We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantabulous”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful properties I came across in Udaipur. The place has its own charm and you can feel the charm as soon as you step in. I remember the stories of heaven told as a kid to me by my mother and I felt all those tales came alive as soon as I entered the place. The golf car came to pick us as we had gone to the place to have our dinner. The golf car was followed by several men and women bowing down to us giving us a totally royal experience.
The dinner was exceptional topping it up with some amazing desserts. This is a must go place in udaipur. One of the best five star hotels I have ever been to in my life. I highly recommend this place to any art or beauty lover. Trust me this place wont disappoint you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrigankupadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out and giving a incredible review on your experience.

It has been our constant endeavor to offer an experience that make you feel the royal era. Our resort includes the magnificent setting combines with royal service to make your holiday a journey into the romance and grandeur of another century.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of inspiration for us to attain even higher standards of service excellence.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur .

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,618
    147
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
488
825
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Udaivilas in july 2012. Got picked up from airport and railway station in BMW,s as we arrived in two groups with total 4 rooms for two nights.We arrived at the hotel by boat wow. The check-in was efficient and we were given a room to freshen up while we waited for our rooms to be ready as we arrived earlier than the check-in time. were greeted by GM on arrival. We booked 3 rooms with semi private pool and one deluxe room. Upgraded and given all rooms with private pool. Resort is beautiful with lot of greenery and smiling and helpful staff all around. Staff goes out of the way to make your stay pleasant and atmosphere in the hotel is so relaxed and friendly. The food is very good, made even better due to the service. We ordered a chicken dish and felt it was very well cooked though a bit overpowering with spices and commented that to the waiter just as a after thought and next thing we know the Chef himself came with the same dish cooked perfectly with milder spices...amazing the level of service at Udaivilas is so high up there keep it up. after this trip I always find myself comparing other hotels with Udaivilas and see the difference in the level of service. Best place for a romantic get away in India

Room Tip: room with semi private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glorious feedback!

I am truly happy to read that our services and facilities were able to serve you perfectly and professionally.

Your exceptional appraisal is a source of motivation by which we always strive to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I fully understand why Oberoi Hotels receive the accolades they do.... There is nothing like these hotels that we have ever experienced ! From the rooms, the food, most most importantly the attitude and attentiveness and hospitality of the staff, the Oberoi chain far surpasses all the rest. My husband and I have traveled all over the world and have been fortunate to stay in wonderful hotels, but on our recent trip to India, nothing could have prepared us for the Oberoi experience ! Go for it, it is well worth it ! Teri & Allen Litman, N.Y.C

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi Hotels and Resorts. Thank you for taking time and writing on trip advisor.

Your feedback has been shared with the team and they are elated to fathom that you enjoyed your stay.

Your appreciation of our performance is a great source of encouragement and we are motivated to preserve and attain even higher standards of service excellence.

We are looking forward to your returning soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

It is difficult to stay at any other hotels after spending a few nights in Udaivillas altthough we had stayed a few nights before at the Oberoi Vanyavila with excellent personalised service in beautiful surroundings. Our family of four arrived exhausted from a long train journey from Jaipur at 11pm. The cars and team greeted us warmly and immediately made us feel comfortable . Our dinner orders were efficiently taken in the car, it was only a fifteen minutes drive to the hotel. Rose petals were sprinkled from the balcony as we walked into the hotel lobby. Deepak the head housekeeper took care of us from that very moment and made sure we felt more than at home. The restaurant was kept open for us, and we had a shower before meeting the smiling staff who served us a delicious Indian meal prepared by Chef Deep. The menu is varied with Indian, South East Asian and continental choices. Everything was cooked to a high standard . Needless to stay we slept very soundly the first night in our majestic rooms.
The next day we visited the town in the morning and soon were back to relax at the premises of the hotel. All four of us had a very professional haircut by Sanjay the hotel's hairdresser trained by Vidal Sassoon as well as by family trade for generations. He was a perfectionist , as noted by my 12 year old daughter. The spa is luxurious and there were couples waiting for their spa treatment. For children there were numerous activities that could be organised including camel rides, pottery, kite flying.
We were made to feel very special and given all the attention in the world during our stay. A big thank you to Vincent Guironnet and his team. THis was a very memorable experience to us and we intend to go back as soon as we can !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your incredible review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

I am grateful for your appreciation of our facilities and services provided by the team. The highly motivated and well trained staff is a distinctive feature of Udaivilas, who provide exceptionally attentive, personalized and warm service.

Thank you for your special appreciation and for recognizing Deepak, Chef Deep and Sanjay for their personal attention.

The team and I look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organize any Oberoi trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our company's management offsite was held at this gorgeous hotel, where everyone is made to feel like royalty. The rooms are grounds are beautifully maintained and have a touch of old world elegance. One could not ask for a more luxurious stay - but I certainly would not foot the bill personally. Plus, there's really nothing to do outside of the grounds of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFscott413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and writing on trip advisor. It was our pleasure to serve you for the stay you held at The Oberoi Udaivilas.

Your appreciation about the rooms, grounds, staff are really very special. We are glad to know that we were able to made a relaxing environment for you and it was a memorable stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The moment we arrived it was apparant we were somewhere very special. From the first to the last encounter with the hotel and its staff it was flawless. The hotel property is second to none and the staff anticipate your every want and obliges with fullfillment and a most pleasant attitiude. They upgrated us to a suite which surpassed any that we had previously stayed in during our many worldwide travels. A well appointed bedroom, a bathroom to be envived, walk in closet, living room area, dining area and to mtop it off a private swimming pool, dech and outside eating gezebo. Needless to say and exceptional experience for us .

Room Tip: The five suites care exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was indeed a pleasure welcoming you in our dream location.

I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and it encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

There is no doubt in my mind why the Udaivilas is rated #1 in Asia and #5 in the world (I need to find out who is number 1 in the world). This is the best hotel and the most awesome experience I have ever had. The entire property felt like Disneyland (so magical) only better. Upon arriving, the staff showered us with rose petals. Breakfast each day was so amazing. I have never ever had better service anywhere in my life (and I've been all over the world). They are warm, hospitable and seem like they can't do enough for you. I normally do not have the time or the interest to write reviews, but I could not let this one go. In my opinion, this is the finest hotel in the universe. Staying there was a magical experience all the way around. Awesome rooms, food, location, staff, pool, view, herb garden (thanks for the tour Rupak - the chef) and an almost private dinner over looking the lake with the most wonderful customized meal of my life!! Wow, wow, wow. Thank you!!! Oh, I forgot to say that I had the most wonderful massage of my life here. The ayervedic massage is beyond amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow What a review!

We are delighted to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests. Thank you once again for taking the time to write to us and for sharing your expereince.

I am grateful for your appreciation of our facilities and services provided by the team. The highly motivated and well trained staff is a distinctive feature of Udaivilas, who provide exceptionally attentive, personalized and warm service. They were pleased to know that their efforts were so well recognized.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Group and Udaivilas ( Magical Disneyland).

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to organise any Oberoi trip.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 161 in Udaipur
3,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 161 in Udaipur
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 161 in Udaipur
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313 001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing