We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$551
View deal
Booking.com$551
Hotels.com$551
Priceline$551
Travelocity$551
Trip.com$551
Orbitz.com$552
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,795)
Filter reviews
2,795 results
Traveler rating
2,520
186
47
28
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,520
186
47
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews semi private pool spa pool ankush mahajan lake pichola premier room the general manager rose petals best hotels in the world beautiful hotel boat ride city palace like royalty once in a lifetime housekeeping team luxury hotel every corner royal experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,860 - 1,865 of 2,795 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our third visit to this property. The setting is perfect on lake Picciola and the buildings and public areas are stunning.
Rooms are well decorated and very tastefully furnished. Breakfasts are excellent with a wide choice of dishes. On one evening at dinner things went slightly awry but we had some great fish dishes and the staff could not be more helpful. Rabi in the restaurant was a" star" and his rabicola was great. Vikas the assistant manager was a great help as was Divisha and Sarawati in housekeeping. All the staff were friendly, attentive and a joy. Our stay was most relaxing. Udaipur is a lovely city, we were sad to leave.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpendenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your trust, belief and for becoming the loyalist of our hotel.

I am extremely glad to have the chance of welcoming you back. Your words of appreciation are exceptional. It gives me an immense pleasure to share your feedback with the team. They are elated to know that there good job is recognized so well.

We all look forward for your more continuous visits in near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Pavilions and domes are featured at The Oberoi Udaivilas, which showcases grand architecture inspired by the palaces of Rajasthan. On the banks of Udaipur’s Lake Pichola, it has 3 restaurants, 2 heated outdoor pools and a luxurious spa.

Courtyards, fountains and gardens occupy the Oberoi Udaivilas Udaipur. Approximately 5 miles from Udaipur Train Station, the 5-star property is a 45-minute drive from Udaipur’s Dabok Airport.

Spacious and modern, each room has a sitting area by the window. Artwork and rugs decorate the rooms, which come equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, DVD player and electronic safe. They also include a minibar and marble bathroom.

A variety of movies and audio CDs are available for guest to borrow. Practice yoga, learn a Rajasthani folk dance or attend a cooking lesson with the in-house chef. Camel and elephant rides are available upon request. A more relaxing option is a skikara (wooden boat) ride with wine and canapé.

Udaimahal Restaurant specializes in traditional Indian food including Rajasthani and North Indian dishes. Order Western, Mediterranean and Thai food at Suryamahal or enjoy open-air dining with traditional music and dance evening performances at Chandni. 24-hour in-room dinning is also available.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebelshail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

Your turn of phrases about the design and architecture of Udaivilas are indeed reminiscent of a Rajasthan Palace . Our building is build on the hunting lounge of king Maharana on the bank of lake Pichola and it is the reflection of mewar and mugal dynasty.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed the services and had cherish memories. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilās sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

"True luxury" are the two words that I have for my stay at this hotel. It's a $$$$ hotel.

The hotel is spread over a gargantuan amount of area and has it's own animal reserve.

Rooms are moderately sized, the room that I was staying in was on the ground floor and it had a nice sit out area which led into a verandah. The other rooms are usually pool facing. I prefer the garden view sit out area rooms as it has a nice green view!

The room was well appointed with modern amenities, walk in closet, bath tub etc.

The hotel has a big lawn called the Crescent Lawns which is close to an amphitheatre style construction! Overall the hotel is nicely maintained in terms of cleanliness, trimmed gardens etc. The entire hotel has sand stone flooring which gives it a very natural feel. The hotel is so wide spread that its actually took me a 3-4 minute walk from the lobby till my room and I used to get lost at times as well :-)

The breakfast spread was not impressive at all! Restaurant food was ok, nothing great!

A definite second visit!!

Room tip: I love the rooms with sit-out and garden view!
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prattyush N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the exceptional review.

The Oberoi Udaivilas covers total area of 50 acres. The landscaping area is maintained under beautiful gardens and it also has a wild life conservatory which covers almost 20 acres of area. Our room size is largest amongst all the other hotels in Udaipur and I am so glad to know that you have enjoyed the serenity and tranquility of the hotel so very much. Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Oberoi Udaivilas is one of the most highly rated hotels in the world. It deserves the designation. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are exceptional and the food is great. The grounds are also beautiful.

Room tip: If your budget allows it, try to get a room with a view of the shared private pool.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dugan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas on your trip o Rajasthan and for sharing a wonderful review.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed the services and loved the property so much. Your words of high regard are exceptional.

Thank you very much for your reward and recognition.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back with your family and friends and to look after you once again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

As soon as we entered the premises, we were blown away with just taking in the amount of details the resort management had gone through. Every lawn was trimmed, trees shaped up, the marble floors used within the resort was nothing short of brilliant. The room check in was immediate and hassle free. The staff is the greatest asset of Udaivilas. They are utmost courteous and polite and take care of your every need on a priority basis.

Me, my wife, and another couple had gone there for 2 days of unwinding during the Diwali vacation and true to the word, this resort has got to be the number one in the world. When I was near the pool, the pool attendant immediately offered bottled water, sunscreen lotion, fruit dish and wet napkins. The rooms were gorgeous clean and the bathrooms spacious. The corridors, the chandeliers, the tranquil water bodies gushing through the resort and the spectacular gardens are nothing short of perfect.

The staff goes out of their way to ensure you have a quality time. The pool is spacious and clean. I used the steam room and my wife went for spa and that was in itself worth the money. The breakfast is delicious as well. The bar setting reminds you of the kind of luxury the old kings must have had. Rest assured, once you enter here you will not want to go home. It is more than a palace and more luxury than even the kings had. Every penny is worth for what this resort charges.

Its a heavenly bliss. We had a great time and we thank the Udaivilas staff for it. For making the stay memorable & we will definitely come back for more.

Regards,
Rovin Desai.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, Udaipur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the incredible review.

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and extremely grateful when these are being recognised.

Your words about Udaivilas are extremely valuable, thank you so much for appreciating it so graciously.

Our team is an asset to the company and it gives me great pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We would love to see you again soon and for longer time!

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews