We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Highest quality”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

There is only one word for this Hotel, and all the aspects of it, including the General Manger, Superb. The location, the view, the rooms, the food, and above all the Staff combine to produce an hotel which it is hard to better anywhere in the world.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leckby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sparing your precious time and sharing such a beautiful compliments

Your words about Udaivilas are extremely valuable, thank you for appreciating it so graciously.

Our team is an asset to the company and it gives me great pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We all at the Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back on again on your yearly visit to Udaipur.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    143
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
466
816
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights in this very special hotel and loved everything about it. Fantastic buildings and interiors. Magnificent gardens and superb staff!! A wonderful bonus to be upgraded to the regency suite( oh my word, it's unbelievable.) We were so spoilt with all kinds of treats and surprises by everyone and can't thank the staff enough for all the effort they put into making our honeymoon memories so special. If ever you want to treat yourself to an amazing hotel experience, this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay and we are delighted to know that you liked our property so much.

It is always our earnest hope that every guest of The Oberoi family has an outstanding experience each time they stay with us. Your feedback boost up our confidence and encourage us to deliver the best service and attention always.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Oberoi Udaivilas makes the claim to be the top resort hotel in Asia. This claim is completely deserved. It has to be the most magnificent hotel you can imagine. We have stayed in several Oberoi resort hotels, all of which have their own unique architectural styles but the Udaivilas just blows you away. The layout of the buildings, the gardens, the views across the lake, the whole effect is stunning. You can spend ages just wandering around the grounds. There is even a small wildlife area and an old hunting lodge where Mr Singh, a gentleman of over 80 years provides you a guided tour and insight to the old ways of the Maharajas. You can see captive deer, wild boar and pheasants and even mongoose.
We took a Premier Room, which happened to be south facing and meant we got the sun all afternoon and into the evening. Each room has a small courtyard and ours faced out over the gardens. Nice for the old sundowners!!!
In February the days are warm but not overpowering and the evenings are cool. If you sit outside in the restaurant enjoying the local music and dancing, each table is provided with a brazier.
As with all Oberoi hotels, it is the staff that makes the stay so memorable. They are just wonderful and you will never get the same treatment at any other hotel. The attention to detail from the reception, from housekeeping right through to dining is an experience fit for VIP’s, sports and movie stars. The chances are you might rub shoulders with movie stars during your stay.
I booked the package myself using Oberoi’s own Exotic Vacations, details are available on their website. They provide their own destination experts. If you can, ask for Amrita. She was brilliant and so helpful. Using their services will give you some very good inclusions. There is no getting away from the fact that you do need deep pockets to stay at Oberoi hotels but for shear luxury and for that once in a lifetime experience you have to try them.

Room Tip: If you go Premier room request south facing for the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. Your valuable time to evaluate our product and services is greatly appreciated!!

Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and they are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly with us. Your generous recommendation of our performance will certainly be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

One of the grandest hotels in India I have been too. Had took the room with a semi private pool. It is an experience to dip your feet in the private pool while having a glass of wine and looking at lake palace and city palace lit up. You can easily spend a day viewing the property.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write your appreciation following your experience with The Oberoi Udaivilas.

Your appreciation about the room, services and surroundings are really very special and exceptional. We are glad to know that you had a enjoyable and memorable stay with us.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We first visited Udaipur in 2007 when we were with friends on a budget and stayed in the town. We always promised ourselves we would come back and stay at the Oberoi. It has been worth the wait. We took a room with a semi private pool. For the first two days this was our own private pool as other guests fronting on to the pool were out visiting. The water was quite cold - 23C - but really refreshing. I swam two or three times a day.

We had a view over the lake towards the palace - absolutely fantastic.

The spa was very good - my wife and I both had a massage which was great.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a semi private pool overlooking the lake with a view of the palace, but avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a inspiring review. We are honoured to have a esteemed guest like you. Thank you very much for your kind affection and commitment.

It gives me enormous happiness to share your feedback with the team at The Oberoi Udaivilās and they are elated to fathom that they were able to serve your with best hospitality.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

There is no other hotel in the world that meets the beauty and charm of the Oberoi Udaivilas. I have no words to describe this amazing property. One has to experience it personally to understand the true meaning of the word Service and Hospitality.

The team at the Udaivilas is amazing. They go to such heights to provide the impeccable service, that no other hotel staff can do. Special thanks to Mr. Vincent, Mr Deepak and our butler Mr. Mahi. They made our stay one of the most memorable stays ever.

It was my 2nd visit to the hotel and it is commendable to learn that the restaurant staff even knows what we had ordered during our last stay and what new they could offer us this time. The level of personalisation in service they can offer is simply unmatchable.

The staff greets you by Name, its so good to know that we are not just a room no. for them.The goal of the team is to provide the best service they can offer. You will never hear the word "NO" in the hotel.

To our luck, we were staying at the Kohinoor Suite, the largest and the most luxurious suite at the Udaivilas. Again a special thanks to Mr. Deepak for that. And as a perks of staying in the suite we were offered a butler service. Mr. Mahi, our butler was the man who made us feel like royals. I must say he is an amazing bartender also.

As always the food at the Udaivilas is one of the best food we have had, and specially their Indian Preparations are amazing. The Lamb Biryani is to die for. But we did miss Chef Roopak.

I didn't write much about the room because staying in the Kohinoor Suite itself is an experience, and one has to personally experience it, to understand the level of hard work and detailing that goes into creating such a masterpiece.

The hotel and its team has pampered us so much that now we can not stay with any other hotel. You have turned us to become loyal to the Oberoi Group.

Will come back soon, as we can not settle for less now.

I have shared my experience on Youtube - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nm5l80UAtfY

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikunjDuggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to look after you once again.

It was a pleasure to welcome you back and I am glad to know that this time we served you with perfection and were able to regain your confidence in our services.

Thank you for sharing your unsurpassed review on trip advisor. Your words of appreciation are endless and gives me immense pleasure to share it with the team members. They are thrilled with your compliments.

The team at The Oberoi are known for their personalized and commendable service. Thank you for recognizing their hard work so well.

We all look forward to your continued visits and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any help with any of you travels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned from India, we stayed at the Oberoi, Udaipur, it is heaven on earth!
From the smiling welcome we were cosseted and cared for by everyone we met. Our room was beautiful, comfortable with everything you could wish for. We wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel complex is situated on the lake edge with lovely gardens and views across to palaces. We dined outside, the service was excellent and food wonderful. I envy anyone who is going to stay there in the future. It was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dylanShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and for choosing the Oberoi Udaivilas for your holidays.

Our resort is designed as a traditional palace with decorative fountains and pavilions. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed the property and beautiful surroundings.

All of us at The Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the city of lakes.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing