewhere we wanted to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of nights in Oct 2012. It is basically a 17th century haveli belonging to Noblemen which has been tastefully converted into a hotel with all the modern amenities while restoring it old world charm. We did a last minute booking and luckily got the heritage room which was quite nice and closest to the lake!

Location - Simply the best located property in its price range. It is literally on the lake with a good view of the lake palace. Hotel is near to the city palace and in between the main tourist locations
Rooms - They have various rooms out of which heritage, raj and pichola suites are lake facing with jharokas which are protruding in the lake. Rest of the rooms are not facing the lake but are comfortable
Restaurant - Awesome view from the restaurant and good food. Do try the lal maas!

I will definitely recommend it to everyone and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: select the lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuchi_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were on our last few nights of our Rajasthan tour we booked with Rustic India & it was another fabulous find by this tour company out of Goa! we had an amazing ground floor room that had a beautiful view of the Lake & Lake Palace with doors out to a patio overlooking the lake! The room was big and clean & the hotel had a beautiful courtyard where u could just sit & relax!! The location was great & the rooftop restaurant had good food & even better views!! Was a really nice hotel with really cool & comfy sitting areas in the rooms & in the restaurant! Great hotel overall but WiFi not up to par (but who needs WiFi when views are so great)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Raj lake facing room from 22nd to 27th Oct, 2012. Great location, a bit confusing to reach through narrow alleys. the view from room and the rooftop restaurant is majestic, overlooking lake Pichhola and Lake Palace hotel. Very well maintained, spic and span. Very helpful staff. Food quite costly though. City palace museum and market is just walking distance. Lots of other cheaper but good restaurants all around. A word about the room though, the ceiling fan and a/c is located near the sitting table while there's no fan over the main bed. Gets real stuffy in the night when neither the fan nor the a/c manages to reach upto the bed.

Room Tip: Go for lake facing rooms, otherwise the novelty of the hotel is lost mostly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubendada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a very pleasant 3 night stay here, location was perfect, right on the lakes edge, and easy walk to the shops and beautifully presented and maintained building. The drive in was amazing, such narrow little streets only just wide enough for one car and now more - much respect for our driver :) Roof top restaurant was lovely with a spectacular view over the lake and good food. Our room was a bit disappointing as we had hoped for a view of the lake but were on the bottom floor with one tiny window into the courtyard making the room a bit cave like. We did look in one of the lakeside rooms when they were vacated and they were pretty nice with the fantastic big window seat
It was clean and regularly serviced though and the staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimnlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 167 in Udaipur
732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 167 in Udaipur
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $76 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing