We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Udaivilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! Set right on the lake with a warm and welcoming staff, we had a magical time here. Our suite had a swimming pool and our breakfast outside in the morning was spectacular both for the food and the view. It was our first wedding anniversary, and the staff went out of tuts way to help us celebrate!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your anniversary celebration. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed the services and loved the property so much. Your words of high regard are exceptional.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back with your family and friends and to look after you once again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    141
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
448
787
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

During our tour in Rajasthan we have stayed in many Oberoi hotels . This one was the best. The resort is lying by the lake and immediately gives you a sense of piece . Rooms are spacious , gardens are huge and very well kept and the Spa very good although it was a little bit difficult to make a reservation. But the atmosphere of this hotel especially at night with the lights on is awesome . Stuff is very polite and makes you feel comfortable all the time .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Hotels and Resorts for your trip to Rajasthan.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. The hotel is build on a hunting lounge of Maharana, on the banks of lake Pichola. It showcase the traditional culture of Mugal and Mewar. Your comments with respect to grounds, food and services are highly valued. Thank you very much once again.

All of us at The Oberoi Udaivilas look forward to welcome you back and assure you exceptional experience on your next visit to Udaipur.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

i was here for a weekend with my wife.... the property is very good... the rooms and staff are no doubt the best.... the only concern was food and rooms.... the rooms show a bit sign of being an old property and for food we always had to keep the chefs on toe... but otherwise it was a good experience...

Room Tip: in summers the room with semi private pool or private pool is best... winters any room is good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saurabh1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to know that you have enjoyed the overall services. I am pleased to hear of the personalized service you have received from our chef. Our executive chefs strive to meet all diners every evening to ensure they cook their favorites to their likings. The architecture of the hotel respects the original mogul and mewar palaces with traditional art and craft using natural elements of the times. This makes The Oberoi Udaivilas stand out from all other properties.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention and services.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Hotel more than the city is GREEN, Charming, Quiet, Relaxing and definitely not cheap. I felt little need to leave the huge property. Large green gardens, Birds and hammocks all over the place. Great food too. The staff is very polite attentive & helpful. This was a perfect pampering de-stressing vacation. The dry dusty city was painful in comparison to the Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the view you prefer...cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreeLover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay and taking out the time for sharing your experience on trip advisor.

I happy to know that you had a relaxed and serene vacation and have thoroughly enjoyed the exquisiteness of grounds, garden, hills and nature.

Your compliments have been passed on to the team members and they extend their gratitude for appreciating their efforts so well.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Very beautiful location on the lake. The service was very good but a bit patchy. Lots of hotel staff - sometimes too many as issues got lost in all the people from the hotel that were involved. Surprised that there were no almost activities for kids. But overall very nice stay - I guess our expectations were greater given the hotel class.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0n_v0yage17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time for sharing your experience with us . We are delighted to know that you liked our property so much .

I have noted your descriptive and constructive feedback in regards to the service and we can assure the reader that we are not sparing any efforts to groom the new team members.

I am confident that all our guest will continue to received a personalized and efficient service from well trained hospitality professionals and you will experience the difference on your next visit to The Oberoi Udaivilas.

We look forward t your return visit to Udaipur.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Oberoi Udaivilas over 2013 Christmas. This is really a modern palace with so much attention paid to minute detail in everything. The service is impeccable. The manager, Vincent, deserves a special mention for his style of engaging with the guests and ensuring that any minor problems that arise are sorted out without any delay. Almost all aspects of the hotel - the suite, the restaurants, the artworks, the pool, the lovely gardens, the spa, access to the lake, the shikara boat ride were experiences to savor. Cannot wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jdavis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your incredible appreciation. These are really very special!!

Your compliments have been shared with the team members and they are extremely pleased to know that their efforts are appreciated.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our properties worldwide, in the near future.

Should I be of any help to facilitate any of your reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

It's been almost a year since our stay at Udaivilas. I sStill have it so vivid in my memory. The most incredible and beautiful hotel. Would love to be back in that infinity pool looking at the lake! Amazing friendly hospitality. The spa was perfection!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osvaldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the wonderful review. It is flattering to know that after a year, you still have vivid memories of your stay with us.

Our rooms with private pool is truly unique overlooking Lake Pichola and no doubt you loved it.
Thank you very much for your everlasting compliments, support and recommendation!!

Please contact me directly when you next intend to travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi destination, I would be delighted to have the chance of welcoming you once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,822 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#23 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing