We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lives up to the dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Lake Palace Udaipur to your Saves list
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Lake Pichola, P.O. Box 5, Udaipur 313001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Udaipur
Tirupur, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“lives up to the dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have no other words to describe this magnificent property.This is palace hotel; It was our dream to stay in place like lake palace. was our dream to stay in place like lake palace. staff is very courteous and friendly. you wake up in heaven.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khushboo1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Well we stayed in their biggest suite that was extremely tastefully done, loads of paintings, artifacts and room overlooks 2 different side of lake as well gives private outdoor balcony with privacy. Loved taj food as always and theybcan always do a special for you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had always dreamed of staying here, and the reality was even better than I had hoped. Simply the most gorgeous hotel I have stayed in, anywhere, ever I don't regret a single rupee! Totally worth doing once in a lifetime.. or again and again if you can afford it.

Utterly idyllic setting, so beautiful and romantic, and every aspect of the hotel and its decor and furnishings is exquisite. The air even smells divine. Every bit of your visit feels special, from the moment you take the boat over the lake.

The staff are completely charming and will assist with your every request... you could get dangerously spoiled if you stayed for too long. I loved doing yoga on the terrace at dawn.. amazing views. At night the atmosphere is so beautiful... so many lovely touches like the candles and rose petals on the stairs. The lily pond and the area with trees are so gorgeous.. you want to wander round at all hours of the day and night to take in the atmosphere.

And considering it's one of the best hotels in the world, the prices for meals, services etc are pretty reasonable. I took a great boat trip round the lake at a modest price. It was the highlight of my trip to Rajasthan, and I'm already saving up for the next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyLondon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I have no other words to describe this magnificent property.

The Location Location Location is nothing but Jaw dropping.

The experience right from the Boat ride to the tasteful Rajasthani room, the experience was nothing short of awesome.

The cherry on the pudding was the lovely dinner we had at the Roof Top Restaurant. Don't miss it.

The staff was true to the Taj tradition and values. Every one from the Moustachioed Doorman, the Rose Petal showers to the charming Hostesses and the quietly efficient staff made our stay memorable.

Our room facing the City Palace was something we couldn't take our eyes off. We stayed up late at night just seeing the magnificent vista.

The flautist playing gently in the morning made it a piece if Heaven

Do please ensure that once in your lifetime you stay here.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HOMIMULLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is palace hotel; It was our dream to stay in place like lake palace. staff is very courteous and friendly. you wake up in heaven. prompt services. food is awesome. we would love to visit this place every year.

Room Tip: location; location ;location.room facing west side ; for good sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhupivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staying at Taj Lake Palace is like nothing you will ever experience again ... It's Beautiful , Serene , Historic and Authentic. The service is Amazing !! The Food exceptional . Location is Idyllic . They really do treat you like a Maharaja & Maharani ...without being Cliche . It is worth the price , just for the experience!! We plan to stay at least one night , each time we visit India

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moynal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ever since I saw the corny James Bond movie, but heard the palace was a hotel- I knew I had to go there. Finally had the opportunity this year - and I was not disappointed. One of the most gloriously romantic settings I have ever been in. Met at the airport with towels, drinks, and a porter to carry our bags. Reasonable trip to the Kings Palace shoreside, where we paused before getting on the short boat ride to the Lake Palace itself. That and the rose petal arrival set the tone. Wonderful suites - stunning history and architecture. Beautiful gardens, that were havens of peace and quiet. Service that exceeded anything experienced to date. Loved it. Food - great. , with a good mix of flavors and ethnicities. The roof top (Western) restaurant looking out over the town was stunning. Superb service (flaming torches and braziers ferried around to make us comfortable). It's described as a fairytale and its an accurate assessment. Two other good restaurants - one Rajasthani, one mixed. We had an anniversary at the end of our stay, and they decorated our room with flower petals and a really nice cake...!
My only slight quibble was the tea - contrary to just about every other Taj hotel I have been at (around 5 or 6) - the tea was quite thin and watery... Go figure. So if you want a spell of total and utter sybaritic luxury - go for it...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_souter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Udaivilas
The Oberoi Udaivilas
#3 of 128 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
The Leela Palace Udaipur
#2 of 128 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 128 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#27 of 128 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#5 of 128 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Lake Palace Udaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lake Palace Udaipur

Address: | Lake Pichola, P.O. Box 5, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#1 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#7 Business Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lake Palace Udaipur 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ethereal Taj Lake Palace affords guests the pleasures of India's bygone princely era. Over the centuries, it has played host to royalty, poets and writers and the Maharana's guests. Trappings like a welcoming vintage car ride to the charming city of Udaipur, the Jiva Spa boat, royal butlers, recipes from traditional Mewari cuisine and arrival by boat - all little facets that make this former pleasure palace the celebrated luxury hotel it is today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Lake Palace Udaipur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Lake Palace Hotel Udaipur
Udaipur Taj Lake Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing