We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A MUST stay if in Udaipur - Lap of Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Udaivilas
Ranked #3 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST stay if in Udaipur - Lap of Luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Not enough can be said about Udaivillas! Stunning hotel with beautiful property! Rooms are gorgeous with sunken baths. Staff is EXCEPTIONAL and will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible! The food by Chef Deep is AMAZING!!!! The best you will have, bar none! This hotel is by far one of the best I have stayed at! We got picked up from the airport in our own BMWs! Spa and service was incredible and morning Yoga session with Kamal is a must do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that your stay at The Oberoi, Udaivilas was a memorable experience.

Our team is our strength and your feedback will encourage us to scale greater heights of excellence.

We look forward to your continued visits and to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Udaivilas.

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    142
    36
    18
    9
See reviews for
453
801
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend, in a semi-private pool villa suite. As all the reviews have said, this is a fantastic hotel. However, given that I have stayed in many Oberoi properties over the years, my expectations were extremely high for this one. All the reviews have pointed out the many wonderful things, so let me point out a few of the not so good aspects or improvements which are needed. I am sure they will lose the 'number 1 hotel in the world' title very soon unless they really upgrade some of their services and standards.

Rooms: The rooms are by and large very well kept although the wardrobes could do with a refresh (sticky wooden doors that seem to not be totally clean) and not very big. The room is spacious, although not as large as Rajvillas, and I felt the bathroom at Rajvillas was far superior with its sunken bath etc. The bed is very comfortable! The safe is kept below the TV and quite difficult to access. The coffee available in the room is a 'Nescafe' sachet!! I was very disappointed with that. For a hotel of this quality you really cannot get away with Nescafe! It needs to be a Nespresso machine or equivalent. Yes I know you can order in room, but sometimes you just don't want the disturbance of endless room service people in and out. We did order room service a couple of times, and it arrived promptly and hot.

Pool access: The patio area and access to the pool are amazing from the semi-private rooms. The main pool is narrow and was crowded with a group during our stay and we were glad to have our semi-private pool. The spa pool is very nice, and I would have definitely used that.

Spa: We didn't use the spa, but did have a yoga session one morning, which was held outside at the Bada Mahal and was amazing.

Restaurants: The breakfast was slightly disappointing in terms of quality. Not as high as the quality of food available at The Oberoi in Mumbai where we stayed the previous weekend. The fruit selection is okay but not all local, the bread and pastry section is average, nothing very special – but remember I am spoilt from many Taj and Oberoi properties in India and other superior properties around the world. The chef does come out and ask you if you want anything you want, but sometimes on holiday you don't want to think you just want to choose. The main courses for breakfast are served a la carte, but again don't come with the presentation and fine dining experience i was expecting, more like just slapped together and rushed out. The dinner menus are very indian food focused - all quite average and expensive. The home–made icecream is amazing! The wine list by the bottle is not bad and well priced, however we would have appreciated more choices by the glass. The service at the restaurants is very good, although when they are busy they do forget things or need to be called over. Whilst were there, there was a couple of large groups who seemed demanding and perhaps that was why. I also noticed things like the table next door having Champagne with their lunch, but it being placed on the service counter in between pours, rather than in an ice bucket - shameful!

Bar: Didn't use the bar at all, preferred to have drinks in the outdoor area of the restaurant or in our room. The bar lacked atmosphere to be honest, although its probably nice for a pre-dinner drink.

We also ate out of the hotel a couple of times, for a change which we appreciated and would recommend Upre for good service and food and views, and Ambrai for good views and average food.

Linen: I noticed several pieces of linen around the hotel with stains on – again, really unexpected for a hotel of this standard. There was red stains on a bed sheet, various napkins with brown stains, and a tablemat at breakfast with the words 'Discard' written in red across it. I am sure these were honest mistakes and I did point all this out to the GM who apologised and had our room checked. Although not a major issue in itself, it i systematic errors like this that concern me about the future quality and service levels of this hotel.

Greeting: Everyone is always saying hello to you around the hotel. When we arrived the welcome was phenomenal! When we departed it all seemed a bit disorganised and left to more junior staff, with a lot of confusion and calls about our departure time.

As I said, these are some of the negatives, there are many many amazing things about this hotel and we really did not want to leave the hospitality and luxury of it all!

Room Tip: Semi-private pool rooms are a must, especially the ones facing Jagmandir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sxstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review.

It was indeed a pleasure meeting you during your stay and seeing how much you enjoyed the facilities and the luxurious feel of the property.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Udaivilas and assures you our finest service at all time.

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Oberoi Udaivilas. The weather was beautiful and so was the property. We were taken to the hotel partly by car and then by speed boat on Lake Pichola from the hotel's private jetty. The entire property is quite expansive with well laid out gardens and pools. The rooms are beautiful. But the thing...

Helpful?
1 Thank Apoorva89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

It is indeed one of the most beautiful properties of Oberoi's. Situated in the city of lakes this place surely promises to make your holiday special. The small banquet is quite suitable to hold close family functions or small time events(attended the Usha Uthup nite).
The service is very prompt. The selection of dishes in the buffet is well taken care of.Sitting out having dinner with your closed ones overlooking the picturesque view makes it worthwhile to spend every penny.
From the lobby to the rooms to the lawns every nook and corner is well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap29Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Trip advisor.

We are extremely pleased to hear that we have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The team strives to deliver such experiences and your recognition encourages them to excel further. Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Oberoi Udaivilas. The weather was beautiful and so was the property. We were taken to the hotel partly by car and then by speed boat on Lake Pichola from the hotel's private jetty. The entire property is quite expansive with well laid out gardens and pools. The rooms are beautiful. But the thing that we liked most was the hospitality. The General manager made it a point to greet each guest personally. The chef made sure we got to eat whatever we wanted. The housekeeping staff were extremely attentive and helpful. In fact, on the last day, my wife twisted her ankle just before we were to leave for the airport. The hotel made sure there was a doctor available in 10 minutes! Epitome of hospitality! Couldn't find the minutest fault even if we wanted to. We were in a different world at the Udaivilas. They make you feel like royalty but at the same time are so friendly! A very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Thank you team Udaivilas!

Room Tip: Try the one with the semi private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write on trip advisor and sharing your wonderful feedback with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to exceed guest expectations. I am glad to know that we were able to serve you with high degree of professionalism and perfection. The team feeds on comments such as yours. Thank you.

Your kind appreciation has been passed on to the team members and they extends their gratitude for recognizing their good job.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits to the city of lakes, Udaipur

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited Udaipur in mid-September with our 2 young kids. We felt it's really the best time - at the end of the rains and before the tourist season. The lakes were full to the brim and the scenery all around had the green monsoon hue. Udaivilas is an outstanding and classy resort. Please do yourself a favour and ask for the room with the semi-private pool; the pool itself is nice but it's really the view which is to die for. Seeing the sunrise from your room over the lake and the city is something else. The best 4 rooms in this category are 108, 110, 112 and 114.

The staff at the hotel are really among the best we have ever experienced; they go out of their way to make you feel welcome, without being overly obsequious. They really have the hallmark Oberoi training.

Do spend time going around the property, it has small treats like a reserve forest at the back, marshy lakeside where a number of bird species can be spotted, etc. And while it's tempting to stay put at the Oberoi forever, do go out and explore Udaipur...you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your exceptional review on our grounds, rooms, décor, gardens, pool and service.

I am happy to know that our people have made a difference. Your feedback encourages us to deliver the best service and attention always.

Once again we thank you for choosing The Oberoi Udaivilas and we look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best of Oberoi hospitality.

Thank you with kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

A beautiful property, with exceptional service standards. One would have to be a extreme pessimist to find any sort of fault with the hotel and its outstanding staff. From the time we arrived at the airport, till the time we departed........we were brought into a different world.

The service standards, the royal treatment, the ever smiling and helpful staff, the cleanliness.....just beautiful.

If this hotel is in your list of choices, just go for it...you will not regret it.

Room Tip: if u can spend a bit more $$, go for the rooms with the semi private pool. And opt for the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent G, General Manager at The Oberoi Udaivilas, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We are extremely pleased to hear that we have taken you to a “different world”. The team strives to deliver such experiences and your recognition encourages them to excel further. Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

We all look forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
1.5 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Udaivilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Udaivilas

Property: The Oberoi Udaivilas
Address: | Haridasji Ki Magri, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#3 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Udaivilas 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city fabled for its palaces, The Oberoi Udaivilas can take its place with pride. With views over Lake Pichola to the spectacular City Palace, the hotel itself resembles a grand palace. Landscaped gardens and shady courtyards, decorative fountains and reflection pools, cool marble, ornate carving, inlay work and detailed interiors create a marvellous ambience of days gone by. Huge bedchambers with large private terraces, luxury suites with private swimming pools, marble bathrooms, walk-in closets, butler service and 24-hour in-room dining make you feel like royalty. The restaurants serve international and Indian cuisine including regional favourites. A gymnasium, two large swimming pools and a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, add to the ambience of total pampering. The facilities are particularly suited to meetings that might benefit from this exotic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Udaivilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Udaivilas Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaipur
Oberoi Hotel Udaivilas
Oberoi Udaipur
Udaipur Oberoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing