We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived from Mumbai at about 8.30pm and were met at the airport by Sandjay, what a lovely person, he said it was about 40 min drive but he made it feel like 10 mins, he spoke the whole time about the area, so informative and knowledable. We arrived at the Jetty and then taken in a boat across the lake, it was magicial. We were met at the hotel by Poornima who along with the GM, Vincent Guironnet has moved from Rajvilas to here, a lovely surprise. This is a very Grand hotel but in no way formal, it has a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There is a view from every aspect of this hotel, stunning and quite breathtaking.We had a fantastic time here we met some wonderful staff and I even had a cookery class. The standard and quality of food was excellent, we had a mix of Italian and Indian so plenty of choice, even though we were here for 5 nights. The accomodation is luxurious. The hotel is very well situated and very close to the town. We look forward to returning, we had a really lovely time and can't thank Vincent and his team enough for everything they did for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to post such a great review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your support of Oberoi Hotels and Resort and your repeat visit. It is indeed a pleasure to welcome you back.

We now look forward to your next trip in April.

Till then safe travels

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    144
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
469
818
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment we were welcomed by the General Manager, Vincent, and his exceptional staff, who addressed us by name, we felt like royalty. We were upgraded to a magnificent suite with our own private swimming pool and sweeping views of the lake and landscaped gardens. The hotel is exquisite. The architecture and interiors are spectacular and there are breathtaking water features and fountains.
The staff will do anything to make your stay memorable and attend to you with professionalism and perfection.
This luxurious getaway was the most magical and unforgettable experience of our lives. Thank you Oberoi Udaivillas. We can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: You must have a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fabulous review.

It has been our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectations. I am glad to know that we were able to serve you with high degree of professionalism and perfection. The team feeds on comments such as yours. Thank you.

Your kind words of appreciation has been passed on to Roop Singh Ji and he extends his gratitude for recognizing his hard work.

We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Thank you with kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

"I am a princess" that is what they made me feel...oh god the staff was exceptional from the entry till the exit entire staff will know your name always, they will greet you with utmost love care and will pamper you like anything!!! Get ready for a place which is exceptionally beautiful, luxurious, best mix of luxury with royalty!!! They really make you feel like a royal!!! Exceptional food, view, rooms, amenities, you would be surprised at what all they do for making it special for you...their motive is not making money but making your trip memorable and they do everything possible under this earth to make it just best for you...loved the experience,,can't wait to return!!!!! went with my husband..we were like awestruck at the entire experience!!!

Room Tip: Go for any rooms...this place is exceptional..they can never go wrong in anything!!!! everything is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NB_1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write on trip advisor and sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectations. I am glad to know that we were able to serve you with high degree of professionalism and perfection.

Your compliments has been passed on to the team members and they extends their gratitude for appraising their efforts.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having traveled in India and stayed in various 5* hotels, this at least is one that deserves the 5*L. After passing the entrance gate of the premises by car, when you arrive at the hotel entrance, you are greeted with your name. The welcome as new guest was very attentive and personal through the GM. All staff also was very attentive and friendly. The whole hotel area is very well kept and generates a calm and relaxing atmosphere. Beautiful architecture, landscape and views. Rooms are very spacious and well equipped, as well as the bathrooms. Smaller downsides which should not occur at this category: very nice breakfast buffet to look at, however not too practical when you serve yourself and also waiters sometimes too attentive. Towel in bathroom with visible black stains. The laundry service since results are not up to the hotel category.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write on trip advisor and for sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

Your generous indication of our services, accommodation, food, people etc will be a source of inspiration and encourage us to enhance our performance day by day.

Your kind appreciation has been shared with the team members and they are extremely delighted to hear it.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first major place to stay during our honeymoon. Retrospectively, my wife and I decided that, although ALL the Oberoi properties we stayed at were amazing, this one was our favourite.

So, so beautiful! Nestled on the lake: With exquisite buildings and finishes, attention to detail, great service, traditional music playing in the background, incense turning the air into a sweet delight - This was indeed an assault on all our senses. Our room was upgraded to an amazing suite.

We arrived late afternoon and was immediately whisked away to our suite - Complete with our own private swimming pool!

I had one of the most surreal, magical moments of my life this first evening as we were walking to the restaurant for dinner... It was a beautiful, clear and cool evening - Perfect after the hot and humid day. Starting, walking down a big staircase cascading our way down to the main hotel-complex, surrounded by numerous fountains and being enchanted by the sweet smell of flower blossoms in the air and flickering lamps and candles. Then, as we entered the restaurant with sweeping views across the lake, looking towards the lit-up City and Lake Palace, local artists started playing the most amazing music accompanied by traditional dance... At the same time fireworks was set off across the lake! Amazing experience! The food in the restaurant was to die for - We had a "platter" of local dishes - Just an absolutely memorable experience.

There's a lot to see and do in Udaipur, and the 3 nights we spent at Udaivillas were great. Our guide and chauffeur were also fantastic. We took in most of the major sites in and around Udaipur, and still had some time to shop around and relax at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are extremely pleased to hear that we have taken you to a “Magical world”. The team strives to deliver such experiences and your recognition encourages them to excel further. Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last month and must say that it was the best experience in any of the hotels till now. Everything was perfect from and clinical, planned professionally. The property is beautiful and situated next to the lake, which provides marvelous views. Rooms are spacious, designed well and fantastic overall. Food is awesome! Tastes completely home-cooked. Only thing which we missed were some options to play sports,which were not available due to rains, I guess. However, as trident is just next to it, we went over there, overall highly recommended!

Room Tip: Of course pool facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prashantg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your glorious feedback!

Your exceptional appraisal is a source of motivation by which we always strive to achieve excellence.

We all look forward in welcoming you back soon to Udaipur city.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It was a nine day tour of Rajasthan for us starting from Jaipur ending at Jodhpur in between we had Ajmer, Pushkar, Chittourgarh, Udaipur, Jaisalmer. Most of it was by road. We experienced the splendour of the state in a very intimate manner. After a very long drive from Pushkar via Chittourgarh, we were very eagerly looking forward to our stay at Udaivilas, one of the most renowned and celebrated properties of the Oberoi Group. We had extremely high expectations of the hotel and as a pampered guest of Oberoi Group I was all the more curious about the award winning property where I never stayed before. The welcoming team led by the GM received us at the lobby and one of the front office staff escorted us to our room. All the way through she showed us the splendour within. Anyway, as we were tired and it was late evening we wanted to retire. For dinner we found only one restaurant called Padmini was open to guests. It was al fresco dining, which was welcome as one can view the lake Pichola and surrounding attractions like the City Palace, Jag Mandir etc. nicely illuminated. The food served in the restaurant was mainly Indian Rajasthani, like Laal Maas, Paratha, etc. Service was very slow. Beer served was not so chilled and poured into the glass by a boy who was fairly novice. The taste of food was nothing to rave about. When we went back to our room we found it a little warm. When I checked the display on the switch I found it was 23 degrees C. I reported the matter to guest relations and somebody came, spent a lot of time but nothing much happened. Because it remained at 22 degrees C throughout. So we let the fan switched on and passed the night. Next morning after breakfast while going out I reported the matter but we found nothing much happened when we returned in the evening. We had dinner at adjoining Trident because we found Padmini not our cup of tea. The day of check-out we had a flight to catch at 1 pm and the airport was 35 kms away from hotel. I asked the concierge to keep the car ready for transfer to airport at 11 am. We packed all our bags and went for breakfast at Suryamahal at around 9.30 am thinking that by 10 am we will be back to our room and complete check-out formailities in a leisurely manner. But that was not to be. As the hotel was doing extremely low occupancy, buffet was missing and replaced with a la carte. The service was so slow that I had to leave the restaurant without tea, which was served at the reception at check-out. It was close to 11 am when we left the in a hurry, a stark contrast with what we experienced when we checked in. The property is no doubt a grandiose one but somehow overall experience was just enjoyable nothing more. I think I was rather too pampered in other Oberoi properties located in New Delhi and in Mumbai. I will go with four out of five for Udaivilas and thank the yoga teacher Kamal for his lessons. I felt really energetic afterwards.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing Lake Pichola which we were denied although the hotel was running less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bablu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write on trip advisor and for sharing your exceptional review with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to personalize our services. Your feedback encourages us to deliver the best service and attention always.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
3.9 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#16 of 156 in Udaipur
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing