We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unforgetable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
jerusalem
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“unforgetable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

after 3 days we reluctantly left the Oberoi Hotel in Udaipur as it was full due to a wedding and moved to the Lake Palace. Our doubts were immediately proved wrong from the moment we alighted from the boat to the moment we left it was pure magic. We stayed for two nights and one day did not leave the hotel - it was the perfect place to unwind. The service and ambiance is fantastic. We compared the two hotels and both are wonderful. It was no problem getting to the town as we had thought as there is a boat waiting to take you across the lake and it was actually faster than the journey by road from the Oberoi. The hotels are equally wonderful.

Room Tip: I always want a room with a patio or balcony but this hotel does not have any but lake view rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,572
    187
    36
    15
    12
See reviews for
665
1,471
98
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Taj Lake Palace was undoubtlessely the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

During our stay, everything was made to make us feel like royal guest. And the magic worked.

I think there is no place in the world that combines better a unique historical heritage with such an outstanding quality of service. Unlike some excellent hotels, Taj lake Palace is not only a luxury hotel. It's also refined and authentic.

All the hotel staff contributed to make our stay unique and unforgettable.

I would especially like to thank the following person for their kindness and their incredible dedication to make us enjoy our stay and feel special.

- At Badi Pal : Shweta, Anshul, Dushyant, Gaurav and Ved

- At the bar : Nagendra, Abishek, Hemant and Unendra

- At Jarokha Restaurant : Pramod, Man Singh, Jaiprakash, Mehul, Yashwant, Momita, Rose and Bibiana

- At Bhairo Restaurant : Lancelot and Mahendra

- At the swimming-pool : Bagh and Harish

- At the front desk / reception : Neha, Shivika, Ritu, Priya, Hardik, KV, Jyoti and Sudanshu

- With the umbrella : Jethu Singh

- Among the bellboys : Mahipal, Takhsa

- And our driver Rajendra

A huge thanks also to all the people who did the "shadow jobs" but whose efforts have been particularly appreciated.

Thank you so much !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ug0Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our trip. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Jyoti, the manager, and upgraded to a magnificent suite. The room was beautiful and spacious with a breathtaking view of the take. We had a terrace and enjoyed the sunset every night. I generally do not spend much time at the pool, but this pool was beautifully enclosed with views of the lake and surrounding flowers. It was a wonderful place to just sit and read in the afternoon. We were overwhelmed by the service; in addition to being extremely attentive, all the staff were kind and personable. On our last night, we enjoyed dinner at the rooftop restaurant. While the food is OK (european cuisine), the setting is magical and it was the perfect way to end our trip. Our 3 days were simply incredible and we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiekey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is such an exclusive Hotel in such a beautiful environment! It used to be the Royals summer Palace, and After spending two nights there, I can understand why! You have to reach the Hotel by boat and this is one of the Highlights. You are greeted like a royal, once you arrive there. The views from this Hotel are magnificent! We had dinner at their elegant Indian Restaurant and loved the decoration and food. We also had dinner at The Rooftop Restaurant with European cuisine (delish!) and the view to the city Palace at night was surreal! The staff is so gracious, friendly and professional. the James Bond movie Octopussy was made in this Hotel, they still have the ship that appears in the movie, available for private dining or any private event. They have lots of activities, that you don't feel the need to leave the Hotel in the evening. You can still go out for dining, there is always a boat ready to take you to the 5 minute away shore. A must in your bucket list!

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a wonderful place, it is just beautiful and tranquil .
Service is more than excellent and very personal , everything is catered for .
Food is superb particulary the Indian fine dining .
Views are stunning and it is lovely waking up with a view from your bedroom .
It is a WOW place and we wish we could have stayed longer 3 night was just not enough .
You cannot go to North India and not stay at one of Taj's best hotels.

Room Tip: All the rooms face out to the lake so all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordsofYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent...both international and indian. Even picky kids ate well. We travelled as a group of six with our 17, 15, 13 and 11 year old kids. Every view point is gorgeous. Hotel is in excellent condition. Staff are exceptional, attentive yet under the radar. Entertainment (I won't spoil the surprise) was superb. If you are able, and visiting Rajasthan, do not miss out on the opportunity to stay here. Our rule of thumb for travelling is generally not to miss out on the once in a lifetime hotels that should not to be missed, but otherwise find more reasonably priced accomodation. This is one not to be missed...in my top three hotels in the world.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hazeltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you want to experience one of the best luxurious hotels of the world - Lake Palace is the place.

It is one of the most beautiful properties of Taj.

The food is amazing. Great View of the lake. Very Refreshing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siddhantvats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Property: Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Address: Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#2 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing