We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, amazing location, inconsistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I agree with other reviewers here that the Oberoi Udaivillas is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds and buildings are stunning, the pool and spa are great, and the rooms are amazing. The setting, with stunning views of the lake and city, are remarkable.
If I could stop writing here, I would give five stars.

But unfortunately the service was the most problematic among the Oberoi properties (we stayed in Oberois in Delhi, Mumbai, Jaipur, and Agra).
We stayed in a Premier Room with semi-private pool, which we thought was worth the extra money. One evening before dinner we asked for fresh towels and turndown service to be done while we were at dinner. When we returned to the room after dining, none of it had been done. This is disappointing at a property of this caliber.
During dinner at the outdoor restaurant, the "entertainment" consisted of two musicians - one playing a stringed instrument and the other a percussion instrument. The string player was beyond terrible and a number of tables complained. A waiter told us that he was still warming up, although this had been going on for about 45 minutes. During this time, the percussion guy was laughing and checking his text messages. It was surreal.

We complained to the front desk that evening, and the following morning the General Manager met with me in the lobby. He was very gracious and apologetic, and I will say we were treated like royalty the second night at dinner.
Friends with whom we were traveling also had service complaints, and we all agreed that while this property was especially stunning visually, it seemed like they were not trying very hard to provide good, consistent service and were perhaps relying too much on reputation.

If we return to Udaipur, we would likely try the Lake Palace Hotel. In other Indian cities, we would opt for an Oberoi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and for sharing your experience with us.

As per our conversations during your stay, the momentary lapse of service experience was immediately rectified. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment caused to you. I have noted that you have also received the royal treatment we are known for.

I have noted your intention to return to Udaipur, and we look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at The Oberoi Udaivilas. At least for one of our magical dinner experience so we can restore your faith in our services.

I have noted that you have enjoyed the Oberoi Hotels and Resort hospitality during your extended trip of India, and we thank you for choosing us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 2,004 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Imagine that you arrive at the most outstanding hotel garden and entrance you have ever seen after a pleasant ride in a hotel limo (past an elephant casually standing in the middle of a busy central intersection!), and suddenly you are showered from on high with fresh and fragrant red rose petals, greeted with floral garlands by a crowd of staff including the general manger, with drinks and a traditional welcome. We felt like "Brangelina" for our whole stay! 3 nights was not enough, Udaipur is a great town, with so much to do; and we just cannot imagine how any part of our stay could have been any better. There is just no criticism possible to make. We stayed in the Great Moghul suite, with a private pool, outdoor living pavilion, fantastic views. We were given fresh flowers every day, fruit platters , plates of treats. The food was great, and provided if desired alfresco with local musicians and dancer. But what really sets this hotel apart is the staff. We had numerous long and interesting conversations with many of the genuinely caring staff, the Oberoi hotels have their staff selection and training down to a fine art. This was the trip of a lifetime, and Udaivilas was the highlight.

Room Tip: Splurge and stay in a suite with a private pool if you coming in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas for your stay and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

It is our constant endeavour , to provide you the best service, which would exceed your expectations. I am glad to know that you are extremely satisfied and had memorable stay with us. The team always strives hard to achieve excellence in service delivery. Thank you very much for recognizing and appreciating their good job.

We look forward to welcome you back and ensure you once again an unforgettable holidays.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has won numerous awards, including Best Hotel in India, Best Hotel in Asia, Best Resort in the World...and it deserves each of these awards! The property is breathtaking; we upgraded to a suite with a semi-private pool. The service is beyond compare. Everyone knows your first name and your last name. You are treated as royalty. The spa is stunning. Do treat yourself to an Indian Ritual Spa and take full advantage of the gorgeous (adults only) Spa pool. We were greeting every time we returned to the hotel with cold compresses as well as FRESHLY SQUEEZED sweet lime, watermelon or orange juice (season dependent). There is daily yoga, croquet and a mini-golf course. Please take advantage of each inch of this property. At night, it is illuminated with candles. And the domed roof glows from within. Peacocks roam the property freely.

As a sidenote, we stayed in all Oberoi properties throughout our 2+ week visit to India. Prior to this trip, I firmly believed the Asian brands (air, hotel) were the highest with regards to service levels. Not so anymore...the staff and service at every single Oberoi property we visited was out of this world. Thank you for making our trip one of the highlights of our lives! We can't wait to return!!

Anthony and Lisa Molinaro

Room Tip: If you will be visiting India, stay at an Oberoi property. They are like no other in this world!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mny_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
WOW!!
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I am glad to know that you had a memorable stay and have enjoyed our services thoroughly at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

The Oberoi Spa has been recently awarded as thebest spa by Geo Spa and pleased to know that you liked the treatment with beautiful view of Aravalli ranges, lake Pichola and city palace. Thank you so much for the reward and recommendation, it gives me immense pleasure to pass on your comment to the team members. They all extends their gratitude for recognizing their hard work so well.

Please contact me directly whenever you plan your next travel to Udaipur or to any Oberoi properties. We all look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The property is located in a nice location with great views of the lake. We as a family had a nice vacation. The staff was great. We were received in the airport by the staff & were driven back to the hotel. After the traditional welcome we were swiftly escorted to our rooms where all the checkin formalities were completed swiftly. We had a very enjoying stay in the hotel.

The only drawback which i could find was that the hotel needs renovation especially in wash rooms where we could find lot of stains in the room floor. After complaining about this we were upgraded to room with a semi private pool but we were little disappointed with the same as we were able to notice the stains in the bathroom floor but we didnot want to make a fuss about it, but certainly need repair as it is not surely the oberoi standards. I was certainly disappointed with spa & they graciously cancelled my bills.

Anyway we had a wonderful stay & would specially thank Sree at the concierge, Chef Rupak, Payal & Roshni at the restaurents & not the least Vincent the General Manager. Thank You every body for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with semi private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shashi1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We all are extremely delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our surroundings, food, personalized services and had a memorable stay.

Please accept my sincere apology for the discomfort caused to you due to the room flooring. Each room goes through a detailed preventive maintenance program once or twice a year and your comments have been addressed as part of this program.

Your kind words of appreciation have been passed on to Sree, Rupak, Payal and Roshni. They extends their gratitude for recognizing their hard work.

We look forward to serving you on your next trip.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Catching up with my reviews so feel I have to start by saying we stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of the Captains’ Choice tour in November 2012.

I’ve split my review into good and not so good points so here goes:-

Good Points:-
The hotel is just so beautiful. Everything about it is fantastic from the arrival by boat rather than car, to the staff - all of whom are very polite & courteous. The architecture reflects that of the palaces of Rajasthan – quite spectacular. The grounds are stunning and the attention to detail is amazing. All the food we were served was of a very high standard and the kitchens are overseen by Executive Chef Deep Mohan Singh Arneja, a most pleasant man who I’m sure we have met before on our travels! Vincent and his team run the hotel like a well oiled machine – everything goes like clockwork. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed two restful nights sleep. Housekeeping did a splendid job of looking after our room.

Not So Good Points:-
Having only stayed at the hotel two nights with much of that time out & about sight seeing, I have to say, I don’t have any negative comments and I did keep a diary so all thoughts/observations were well documented.

Conclusion:- This hotel is magical. We loved it and are hopeful of returning one day. Congratulations to the management team and staff on their achievements, accolades and awards. ALL are well deserved.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the lake, you'll not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review.

We are glad to know that you liked our services, accommodation and surroundings and had an exceptional stay. Your words of appreciation are everlasting and encourage us to present our best hospitality always. Thank you for recognizing Chef Deep and he is elated with your remarkable praises.

We would love to see you again soon and for longer this time! A minimum of three nights is actually recommended. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am just back from 2nights trip to celebrate our anniversary there. Udaivilla team made our special day very wonderful. Thanks a lot.

This property is huge and architecture is amazing! The room is large and well designed. Staffs are well trained and very child friendly, and treated my daughter as a little princess. She did not want to leave there. :)

However, the family with little ones has some limitations. The spa infinity pool is prohibited for kids to access which is the best location of this property. That's sad. I recommed the family with small kids to stay try at the Trident which is more child friendly and have more kids activities without any cost. It was worth to visit, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the room facing the busy path because there are so many outside guests who just visit the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on this special occasion, it was our pleasure to serve you at The Oberoi Udaivilas. We wish you heartiest congratulations once again.

The Oberoi Udaivilas architecture is design on Mugal and Mewari culture, with tranquil surroundings, fountains and stunning overlooking lake view, it represents the rich heritage of Mewar. I am glad to know that you had a memorable stay with us.

We have noted your comments with regards to the spa pool and would recommend you to book a Lake view room with semi private pool for you and your family on your next visit.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Yes, it does not have the history of Lake Palace hotel. BUT it certainly makes up for it: it was voted best hotel in the world several times and I can understand why. The architecture is amazing, everything is beautiful and breathy. The Kohinoor Suite is just unbelievable with an enormous private pool overlooking Udaipur and Lake Pichola. Several restaurants, amazing spa and - as (almost) always with Oberoi - perfect service! I will certainly return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay at Udaipur.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the tranquil surroundings, accommodation, overlooking view of lake Pichola from the private pool, restaurant, spa, services etc. Your comments are truly cherished and thank you for recognizing the team efforts so well.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in not too distant future. Please do let me know if you need any assistance in planning your holidays with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 175 in Udaipur
3,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: $690 - $1,406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing