We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there is anything better than this, I'd like to experience it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“If there is anything better than this, I'd like to experience it”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing much to add to what the others have already said.
Just pack your bags and go and get pampered by all those amazing people.
We spent 2 nights of our anniversary in Udaivilas, it was a gift from my inlaws and wow, it was amazing.
We had the basic rooms, but even then, there is nothing basic about it.
Luxury was oozing out, everything was so perfect.
We even felt bad to sleep on those amazing bed - it was so perfect
Thanks to everyone at the hotel and thanks to my inlaws for this wonderful gift

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your words of appreciation following your recent visit to The Oberoi, Udaivilās.

Once again a heartiest congratulations and best wishes to you both. It was our pleasure to have the opportunity of being part of your special celebration.

I am delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay thoroughly.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our properties worldwide, in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    146
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
479
821
43
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

i visit the place during my tour to udaipur. it is super luxury hotel with maharaja style welcome when the guest enter the main gate the inside staff auto alert and give a smiling welcome to all. the scenic view of udaipur is more viewable from the hotel area and food is so delicious with 2 luxury resto rents and 1 open sitting area around lake area specially the guy abhishek serve well me in my lunch and a smart guy saksham show me the hotel area very well the peacock around the garden increase more beauty of the place if you are with kids then don't miss the bada mahal area of animals when they feed them in evening by 5 pm i would like to stay their my next visit thanks to mr.OBEROI to make it a great place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paramjitsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your compliments with us, they are really very special.

Our resort is designed as a traditional palace with decorative fountains and pavilions and no doubts it is the dream property of Mr. PRS. Oberoi. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the accommodation and services.

Thank you for recognizing Abhishek for his good job. Your kind words of appreciation like this keeps us motivated to strive for excellence in all aspects.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Udaivillas is one of the most beautiful and peaceful places. The hotel is located on the banks of the lake with beautiful architecture and design. The surroundings are simply magnificent with beautiful gardens everywhere. After being to the Lake palace, Udaivillas has definitely the best location and the best view. The rooms are luxurious, comfortables and spacious. The service is outstanding and genuinely friendly. The food is absolutely wonderful. One thing must be experienced is an outdoor gourmet dinner under the stars at La promenade - restaurant facing the lake, absolutely divine.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake and possibly with private pool are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchulzMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

WOW! Thank you so much for your endless words of appreciation . Its splendid.

It was extremely pleasurable to pass on a copy of your comments to Sudhip, Ritu,Roma, Sanjay, Kamal,Roni, Kencho, Rohit, Rajesh, Sidd, Poornima and to all the team members. They are pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Udaivilās.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Before going there I had heard that Udaivilas is 7 star property but after staying there for 2 nights I feel it is 9 star property, 7 for hotel and 2 for extremely courteous and ever-smiling staff.Chef Raunak, steward Payal,Sagvey from spa,Peter,Ranvir at jetty and all other staff were just too good always ready to serve you. The chef Raunak prepared special light veg; food for us. The egg white souffle omelette during breafast was the best we have eaten in entire world,just don't miss it.
We were staying in a semi private pool room with a lake view which was very spacious with pool area. We had requested a room far away from restaurants and we got a room which was last in that row. It was almost 200 meters away from restaurants but we like to walk after our meals. The mini zoo with deer.peacocks and wild boars was just outside our room.
The hotel is right on Lake Pichola with a stunning view. The interior was an excellent combination of modern and palacial architecture. Before this visit my best hotel was Fairmont at Lake Louise but Udaivilas beats that because of staff and service.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay in this beautiful hotel then be prepare to spend some extra and book a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalkrishnaShroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback!!

Your kind words of appreciation has been passed on to Chef Rupak, Payal, Sangai, Peter, Ranvir and to all team members. Thank you so much for recognizing their hard work.

Our resort includes the magnificent setting combines with royal service to make your holiday a journey into the romance and grandeur of another century. I am glad to know that we were able to make your stay memorable and one of THE BEST stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you on your next trip to Udaipur.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Situated on the banks of a river in beautiful gardens with gracious architecture.
Magnificent physical surroundings only matched by excellent and friendly service.
Dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake under the stars.
Wonderful food,attentive waiters and beautiful setting.
Udaipur is a beautiful city and the hotel compliments it.

Room Tip: The rooms with the pools near the private wildlife park are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prudence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed our services, premises and our hospitality.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the beautiful city Udaipur.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here last week for a couple of days with Tauck. A gorgeous hotel,lovely location, fabulous rooms and the decor throughout the hotel and grounds is fabulous. Wonderful dinner out on the terrace, shimmering lights and delightful waiters. Overall the quality of service is excellent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us and for sharing your experience.

We strive everyday to deliver an excellent experience to our guests. Your generous indication of our product and service, will be a source of inspiration and it encourages us to achieve even higher standards of services.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful, newly built on a great piece of land by the lake Pichola, just like what we see in pictures, an outstanding property in deed. Location is a bit further outside of the city, but with a great view of it. Our group stayed in the rooms with semi-private pool which are very large and very nicely decorated, each with a large bay window with comfortable seating and the view of the lake over the pool, most suitable for romantic holidays.

Though the December weather was too cold for us to use our rooms' pool , the hotel also has two large temperature controlled pools (27 -29 degree Celcius.) for those who wish to swim. We chose to try the steam rooms and later the spa service, the therapists were great though it was a little odd that the spa rooms are not in a separate section but located not so far from the hotel rooms.

Dinner at the restaurant by the lake was also great, good food - great atmosphere. The waiter was very helpful in suggesting the vegetarian pasta dish for me, turned out to be one of the best in my 2 week Rajasthan trip. Both the Chef and Restaurant Manager came out later to ask if everything was fine. We're all very impressed with the quality of service, their attention to our needs, everyone seemed to be eager to greet us with a smile and ready to serve the guests. Breakfast was good, not spectacular. But the special thing again was the service, my sister ordered fried rice and could not finish it, she asked for it to be packed as we were leaving for a long trip that day. It turned out the rice was neatly packed in a bag, with napkins, plastic utensils, and a bottle of water. It may be a little thing, but we are so impressed with their kindness and the attention to the details. It is to be noted also that they've worked to assigned our 3 rooms right next to each other, not all the 5 stars hotels had done that for us.

In all, we had a very pleasant stay at the Oberoi. My kid enjoyed the garden and a bit of a tour in their small open "zoo". I'd like to note that the hotel is so large, and our beautiful rooms are quite far from the lobby, it was a long walk to the restaurants and those who mind the distance should request for the rooms not too far.

Our group had a hard time deciding between the Oberoi and the Taj Lake Palace upon our booking, so we decided to stay one night at each hotel which was a bit of a pain but we were too curious to find out about both. We found each with their own strengths and uniqueness it'll be subjective to say which is a better place to stay. For us, both are marvelous in their own way, one has its heritage and is uniquely beautiful, but of course as an old palace in the lake, it does have a more limited space therefore one pool, 2 small jacuzzis, and the smaller room size, smaller but also very beautiful garden...It's a matter of choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you took time to write on trip advisor.

Your appreciation about the rooms, grounds, staff are really very special. The highly motivated and well trained staff is a distinctive feature of Udaivilas, who provide exceptionally attentive, personalized and warm service. We are glad to know that we were able to create an environment of excellence.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

We are looking forward to your returning soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing