We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting hotel”
Review of Karni Fort Bambora

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Udaipur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karni Fort Bambora
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Sydney Autralia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An interesting hotel”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed one night here - in a third floor twin room (one of my sons slept on the jokhara, the window seat area, with a mattress, bolsters and cushions). The view was lovely, and we watched the partridges and nesting swifts flying around at sunselt. In the distance, we could hear the sounds of a wedding, and a woman was singing to the accompaniment of a drum.... The room was clean and just spacious enough for us all - but I'm not really a great fan of bright green synthetic satin bedspreads when there are so many lovely traditonal bed covers available (and in use in many other comparable heritage hotels). The bathrooms were clean, and beautifully finished in marble. We were there at the same time as a tour load of people from Germany, and the hot water system was seriously challenged. Lunch was a bit disappointing as the menu was very limited. Before dinner that night there was a gala evening : traditional dancing and singing, while we wore local turban hats, and drank alcohol, and got pulled up to dance and find out how difficult it is to keep one's dignity. Later we saw that some of the dancers were in fact our waiters. It was all very high spirited and jolly. The buffet dinner after the entertainment was ok, but nothing special. Next morning we found that the hotel had wonderful acousting properties - as the voices of staff reverberated around from around 5.30 am.
Apart from this, unless you want to 'just relax', there's not much to do. No tv (essential for many a teenager), or high speed internet (ditto). There is a pool, but all the available sun lounges were taken by the time we got there.
But it was a pleasant, atmospheric stay, and the owners have done a great job of restoring a crumbling wreck of a fort into something that is a nice property Apparently it took them over ten years.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller125_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
20
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I was quite disappointed with karni fort hospitality.
Problems faced
1) no directions to reach the fort- this fort is in the middle of nowhere. There were literally no motivation from the staff/management to help us get to the fort. We were literally roaming around on the deserted road in the middle of the night with our cabbie. There was no assistance to help us get there quicker. The staff conveniently expected us to do our homework before reaching and search them on googleearth. There were also no real helpful road signs directing us to the fort.
2) The bathroom: The bathroom was very nice in appearance but it was too cold. The bathroom tub was pathetic and the lighting was soo bad in the bathroom. There was provision of spare toilet rolls and the toiletries provided were of low quality. The water somehow seeped out of the bathroom tub and stayed there until dry in 2 hrs! If the bathroom was well lit I could have probably forgiven the complicated mechanism of shower operation!
3) The room decor was worn out and looked out of place. It did not at all look royal! The cushions were worn out and there were scratches everywhere. However, the bed was comfy although the bedsheet and the pillows looked like they have been used billion times.
4) There was literally no courtesy from the hotel staff to take us to the airport. Upon our checkout we were assured they would look after us and find us a travel arrangement for the airport at a reasonable rate. However, the guy who finally arrived after a long time to pick us up to the airport got stuck at one quoted price. The hotel management was clueless and failed to step in to help us get to the airport. I guess all the hospitality is reserved for the non-indian visitors.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neelsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Set in remote & dramatic countryside the fort has been transformed from a ruin into a luxurious and stylish hotel. Suites are spacious, bright, beautifully furnished, and feature round beds in the turret rooms. There are views from everywhere - don't miss the sunset from the makeshift bar at the top of the fort. Lovely swimming pool as well, the whole place encourages relaxation. But there is plenty to do nearby:visits to a local tribal village can be arranged as well as horse riding ( you need to be a competent rider though as these are local Marwari horses that use a fourth gait).
The hotel is owned and managed by Rajasthans friendliest family who are a pleasure to chat to as well as being happy to help in any way.
Visit the unspoilt village below the fort , especially if there is a festival on in the evening. The locals are genuinely pleased to see you and it's all great fun.
The food can be a little bland, especially when there are tour groups staying. Otherwise the food is excellent.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank verasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

I love this place for the stunning view, and extremely warm and friendly staff. Though the hotel isn't equipped with amenities like TV, or fancy housekeeping services, it does its best to make you feel comfortable. One review here spoke about filthy sheets et al, but I didn't find it so. Only one man took care of cleaning ALL the 30 rooms there, and did an admirable job of it.

Getting to the hotel Karni Fort, Bambora is awful, since the roads are 'raw', bumpy, and there isn't a single toilet on the way. Make sure you don't tax your bladders by drinking a lot before you begin your journey here, which might be hard given that there are 9 beer shops en route instead. Roads are narrow, dusty, but smooth at places. Since this place is a good 45kms (give or take) from the Udaipur airport, be prepared for a long long ride. As you near the fort, keep your eyes peeled for the directions, the sign boards are worn out and the local kids point together in different directions if you ask them.

One thing the hotel doesn't compromise on is open spaces. They have a park as you enter, there's a courtyard inside, and all around you are trees, fields and wind. The doors to the hotel date back to when the fort was built, and are marvelous. You can also take a walk through the nearby village, and interact with the friendly locals.

All the rooms have a breath taking view of rolling fields and plains. I recommend the suite on the first floor (the room name is 'Gloriosa Superba'). It's colourful, spacious, airy and can easily accommodate 4 people. There's a window ledge where one can sleep, and in the morning, dozens of swallows are lined up outside your window, though they're not noisy. You can also see peacocks strutting below. From the ledge across the room, you get a view of the pool side, and the odd 'langurs' that chase you if you get too close (personal experience). Visit the terrace, it's always windy here and has a superb view of the place for miles around.

Food was passable, since they didn't make local food well on request. Also, the tomato soup I ordered the second time was served watery and orange, and tasted suspiciously like tomato ketchup mixed with corn flour. They don't have a fixed menu, so I recommend asking them to describe the food there if you aren't a native. At times, the food is extremely oily. Don't hesitate to talk to the staff about any misgivings or complaints, as their service is unparalleled by any of the high-brow five star hotels I've been to so far.

Another downside is that we had gone their in winter, and it can get quite nippy. Surprisingly, they didn't have running hot water in the mornings, and this made bathing a shivering ordeal.

They have a good collection of books, mainly German and English, with some Chinese, Italian and French titles thrown in. Make sure you ask about the secret passage way they have. It originally ran for 5kms, but most of it was caved in. They also have an 18th century jacuzzi, but it's too expensive.

There is precious little to do here in the immediate vicinity. You won't get internet access, or daily newspapers. This is a place you go to for relaxation and peace. If you want to go sightseeing, the hotel fixes it up for you too. Check out the 1000 year old Jagat temple. Highly underrated and worth a visit indeed.

  • Liked — Hospitable manager and his fmaily; service; view; library; weather; close to nature; clean, unpoluted air, touch of history.
  • Disliked — Oily food; no TV, internet or newspapers; far away from the city; poorly maintained roads
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Laugh-O-Matic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Karni Fort Bombora is a peaceful haven with superb views. We gazed from our oriel window across layer upon layer of Aravallis Hills - so familiar with the moghul miniaturist of long ago.

This heritage hotel has been thoughtfully restored and enlarged, and each room has a view across the hills and is decorated with unique cut glass mosaics. The bathrooms were clean and the marble swimming pool crystal clear and cool. Food was excellent and service hospitable. The room boy found and brought me my lost diamonte pin for which I was very grateful. Fresh flower fromes where left in our room each day.

Well worth staying here - we are contemplating a return visit for a week or so - to paint, relax and unwind..

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchitectinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed here for a couple of days to unwind after travelling. It served this purpose well.

We had a lovely turret room - air conditioned. The water worked fine.

Room could have been cleaner - quite a few insects and a big ant problem.

Staff were friendly enough, and the food was Ok if not outstanding. Very big portions and too much to eat. The chance to take part in an after dinner traditional "dance" was fairly excruciating.

The views from the fort are superb, as is the swimming pool at the fort.

We had the place to ourselves most of the time. SOme other people arrived but left early due to absence of TV.

There is nothing to do nearby - the local village is not friendly, scenic or especially interesting.

The drive from Udaipur is not short, and the roads are poor. We enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't hurry back.

  • Liked — the solitude and the views
  • Disliked — the isolation and lack of things to do nearby
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussies in London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2007

It is 60kms from Udaipur along a very difficult road, there is literally nothing except the Fort there. It is very badly kept and our room stank of urine , the toilet leaked and did not flush, the shower was a horse trough with a handheld shower hose. The mattress stank of urine The sheets were urine stained. Other rooms were in similar condition however we had to use our friend's bathroom and it was better. The other rooms smelt damp and the mattresses were 2 inches thick, great if you like sleeping on the floor. Such a dissappointment. Unless you want a backpacking holiday, not recommende! It is good for back packers who know what they are getting. It has no star rating. If you do not get the turret, then you chance only getting a mildew smell although some other toilets did not flush and leaked from the base. but there are a few better rooms with a real Indian flavour. Unfortunately, we did not get them and the long jarring bus ride made us find alternate accommodation for the next night even though we were promised a better room. Careful the keys fit all the room locks. My husband became very sick from this place.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
31.6 mi away
Fort Dhariyawad
Fort Dhariyawad
#103 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shree Jagdish Mahal Heritage Hotel (Nagarseti Ri Haveli)
26.1 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#24 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
26.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
28.9 mi away
Bujera Fort
Bujera Fort
#18 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karni Fort Bambora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karni Fort Bambora

Property: Karni Fort Bambora
Address: Bambora, Udaipur 342006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Karni Fort Bambora Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing